English Education Resources

English Department Faculty/Advisors for English Education
Dr. Virginia Crank
Dr. Heidi Jones
Dr. Stephen Mann

Professional Organizations

The National Council of Teachers of English is devoted to improving the teaching and learning of English and the language arts at all levels of education.
NCTE student membership forms
The Modern Language Association
The International Reading Association promotes reading by continuously advancing the quality of literacy instruction and research worldwide.
International Reading Association student membership forms
The National Middle School Association
The National Writing Project

State Organizations

Wisconsin State Reading Association

English Standards

The Common Core Standards English language Arts
Wisconsin Model Academic Standards for English Language Arts

State Department Information

Department of Public Instruction English Language Arts home page
Teacher Standards

Children and Young Adult Book Lists

Américas Book Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature: The Américas Award is given in recognition of U.S. works of fiction, poetry, folklore, or selected non-fiction (from picture books to works for young adults) published in the previous year in English or Spanish that authentically and engagingly portray Latin America, the Caribbean, or Latinos in the United States.
The Coretta Scott King Award: The American Library Association presents the Coretta Scott King Award annually to authors and illustrators of African descent whose distinguished books promote an understanding and appreciation of the "American Dream.”
Oyate: This organization works to see that Native Americans lives and histories are portrayed authentically in texts. This site includes evaluation of texts, resource materials and fiction by and about Native peoples and includes a books to avoid list.
Tomas Rivera Mexican American Children’s Book Award: The award was established in 1995 by the College of Education at Texas State University–San Marcos to encourage authors, illustrators and publishers of books that authentically reflect the lives of Mexican American children and young adults in the United States.
International Children’s Digital Library: The mission of the International Children’s Digital Library Foundation is to excite and inspire the world's children to become members of the global community – children who understand the value of tolerance and respect for diverse cultures, languages and ideas -- by making the best in children's literature available online. This web site includes full books and a search engine that allows you to search by language, age level, continent, country, subject and or time period and more.
The Michael Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature
The Mildred L. Batchelder Award encourages an international exchange of quality children's books by recognizing United States publishers of such books in translation.
The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
The National Book Foundation Awards