Educational standards

As you work in the Alice Hagar Curriculum Resources Center, you'll want to align your lessons and assessments with Educational Standards. There are multiple sets of standards, some that address what students should know and be able to do and others that address what teachers should be able to do.

Academic Standards in Wisconsin- Students

Academic standards specify what students in grades 4, 8, and 12 should know and be able to do, what they might be asked to do to give evidence of standards, and how well they must perform. They include content, performance, and proficiency standards. Content standards refer to what students should know and be able to do. Performance standards tell how students will show that they are meeting a standard. Proficiency standards indicate how well students must perform. Core areas include English language arts, mathematics, science and social studies.

Wisconsin Educator Standards - Teachers

To receive a license to teach in Wisconsin, an applicant shall complete an approved program and demonstrate proficient performance in all of the 10 Wisconsin Educator Standards.


National Content Standards- Teachers

In addition to Educator standards, graduates from UW-La Crosse programs should demonstrate understanding of the content standards in their discipline. These standards are closely aligned to the educator standards but include a specific focus on the academic discipline. 

Standards for the English Language Arts
Sponsored by National Council of Teachers of English and the International Reading Association.

Standards Locator for All Subjects