Master's Program - Microbiology concentration

Faculty

Member contact information Research Interests
Marisa Barbknecht
130 Wittich Hall
785-6968  mbarbknecht@uwlax.edu
Virology, viruses of freshwater fish
Bonnie Jo Bratina
3029 Cowley Hall
785-6994 bbratina@uwlax.edu
Microflora of intestinal tract of aquatic slugs and ground squirrels, Manganese and nitrogen biogeochemical cycles of Bacteria in the Antarctic Lakes, Myrick Marsh and in the Upper Mississippi River
Michael Hoffman
3023 Cowley Hall
785-6984 mhoffman@uwlax.edu
Gene expression of human parainfluenza virus, viruses of freshwater fish
S.N. Rajagopal
3036 Cowley Hall
785-6976 srajagopal@uwlax.edu
Food Microbiology
Marc A. Rott
3030 Cowley Hall
785-6965 mrott@uwlax.edu
Molecular Biology, Gene Regulation, Antimicrobials
William Schwan
3027 Cowley Hall
785-6980 wschwan@uwlax.edu
Proline transport systems of S. aureus, Regulation of type 1 pilus expression in uropathogenic E. coli, Transporters of Pseudomonas aeruginosa, Antimicrobials
Bernadette C. Taylor
3033 Cowley Hall
785-6990 btaylor@uwlax.edu
Influenza vaccine development, ground squirrel immunology
Peter Wilker
3013 Cowley Hall
785-8248 pwilker@uwlax.edu
Immunology of influenza viruses, Animal models of influenza, Viral adaptation and transmission dynamics
Mike Winfrey
3002 Cowley Hall
785-6964 mwinfrey@uwlax.edu
Microbial Ecology; Microbial Transformations of Mercury

Additional faculty involved in the program

Member contact information Research Interests
Mike Abler, Ph.D.
608.785.6962
mabler@uwlax.edu
Plant-Microbe Interactions, mRNA decay mechanisms in plants, plant genetic engineering
Scott Cooper, Ph.D.
608.785.6983
scooper@uwlax.edu
Molecular Biology
Anne Galbraith, Ph.D.
608.785.8246
agalbraith@uwlax.edu
Yeast developmental genetics
Greg Sandland, Ph.D.
608.785.6982
gsandland@uwlax.edu
Host life history responses to parasitism
Thomas J. Volk, Ph.D.
608.785.6972
tvolk@uwlax.edu
Fungal systematics (especially of Morchella and Armillaria), fungal ecology and biodiversity

Staff/Support personnel

Member contact information Research Interests
Pam Benzing
304B Cowley Hall
785-6987
pbenzing@uwlax.edu
food microbiology
Angie Ratekin
131 Wittich Hall
785-6451
aratekin@uwlax.ed
medical technology
Rebecca Polanowski
304 Cowley Hall
polanows.rebe@uwlax.edu
antimicrobials