University of Wisconsin-La Crosse |

  • Surround yourself with tradition. Surround yourself with UW-La Crosse.

Expand menu

  • Phi Alpha Theta


    OF THE

    Phi Alpha Theta



    Apply for membership

    To apply for membership, fill out this form and return by the next deadline: January 30, 2015 --paper copies also available outside CWH 403M.

    Membership Requirements are:

    At least 12 credit hours in history completed BEFORE application.
    3.1 or higher GPA in history
    3.0 or higher overall GPA

    Note: Membership is NOT limited to history majors or minors.

    As a member of Phi Alpha Theta, you will receive:

    1. The use of a PAT honor cord for your UW-L graduation, and opportunity to purchase other regalia.
    2. The honor of being inducted into a local chapter of a national fraternity at a yearly ceremony.
    3. Networking opportunities with local, regional and national history students at Phi Alpha Theta events.
    4. The right to claim this membership on your resume or curriculum vita.
    5. An official membership certificate.
    6. A one-year subscription (4 issues) to our quarterly journal, The Historian.
    7. New members’ names will be printed in a future issue of The Historian (allow approximately 6 months for names to be published)

    Questions? see -or- email

    What is Phi Alpha Theta?
    For the first time in the history of UW-L, we in the history department have been granted permission to found a chapter of the national history honorary fraternity, Phi Alpha Theta. This ninety-year-old organization promotes history research, teaching, scholarship and education across the nation. There are numerous chapters of PAT at colleges, universities and institutions of higher education across the United States. Undergraduate and graduate students, as members of Phi Alpha Theta, participate in activities to celebrate and promote the study of history. Many students travel to regional or national conferences to present or hear historical scholarship. This is the first taste of active historical research for many students, and a number of the current faculty members at UW-L were members of PAT in their own time as students.

    You can apply now to join!
    2014-2015 Year

    , President
    ,Vice President
    Current Activities:
    Phi Alpha Theta Initiation Ceremony

    Thursday, October 23


    Previous Activities:

    Author Talk: Les Crocker, author of We've Hung The Lantern, October 1, 2013


    Author Talk: Eric J. Morser, recent UW-Madison Ph.D. and author of Hinterland Dreams: The Political Economy of a Midwestern City, deilvered a public presentation March 23, 2010, in the UW-L Cartwright Center Ward Room.

    Phi Alpha Theta and the UW-L history department, along with the La Crosse Public Library, supported this public event from historian Eric Morser. His new book, published in November of 2010, details the history of 19th-century La Crosse.
    Morser Poster
    Morser Event Poster
    2012 initiation -- Our new member initiation ceremon, was Friday, April 27th in the Centennial Hall of Nations.

    Our guest speaker was UW-L Emeritus Professor Bruce Mouser, author of For Labor, Race, and Liberty: George Edwin Taylor, His Historic Run for the White House, and the Making of Independent Black Politics This book includes significant research about the history of La Crosse and the area.

    Professor Mouser's comments were on the subject of "The Historian’s Dilemma: Finding the Narrative Arc".

    Mouser Poster
    Mouser poster
    Trip to St. Mary's in the spring of 2011 and 2012, students travelled to the St. Mary's University of Minnesota Student History Research Symposium to present their own historical research to peers. If all goes well, this event will continue into 2013.

    2011 initiation -- Thursday May 5, 2011 Guest Speaker: Patricia Stovey, recent UW-Madison Ph.D. in Educational Policy Studies, spoke about her dissertation, High School on the Middle Border, dealing with the history of education in small towns in the La Crosse Region.

    Stovey Poster
    Stovey Poster

    Installation, Spring 2010

    At an installation ceremony on March 6, 2010, UW-L's Department of History was granted the right to form its own chapter of Phi Alpha Theta. The event was described in a College of Liberal Studies newsletter as well as the PAT national newsletter. The Charter Members of this new honorary, as well as visiting officials from PAT, are listed below. 

    Charter Members
    From the University of Wisconsin – La Crosse Administration 
    Chancellor Joe Gow 
    Provost Kathleen Enz-Finken 
    Dean Ruthann Benson 
    Department Chair Charles Lee
    From the Faculty of the Department of History
    Deborah Buffton 
    Mark W. Chavalas 
    John T. Grider 
    Jess Hollenback 
    Gerald S. Iguchi 
    Barbara Kooiman 
    Donald LaCoss 
    Charles Lee 
    James Longhurst 
    Marti M. Lybeck 
    Victor Macias-Gonzalez 
    Heidi Morrison 
    Shelley A. Sinclair
    Kendall Staggs
    From the Student Body of UW-L 
    Kelsey M. Ajango 
    Joshua John Arens 
    Kyle B. Carrabine 
    Patrick M. Eddy
    John R. Emery 
    Luke J. Johnson 
    Bradley J. Masche 
    Emily A. Ness 
    Kelly A. Nussbaum 
    Allyson A. Obermeier 
    Emily A. O’Neal 
    Rebecca J. Putzer 
    Anna B. Schmidt 
    Edward C. Staats 
    Hannah M. Zander

    Past Events

    A visiting member of the PAT national board, Professor Jason Hardgrave, from the University of Southern Indiana, formally installed the chapter.

    Installation Crowd Chot
    Installation Ceremony

    Student Intiates
    Student Initiates