The University of Wisconsin System grants nine paid legal holidays per year to eligible employees. On these dates, the UW-La Crosse campus will be closed and only essential personnel will be expected to report to work.

Memorial Day Monday, May 28, 2018
Independence Day Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Labor Day Monday, September 3, 2018
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 22, 2018
Christmas Eve  Monday, December 24, 2018
Christmas Day  Tuesday, December 25, 2018
New Year's Eve Monday, December 31, 2018
New Year's Day  Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Martin Luther King Day Monday, January 21, 2019
Memorial Day Monday, May 27, 2019

Legal Holiday Eligibility

Employees who have a 10-, 11-, or 12-month faculty, academic staff, limited, or university staff appointments and meet the eligibility criteria to participate in the Wisconsin Retirement System (WRS) are eligible for legal holiday.

For FA/AS/LI appointments, 72 legal holiday hours (prorated by appointment percentage) are appointed at the beginning of each fiscal year. For University staff appointments, 72 legal holiday hours (prorated by appointment percentage) are appointed at the beginning of each calendar year.

Employees must be in pay status the day prior to or following the observed holiday in order to earn the holiday hours and be eligible to use them.

Legal Holiday Reporting

Employees should follow the instructions for their appointment type to report legal holiday hours used.

  • Instructions for 10-, 11-, and 12-month faculty, academic staff and limited appointments
  • Instructions for university staff