University of Wisconsin-La Crosse | uwlax.edu

Educational Studies

Expand page menu
Skip to page menu

Our people

Department Chair

Adrienne Loh Profile
Professor
4016 Cowley Hall
aloh@uwlax.edu
608.785.8275
Specialty areas: Physical & Biophysical Chemistry, NMR Spectroscopy, Peptide & Protein Structure; Interim Chair Department of Educational Studies
Office hours: 4016 Cowley (Chem) W 8:40, F 11:00; 335 Morris (DES) T 1:00-5:00

Academic Department Associate

Lisa Armstrong Profile
Academic Department Associate
335 Morris Hall
larmstrong@uwlax.edu
608.785.8151

Department people

J. Scott Baker Profile Office hours
Assistant Professor
160E Morris Hall
jbaker3@uwlax.edu
608.785.8131
Specialty areas:
  • Multicultural Education
  • Arts-Based Undergraduate Research
  • Teacher Education
  • Educational Foundations
  • Urban Education
  • Curriculum Development
  • Qualitative and Mixed Methods Research
  • Social Change and Secondary Education
  • Speech & Debate Education/Interscholastic Contests
Alyssa Boardman Profile
Assistant Professor
340D Morris Hall
aboardman@uwlax.edu
608.785.8149
Specialty areas: Elementary Literacy
Office hours: Monday 11:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m. Wednesday 4 p.m.-5p.m.
James Carlson Profile
Assistant Professor
160B Morris Hall
jcarlson@uwlax.edu
608.785.8140
Specialty areas: Literacy Studies; Teacher Inquiry; Teacher Identity
Office hours: Mondays: 10:30-12:30; Tuesdays: 2-4; by appointment (jcarlson@uwlax.edu)
Wen-Chiang Chen Profile
Assistant Professor
365B Morris Hall
wchen@uwlax.edu
608.785.8144
Ann Epstein Profile
Associate Professor
340C Morris Hall
aepstein@uwlax.edu
608.785.8145
Specialty areas: Early Childhood Education
Office hours: Fall 2015: Monday, 4:00 - 5:00; Tuesday, 1:00 - 5:00; Wednesdays, 1:00 - 2:00
Barbara Gander Profile
Senior Lecturer
340A Morris Hall
bgander@uwlax.edu
608.785.6894
Daniel Green Profile
Lecturer
160D Morris Hall
dgreen@uwlax.edu
608.785.8658
Judith Harrington Profile
Assistant Professor
185A Morris Hall
jharrington@uwlax.edu
608.785.8136
Yuko Iwai Profile
Associate Professor
365A Morris Hall
yiwai@uwlax.edu
608.785.5407
Lema Kabashi Profile
Assistant Professor
300B Morris Hall
lkabashi@uwlax.edu
608.785.8143
Specialty areas: Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD), Single Subject Design, Video-Based Instruction
Office hours: Monday & Tuesday (Online) 3:00-4:00pm; Wednesday 3:30-4:20pm; Thursday 1:00-3:00pm or by appointment.
Roi Kawai Profile
Assistant Professor
160C Morris Hall
rkawai@uwlax.edu
608.785.8146
Specialty areas: Urban Education, Multicultural Education, Middle Level Education, Social Justice Education, Social Studies/Civic Education, Critical Race Theory, Sociocultural Theory
Joshua Miller Profile
Assistant Professor
160A Morris Hall
jmiller@uwlax.edu
608.785.8735
Specialty areas: Social Foundations of Education, Global Education, Educational Technology
Office hours: Fall 2016: TBD
Leslie Rogers Profile
Assistant Professor
300C Morris Hall
lrogers@uwlax.edu
608.785.8142
Specialty areas: High Incidence Special Education, Single Subject Design, Assessments, Self-Regulation, Self-Efficacy, and Strategy Instruction
Office hours: Tuesdays (1:00-2:30) and Wednesdays (8:30-10:00) or by appointment. Click https://lrogers.youcanbook.me/ to schedule a meeting.
Dawn Rouse Profile
Assistant Professor
340B Morris Hall
drouse@uwlax.edu
608.785.5412
Specialty areas: Early Childhood Education, Vygotsky, Social Cognition, Embodied Play, Reggio Emilia, Infant and Toddler Curriculum, R.I.E Administration & Accreditation of Child Care Programs
Office hours: M & W: 11-12:20 & 2:15-3:30; Tue: 11-3; Thursday and Friday by Appt.
Joyce Shanks Profile
Associate Professor
185B Morris Hall
jshanks@uwlax.edu
608.785.8657
Specialty areas: Curriculum, Pedagogy, Supervision
Office hours: Mondays 3:00-4:30 p.m., Thursdays 3:30-5:00 p.m., and by appointment
Gary Willhite Profile
Associate Professor
320 Morris Hall
gwillhite@uwlax.edu
608.785.8130
Specialty areas: Teacher Leadership, Supervision, English/Language Arts/Literacy
Office hours: Spring 2016: By appointment & Th 8:00 am - 12:00 pm
Heidi Masters Profile
Assistant Professor
300E Morris Hall
hmasters@uwlax.edu
608.785.8129
Specialty areas: Science Education
Office hours: Tuesdays 4:00p.m.-5:00p.m.; Wednesdays 3:00p.m.-5:00p.m.
Ann Yehle Profile
Assistant Professor
300D Morris Hall
ayehle@uwlax.edu
608.785.8139
Specialty areas: Middle School, Foundations, Educational Leadership
Office hours: Mondays from 10:00 AM until 1:00 PM Face to Face; Numerous times by appointment or online