University of Wisconsin-La Crosse |

Expand menu

  • Guest artist



     The Miguel Zenón Quartet


    Multiple Grammy Nominee and Guggenheim and MacArthur Fellow Miguel Zenón represents
    a select group of musicians who have masterfully balanced and blended the often
    contradictory poles of innovation and tradition. Widely considered as one of the most
    groundbreaking and influential saxophonists of his generation, he has also developed a
    unique voice as a composer and as a conceptualist, concentrating his efforts on perfecting a
    fine mix between Latin American Folkloric Music and Jazz.

    Born and raised in San Juan,Puerto Rico, Zenón has released nine recordings as a leader, including Identities are Changeable (2014) and the Grammy Nominated Alma Adentro (2011). As a sideman he hasworked with jazz luminaries such as The SFJAZZ Collective, Charlie Haden, The Mingus BigBand, Bobby Hutcherson, David Sanchez, Fred Hersch, Kenny Werner and Steve Coleman.
    Zenón has been featured in articles on publications such as The New York Times, The Wall
    Street Journal, The Los Angeles Times, as well as gracing the cover of Downbeat Magazine
    on two occasions (2010 and 2014).
    As a composer he has been commissioned by SFJAZZ, The New York State Council for the
    Arts, Chamber Music America, The John Simon Guggenheim Foundation, and many of his
    peers. Zenón has given hundreds of lectures and master classes at institutions all over the
    world, and is a permanent faculty member at New England Conservatory of Music. In 2011
    he founded Caravana Cultural, a program which presents free-of-charge Jazz concerts in
    rural areas of Puerto Rico. In April 2008 Zenón received a fellowship from the prestigious
    John Simon Guggenheim Foundation. Later that year he was one of 25 distinguished
    individuals chosen to receive the coveted MacArthur Fellowship, also known as the “Genius



    Previous year's guest artists have included:

    Michael Janisch Quintet
    Jerry Bergonzi Trio
    Wycliffe Gordon Quartet
    Byron Stripling
    Michael Weiss Quartet
    Dave Pietro Quartet