FYRE eligibility


The First Year Research Exposure (FYRE) Program is an academic diversity initiative of the College of Science and Health (SAH) and the McNair Scholars Program at UW-La Crosse.  Our goal is to improve achievement and retention of 10 first-year underrepresented students at UWL in the Science, Technology, Engineering or Mathematics (STEM) fields (see below for a list of acceptable majors). A dedicated STEM graduate student, McNair Scholars in STEM fields, and select faculty and staff in SAH will collaborate to provide students with ongoing advising and academic support, as well as opportunities for leadership development. We accept first-year underrepresented students of color (African American, Latino/a, Native American, and American Pacific Islander) with select SAH majors. Participation in the program is free to students.

Eligible STEM Majors at UWL

  • Biochemistry
  • Biology (all concentrations)
  • Chemistry (all concentrations)
  • Computer Science
  • Environmental Science
  • Geography
  • Mathematics
  • Microbiology
  • Physics
  • Pre-Chiropractic
  • Pre-Denstry
  • Pre-Engineering
  • Pre-Forestry
  • Pre-Medicine
  • Pre-Nursing
  • Pre-Occupational Therapy
  • Pre-Optometry
  • Pre-Pharmacy
  • Pre-Physical Therapy
  • Pre-Physician Assistant
  • Pre-Podiatry
  • Pre-Veterinary Medicine