University of Wisconsin-La Crosse |

Undergrad research and creativity

Expand page menu
Skip to page menu
  • Our people

    The Office of Undergraduate Research & Creativity

    220 Morris Hall, UW-La Crosse
    1725 State Street 
    La Crosse, WI 54601 
    Phone: 608.785.8040 
    Fax: 608.785.8046 

    Undergraduate Research & Creativity Staff Directory

    Scott Cooper, Professor of Biology and Undergraduate Research Director
    Phone: 608.785.6983

    Chandra Hawkins, Undergraduate Research & Internal Grants Coordinator 
    Phone: 608.785.8040

    Sarah Koenigs, Graduate Assistant
    Phone: 608.785.8040

    Undergraduate Research and Creativity Committee

    The Undergraduate Research and Creativity Committee consists of nine faculty members and up to two student representatives. Faculty members serve for up to three years. There shall be no more than four faculty members from any of the College of Business Administration, the College of Liberal Studies, or the College of Science and Health. Student members shall be selected from students who have received research funding from the committee in previous years. Students who submit research proposals during a given year shall not be members of the committee during that year. The committee elects its chairperson.

    Duties and Responsibilities

    According to the the faculty senate bylaw II, the duties and responsibilities of the Undergraduate Research and Creativity Committee include:

    1. Establishing evaluation procedures and criteria for funding undergraduate research and creativity proposals 
    2. Establishing procedures for applying for undergraduate research funds 
    3. Publicizing the availability of undergraduate research funds and the procedures for applying for those funds 
    4. Apportioning institutional funds for undergraduate research 
    5. Advising the consultant of student research and the Associate Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs in the solicitation of grant monies to support undergraduate research 
    6. Planning and conducting an annual Celebration of Student Research & Creativity, as well as other means of disseminating undergraduate research and creativity results 

    2015-2016 URCC Members:

    • Nicholas McGrath, chair, spring 2016
    • Joshua Hursey, chair, fall 2015 (fall only)
    • Seth King (spring only)
    • Ryan Friesen 
    • Nicholas Bakken 
    • S. McDougal, recorder 
    • John Nunley 
    • Robert Allen
    • Sumei Liu
    • Bradley Nichols
    • Alayna Stein, student representative


    URCC meeting minutes

  • gray-swoosh