Office Phone: 608.785.8238
FAX: 608.785.6959

Department Chair:  Dr. Mark Sandheinrich
Associate Chair: Dr. Mike Abler


Faculty and Instructional Academic Staff

NAME (PROFILE)
PHONE NUMBER
E-MAIL ADDRESS
SERVICE
STARTED
INSTRUCTIONAL AREAS RESEARCH INTERESTS
Abler, Michael L.
608-785-6962
mabler@uwlax.edu
1996 Genetics, Introductory Biology, Plant Growth and development, Plant Microbe Interactions mRNA decay mechanisms in plants, plant genetic engineering
Baines, Anita
608-785-8239
abaines@uwlax.edu
2009 Plant Biology, Ecology Plant-Microbe Interactions
Baines, Lee
608-785-8244
lbaines@uwlax.edu
2009 Introductory Biology, General Biology, Genetics Labs Plant Pathology
Brice, Glenn
608-785-6973
abrice@uwlax.edu
1988 Human Anatomy & Physiology, Advanced Human Physiology Cardiovascular, respiratory and exercise physiology
Cooper, Scott T.
608-785-6983
scooper@uwlax.edu
1995 Introductory Biology, Eukaryotic Molecular Biology, Genetics Blood coagulation, protein modeling
Ellis, Faye
608-785-5066
fellis@uwlax.edu
2003 Introductory and General Biology Labs, Human Anatomy & Physiology Labs Research in developing inquiry-based introductory biology labs
Galbraith, Anne
608-785-8246
agalbraith@uwlax.edu
1998 General Biology, Genetics, Human Genetics Yeast developmental genetics
Gerber, Timothy
608-785-6977
dgerber@uwlax.edu
1997 Aquatic Vascular Plants, Plant Taxonomy, Plant Biology, Introductory Biology, Local Trees and Shrubs, Plant Physiology Morphology and physiological ecology of aquatic vascular plants
Gerrish, Gretchen
608-785-8242
ggerrish@uwlax.edu
2010 Introductory Biology, Animal Biology Evolutionary ecology of aquatic systems: marine and freshwater
Gillis, Rick
608-785-8253
rgillis@uwlax.edu
1984 Introductory Biology, Animal Biology, Ecology Herpetology, evolutionary and physiological ecology of ectotherms.

Greany, Kris

608-785-6544

kgreany@uwlax.edu

2012

Nutrition courses

 

Haro, Roger
608-785-6970
rharo@uwlax.edu
1996 General Biology, Freshwater Invertebrate Zoology, Stream and Watershed Ecology, Animal Biology Ecology of river systems, benthic invertebrates and fish, landscape ecology
Hoar, Kerrie
608-785-6459
khoar@uwlax.edu
1996 Human Anatomy and Physiology Cadaver dissection
Howard, David
608-785-6455
dhoward@uwlax.edu
1999 Cell Biology, General Biology Cell and molecular biology of how organisms generate and control movement via flagella
King-Heiden, Tisha C.
608-785-6463
tking-heiden@uwlax.edu
2008 Human Anatomy & Physiology, Animal Physiology Reproductive physiology and toxicology in fishes

Klein, Barrett

608-785-6995

bklein@uwlax.edu

2012 General Biology, Animal Biology, Animal Behavior, Entomology, Scientific Visualization Social insect behavior, entomology, sleep biology and scientific visualization

Klein, Jennifer

608-785-8251

jklein@uwlax.edu

2012 General Biology, Molecular Biology, Cell Biology Muscle biophysics and biochemistry

Kobs, Lisa

608-785-6457

lkobs@uwlax.edu

2011 Human Nutrition, Food Science & Safety, Human Anatomy & Physiology Labs  

Litster, Megan

608-785-8252

mlitster@uwlax.edu

2012 Human Anatomy & Physiology, Science Education Biological education
Liu, Sumei
608-785-6971
sliu@uwlax.edu
2009 Human Anatomy & Physiology, Comparative Animal Physiology Gastrointestinal physiology
Maher, Peggy
608-785-6967
mmaher@uwlax.edu
1995 Human Anatomy & Physiology, Endocrinology, Nutrition Blood pressure regulation, diabetes; hypertension, vascular smooth muscle
Miskowski, Jennifer
608-785-6456
jmiskowski@uwlax.edu
1999 Cell Biology, General Biology Cellular processes in the development of the nematode Caenorhabditis elegans

Oldenburg, Darby

608-785-6974

doldenburg@uwlax.edu

2013

 

 

Osmundson, Todd

608-785-6975

tosmundson@uwlax.edu

2013

 

 

Paluch, Beth

608-785-8249

epaluch@uwlax.edu

2011 General Biology, Plant Biology Plant and fungal ecology
Perez, Kathryn E.
608-785-6998
kperez@uwlax.edu
2008 General Biology, Animal Biology, Evolution Molecular systematics, land snail taxonomy, biogeography
Redman, Renee S.
608-785-6963
rredman@uwlax.edu
2004 General Biology, Cell Biology Labs Neurophysiology
Sanderfoot, Tony
608-785-8240
asanderfooot@uwlax.edu
2009 Cell Biology, General Biology Plant cell biology, vesicle trafficking and secretion
Sandheinrich, Mark B.
608-785-8261
msandheinrich@uwlax.edu
1988 Ichthyology, Aquatic Toxicology, Fisheries Management, Introductory Biology, Ecology Aquatic toxicology, fish and aquatic invertebrate ecology
Sandland, Greg
608-785-6982
gsandland@uwlax.edu
2007 Introductory Biology, Organismal Biology, Parasitology, Host life history responses to parasitism
Seebach, Brad
608-785-6966
bseebach@uwlax.edu
1998 Neurophysiology, Human Anatomy & Physiology Neurophysiology, development and repair of nervous tissues in the brain and spinal cord

Snively, Eric

608-785-6978

esnively@uwlax.edu

2013 General Biology, Organismal Biology, Mammalogy, Comparative Vertebrate Anatomy Function and behavior of dinosaurs
Strauss, Eric
608-785-8262
estrauss@uwlax.edu
2007 Limnology, Standard Methods of Water Analysis, General Biology Nutrient cycling, freshwater ecology, ecosystem ecology
Thomsen, Meredith
608-785-8245
mthomsen@uwlax.edu
2006 Plant Biology, Ecology Plant Ecology
Tyser, Rob
608-785-6992
rtyser@uwlax.edu
1978 Introductory Biology, Animal Biology Labs, Quantitative Methods in Ecology, Evolution Ecological applications of GIS technology, alien plants in national parks
Volk, Thomas J.
608-785-6972
tvolk@uwlax.edu
1996 Mycology, Medical Mycology, Plant Biology, Plant-Microbe Interactions, Latin Greek for Scientists Fungal systematics (especially of Morchella and Armillaria), fungal ecology and biodiversity

Werren, Rebecca

608-785-8250

rwerren@uwlax.edu

2012 Human Anatomy & Physiology Labs  

Support Personnel

NAME (PROFILE)
PHONE NUMBER
E-MAIL ADDRESS

SERVICE
STARTED
AREAS OF WORK
Greene, Jr., Franklin K.
608-785-6912
fgreene@uwlax.edu
2008 Lab manager
Grunwald, Kurt
608-785-6458
kgrunwald@uwlax.edu
1998 Equipment Repair, Radiation Safety
Servais, Amy
608-785-8238
aservais@uwlax.edu
2008 Academic Department Associate

Emeritus Faculty & Academic Staff

NAME
EMAIL ADDRESS
YEARS PRINCIPAL AREAS OF INSTRUCTION STATUS
LaVerne Buldhaupt 1961-1996 Parasitology, Vertebrate Zoology Deceased
Robert Burns 1968-1998 Microbiology Retired
Thomas O. Claflin 1966-2001 Limnology, River Studies Retired
Jerry Davis
sivadjam@mhtc.net
1968-2002 Plant Biology, General Biology Retired
Richard A. Fletcher 1968-1994 Endocrinology, Human Anatomy & Physiology Retired
Richard T. Hartley 1950-1971 Embryology Deceased
John W. Held 1967-1997 Fisheries Biology, Vertebrate Zoology Retired
Rudy G. Koch 1980-1990 General Biology; Plant Taxonomy Deceased
Stuart McIlraith 1962-1995 Invertebrate Zoology, Human Biology Deceased
Rodney C. Mowbray 1972-2006 Developmental Biology, Radiation Biology Retired
Allen C. Nelson
list-olsleln@aol.com
1964-1996 Mycology Retired
Deon Nontelle
dnontelle@hargray.com
1973-2005 General Biology Retired
Richard P. Nord 1966-1999 General Biology Retired
James E. Parry
jeppwp@aol.com
1967-1998 Genetics, Vertebrate Zoology Retired
Ronald G. Rada
rrada@uwlax.edu
1975-1998 Limnology, River Studies Administration
Jean C. Ruhser
prairiegenes@gmail.com
1975-2001 General Biology, Ornithology Retired
Laura A. Schuh 1957-1983 Entomology Deceased
Grace M. Smith 1971-1996 Medical Technology Retired
Daniel Sutherland 1994-2006 Parasitology, Organismal Biology Deceased
Eileen G. Temte 1967-1994 General Biology Retired
Larraine M. Unbehaun
junbehaun@fflax.net
1969-1999 Cell Biology Retired
James H. Warner
1963-1996 Plant Ecology Deceased
A. Vincent Weber 1956-1989 Plant Morphology Retired
Thomas F. Weeks 1970-2001 Cell Biology, Radiation Biology Retired
Howard F. Young 1955-1984 Ornithology Deceased