University of Wisconsin-La Crosse |

  • Surround yourself with tradition. Surround yourself with UW-La Crosse.

Expand menu

  • Scholarships, Grants, Awards


    Scholarships for History Students

    At the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, two scholarships have been reserved for History majors. The William Laux Memorial Fund was established in the name of a former History professor and dean of the College of Arts, Letters, and Sciences. Freshmen, sophomores, juniors, and seniors in good standing who are full-time majors in history can apply for this award. Former UW-L History Professor Fred Davies established the Frederick and Kathryn Davies Scholarship because he wished to encourage historical study at UW-L. For the Davies award, one must be a junior and full-time History major with at least a 3.5 GPA. 

    The deadline for application for these sources of funding during the 2013-2014 academic year is February 15. The amount of awards varies from year to year. The UW-L Foundation administers these scholarships, but the History Department’s Development Committee (made up of History faculty) decides which applicants receive the awards. The History Department encourages students to investigate and apply for other sources of funding both on and off campus. For example, the UW-L Foundation makes scholarships – such as the Dr. Merton V. Campbell Endowment Fund – available to UW-L students more generally. Please return to this webpage as more information regarding the Laux and Davies scholarships will be added as the deadline approaches.


    Grants for History Students


    Awards for History Students

    UW System Liberal Education Annual Essay Award -- $2,000 essay contest.