UW-L Physics Club


The purpose of the University of Wisconsin - La Crosse Physics Club is to promote individual excellence, to increase student interaction amongst each other and supporting faculty members both scholastically and socially. In addition, the club shall supply greater opportunities, such as scholarships, field trips and symposiums, to students interested in physics. Involvement on a community level as well as the promotion of interest in the study of physics in all levels of education shall also be a priority. Lastly, the club shall provide a source for information and guidance on career choices in physics for incoming students interested in physics.

2009-2010 Physics Club Officers:

President: Pat Copp
Vice President: Chintan Modi
Secretary/Treasurer: Bill Warren
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Eric Gansen

More information can be found at the Physics Club MyOrgs page.

Physics Club Membership:

Membership is open to anyone interested in physics. Members can be students or non-students, there are no dues required at this time to join.


Meetings will be held weekly beginning the first week of class at 3:20 p.m. and every subsequent Wednesday at this time for the remainder of the semester unless otherwise notified. The executive board will meet as required during the summer session to plan the future program of the club and upcoming activities, which will be subsequent to approval by the members at our regular meetings throughout the semester.

All students interested in physics are encouraged to attend Physics and Astronomy Seminars (PHY 497). The seminar is on Wednesdays 3:20 - 4:20 p.m. in Room 201 Cowley Hall. The seminar series is also an activity sponsored by the Physics Club. The requirements for taking PHY 497 for credit will also be explained during the first meeting held in September.