Submit materials to the Graduate Studies Office (unless otherwise noted) by 4 p.m.

Fall 2018

Date Task/Event
Last business day in July Recommended initial submission date for theses, projects, and papers requiring Graduate Studies Office approval (for Summer graduation).
Friday, September 07 Professional Travel Grant application deadline.
Friday, September 14 Graduate Faculty Membership application deadline. Due in the Dean's Office.
Tuesday, September 25 Grant Writing Workshop -
5:30-6:30PM - 150 Murphy Library
Friday, September 28 Graduate Faculty Membership applications approved by the Deans due in the Graduate Studies Office.

Friday, October 12

Research, Service and Educational Leadership Grant application deadline (may be submitted by email).
Wednesday, October 24 Campus Wide Guidelines for Thesis Writing Workshop -
4:30-5:30PM - 150 Murphy Library

Wednesday, October 24

Graduate Student Scholar Sips Workshop with Financial Aid - 6:00-7:00PM - 3314 Student Union
Friday, November 30 Recommended initial submission date for theses, projects, and papers requiring Graduate Studies Office approval (for December graduation).
Friday, December 07 Professional Travel Grant application deadline.

Spring 2019

Monday, January 28 3-Minute Thesis Information/Preparation Session -
4:30-5:30pm - 150 Murphy Library
Wednesday, January 30 Grant Writing Workshop - 
4:30-5:00pm - 150 Murphy Library
Friday, February 08 Graduate Faculty Membership application deadline. Due to the Dean's Office.
Friday, February 08 Research, Service and Educational Leadership Grant application deadline (may be submitted via email). 
Wednesday, February 13 3-Minute Thesis Competition and Reception -
6:00PM - 1400 Centenntial
Friday, February 22 Faculty nominations for Graduate Student Academic Achievement Awards due in Deans' Offices by 4:00 p.m.
Friday, February 22 Faculty nominations for Graduate Student Thesis Awards due in Graduate Studies Office.

Friday, February 22

Graduate Faculty Membership applications approved by Deans due in the Graduate Studies Office.

TBD

Celebration of Student Research & Creativity Abstract Submission Deadline

Friday, March 8

Professional Travel Grant appplication deadline.
Friday, March 22 Graduate Student Academic Achievement Nominations/Awards from the colleges due in the Office of University Graduate Studies. 
Tuesday, April 23 21st Annual Celebration of Student Research & Creativity - 8:30-1:00pm - Student Union Grandbluffs 
TBD Debt Management/Insurance for Graduate Students - Hosted by "It Makes Cents" - 4:30-5:00pm - location TBD
Friday, April 26 Recommended initial submission date of theses, projects, and papers  requiring Graduate Studies Office approval (for May graduation).
Friday, April 26 Research, Service and Educational Leadership Grant final report deadline (for May graduation).
Friday, May 10 Professional Travel Funds application deadline.

NOTE: Refer to the official semester timetable of classes for more dates and deadlines regarding classes, drop/add, and other registration items. Contact your graduate program director/advisor if you have questions.

Fall 2018

Graduate Council meets in 325 Graff Main Hall at 10 a.m.
Meeting Dates
Friday, September 07
Friday, September 21
Friday, October 05
Friday, October 19
Friday, November 02 (meeting in Rm 303 Graff)
Friday, November 16
Friday, November 30

Agenda items for the Graduate Council must be submitted to the Office of University Graduate Studies, 223 Graff Main Hall, by 2:00 p.m. on the Friday before the next scheduled meeting.

Spring 2019

Graduate Council meets in 325 Graff Main Hall at 10 a.m.
Meeting Dates
Friday, February 1
Friday, February 15
Friday, March 1
Friday, April 5
Friday, April 19
Friday, May 3

Agenda items for the Graduate Council must be submitted to the Office of University Graduate Studies, 223 Graff Main Hall, by 2:00 p.m. on the Friday before the next scheduled meeting.

Fall 2018

 Graduate Student Research Service and Educational Leadership Grant Program
Proposals Due: Friday, October 12 by 4 p.m.

Spring 2019

 Graduate Student Research Service and Educational Leadership Grant Program
Proposals Due: Friday, February 8 by 4 p.m.

Fall 2018

Graduate Student Professional Travel Grant
Applications due: Expected decision date:
Friday, September 07 Early October
Friday, December 07 Early January

Spring 2019

Graduate Student Professional Travel Grant
Applications due: Expected decision date:
Friday, March 08 Early April
Friday, May 10 Early June

Applications received after the due date will be considered in the next cycle of funding.

Fall 2018

Date Task/Event
Tuesday, September 25 Grant Writing Workshop - 5:30-6:30PM - 150 Murphy Library
Wednesday, October 10 Fall Career Fair - 10:00AM-3:00PM - Student Union

Wednesday, October 17

Graduate Investing/Insurance Workshop - hosted by "It Makes Cents" - 10:00-11:00AM - 120 Wing

Wednesday, October 24

Campus Wide Guidelines for Thesis Workshop - 4:30-5:30PM - 150 Murphy

Wednesday, October 24

Graduate Student Scholar Sips Workshop with Financial Aid - 6:00-7:00PM

Spring 2019

Wednesday, January 23 3-Minute Thesis Information/Preparation Session - 4:30-5:30pm - 150 Murphy Library
Wednesday, January 30 Grant Writing Workshop - 4:30-5:30pm - 150 Murphy Library
Wednesday, February 13 3-Minute Thesis Competition - 6:00pm - Centennial 1400
April 2019 21st Annual Celebration of Student Research & Creativity - 8:30-1:00pm - Student Union Grandbluffs 
TBD Insurance for Graduate Students - Hosted by "It Makes Cents" - - 4:30-5:30pm - location TBD
TBD Loan Repayment - Hosted by "It Makes Cents" - presentation for general student population with graduate student specific information included - 6:00-7:00pm - Centential 1300