Graduate Studies

Expand page menu
Skip to page menu

Submit materials to the Graduate Studies Office (unless otherwise noted) by 4 p.m.

Fall 2017

Date Task/Event
Last business day in July Recommended initial submission date for theses, projects, and papers requiring Graduate Studies Office approval (for Summer graduation).
Friday, September 08 Professional Travel Grant application deadline.
Friday, September 15 Graduate Faculty Membership application deadline. Due in the Dean's Office.
Friday, September 29 Graduate Faculty Membership applications approved by the Deans due in the Graduate Studies Office.

Friday, October 13

Research, Service and Educational Leadership Grant application deadline (may be submitted by email).
Friday, December 01 Recommended initial submission date for theses, projects, and papers requiring Graduate Studies Office approval (for December graduation).
Friday, December 01 Research, Service and Educational Leadership Grant deadline for final report (for December graduation).
Friday, December 08 Professional Travel Grant application deadline.

Spring 2018

Wednesday, January 31 Grant Writing Workshop -  4:30-5:00pm - 150 Murphy Library
Friday, February 09 Graduate Faculty Membership application deadline. Due to the Dean's Office.
Friday, February 09 Research, Service and Educational Leadership Grant application deadline (may be submitted via email). 
Wednesday, February 14 3-Minute Thesis Information/Preparation Session - 4:30-5:00pm - 150 Murphy Library
Friday, February 23 Faculty nominations for Graduate Student Academic Achievement Awards due in Deans' Offices by 4:00 p.m.
Friday, February 23 Faculty nominations for Graduate Student Thesis Awards due in Graduate Studies Office.

Friday, February 23

Graduate Faculty Membership applications approved by Deans due in the Graduate Studies Office.

Tuesday, March 06

Celebration of Student Research & Creativity Abstract Submission Deadline

Friday, March 9

Professional Travel Grant appplication deadline.
Wednesday, March 9 3-Minute Thesis Competion 6:00pm - Centennial 1400
Friday, March 23 Graduate Student Academic Achievement Nominations/Awards from the colleges due in the Office of University Graduate Studies. 
Tuesday, April 10 21st Annual Celebration of Student Research & Creativity - 8:30-1:00pm - Student Union Grandbluffs 
Wednesday, April 18 Debt Management/Insurance for Graduate Students - Hosted by "It Makes Cents" - 4:30-5:00pm - location TBD
Friday, April 27 Recommended initial submission date of theses, projects, and papers  requiring Graduate Studies Office approval (for May graduation).
Friday, April 27 Research, Service and Educational Leadership Grant final report deadline (for May graduation).
Wednesday, May 09 Graduate Student Exit Interview and Graduation Celebration - 9:00am-12:00pm Centennial 1300
Friday, May 11 Professional Travel Funds application deadline.

NOTE: Refer to the official semester timetable of classes for more dates and deadlines regarding classes, drop/add, and other registration items. Contact your graduate program director/advisor if you have questions.

Fall 2017

Graduate Council meets in 325 Graff Main Hall at 10 a.m.
Meeting Dates
Friday, September 08
Friday, September 22
Friday, October 06
Friday, October 20
Friday, November 03 (meeting in Rm 303 Graff)
Friday, November 17
Friday, December 01

Agenda items for the Graduate Council must be submitted to the Office of University Graduate Studies, 223 Graff Main Hall, by 2:00 p.m. on the Friday before the next scheduled meeting.

Spring 2018

Graduate Council meets in 325 Graff Main Hall at 10 a.m.
Meeting Dates
Friday, February 2
Friday, February 16
Friday, March 2
Friday, March 23
Friday, April 6 
Friday, April 20
Friday, May 4

Agenda items for the Graduate Council must be submitted to the Office of University Graduate Studies, 223 Graff Main Hall, by 2:00 p.m. on the Friday before the next scheduled meeting.

Fall 2017

 Graduate Student Research Service and Educational Leadership Grant Program
Proposals Due: Friday, October 13 by 4 p.m.

Spring 2018

 Graduate Student Research Service and Educational Leadership Grant Program
Proposals Due: Friday, February 9 by 4 p.m.

Fall 2017

Graduate Student Professional Travel Grant
Applications due: Expected decision date:
Friday, September 08, 2017 Early October
Friday, December 10, 2017 Early January

Spring 2018

Graduate Student Professional Travel Grant
Applications due: Expected decision date:
Friday, March 9 Early April
Friday, May 13 Early June

Applications received after the due date will be considered in the next cycle of funding.

Fall 2017

Date Task/Event

Wednesday,
September 20

Resource Fair - Wittich Lawn
Tuesday,
September 26
Grant Writing Workshop - 150 Murphy Library
Wednesday,
October 11
Fall Career Fair - Student Union
Tuesday,
October 17
Graduate Investing/Insurance Workshop - hosted by "It Makes Cents" - 120 Wing

Wednesday,
October 25

Campus Wide Guidelines for Thesis Workshop - 150 Murphy

Wednesday,
November 15

Graduate Student Scholar Sips Workshop with Finaincial Aid

Wednesday,
December 13

Graduate Student Celebration and Exit Interview - Centennial 1300

Spring 2018

Wednesday, January 31 Grant Writing Workshop - 4:30-5:30pm - 150 Murphy Library
Wednesday, February 14 3-Minute Thesis Information/Preparation Session - 4:30-5:30pm - 150 Murphy Library
Wednesday, March 07 3-Minute Thesis Competition - 6:00pm - Centennial 1400
Tuesday, April 10 21st Annual Celebration of Student Research & Creativity - 8:30-1:00pm - Student Union Grandbluffs 
Wednesday, April 18 Insurance for Graduate Students - Hosted by "It Makes Cents" - - 4:30-5:30pm - location TBD
Thursday, April 19 Loan Repayment - Hosted by "It Makes Cents" - presentation for general student population with graduate student specific information included - 6:00-7:00pm - Centential 1300