University of Wisconsin-La Crosse |


Expand page menu
Skip to page menu

The Department of Microbiology at UW-La Crosse is a University of Wisconsin Center of Excellence! 

We are the only independent microbiology department among the UW comprehensive universities. We offer four different curricular tracks in the undergraduate microbiology major, and two Master of Science (M.S.) concentrations. TheClinical Laboratory Science major is also housed in our department, and provides outstanding employment opportunities using the skills of microbiology and chemistry to make clinical diagnoses.

Upcoming Events

Our Microbial Interaction with Built Environments
Simon Lax, University of Chicago
Thursday,  March 24th,  7 pm 1309 Centennial


Engineered Probiotics as Therapeutic Delivery Vehicles
Jan Peter van Pijkeren, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Friday,  April 8th,  2:30 pm 102 Wimberly

Our people

The Department Microbiology has ten Microbiologists with full time commitments in the Microbiology curriculum and ten additional faculty with partial responsibilities in Microbiology instruction. The Microbiology faculty strive to ensure that students master the material necessary to become competent, practicing Microbiologists. Each is dedicated, helpful, and interested in the student's success and is committed to quality undergraduate education. Faculty are supported by three staff members that run the Microbiology prep room. The prep room staff, along with numerous student employees, ensure that each Microbiology laboratory is set up to allow students maximum hands-on experience in state-of-the-art techniques in Microbiology.


Academic Department Associate

Susan Betts Profile
Academic Department Associate
 Adjunct and clinical faculty 
William A. Agger, M.D. 
Gundersen Lutheran Medical Foundation 
Mark Borchardt, Ph.D.
Marshfield Medical Research Foundation 
Steven Callister, Ph.D.
Gundersen Lutheran Medical Foundation
Jeffrey Christensen, Ph.D.
Marshfield Medical Research Foundation 
Jay Ellingson, Ph.D.
Food Safety & Quality Assurance, Kwik Trip, Inc. 
Thomas Fritsche, M.D., Ph.D. 
Marshfield Medical Research Foundation 
Randall J. Hunt, Ph.D.
US Geological Survey
Dean Jobe, M.S.  
Gundersen Lutheran Medical Foundation
Todd Kowalski, M.D. 
Gundersen Lutheran Medical Foundation 
Becky A. Lasee, Ph.D.
Upper Midwest Environmental Science Center, USGS 
Steven D. Lovrich, Ph.D. 
Gundersen Lutheran Medical 
Richard McLaughlin, Ph.D.
Gateway Technical College 
Jennifer K. Meece, Ph.D. 
Marshfield Medical Research & Education Foundation
Derek Moore, M.P.H. 
Marshfield Medical Research & Education Foundation 
Mary S. Morris, M.D. 
Allergy Associates/Franciscan Skemp Mayo Healthcare 
Darby Oldenburg, Ph.D. 
Gundersen Lutheran Medical Foundation
Ruth A. Paur, M.S. 
Univ. of North Dakota School of Medicine & Health Sci. 
Kurt Reed, M.D. 
Northwestern University 
Don Salter, Ph.D.
Leuther Laboratories, LLC 
Jeffrey S. Sartin, M.D. 
Gundersen Lutheran Medical Foundation 
Carl Shelly, D.Phil. 
Gundersen Lutheran Medical Foundation 
Mary E. Stemper, M.S. M.T.(ASCP)
Marshfield Laboratories 
Purnendu C. Vasavada, M.D. 
University of Wisconsin - River Falls 
Doug White, M.D., Ph.D
Gundersen Lutheran Medical Foundation
Catherine Wright, Ph.D.  


Emeritus faculty 
Robert Burns, Ph.D.   S.N. Rajagopal, Ph.D. 

Diane Sewell, Ph.D. MLS(ASCP) CM     

Martin Venneman, Ph.D.      
Michael Winfrey, Ph.D.