Nurse Anesthesia

A page within Biology (MS)

The Mayo Clinic Health System- Franciscan Healthcare School of Anesthesia, the University of Wisconsin- La Crosse (UWL) Biology Department, and Viterbo University School of Nursing have partnered to develop a program to meet the specific needs of the nurse anesthetist student during their doctoral education.

The School of Anesthesia (SOA) operates within the Mayo Clinic Health System Franciscan Healthcare complex in La Crosse, Wisconsin.  Students are taught in a didactic and clinical setting during the course, which requires 36 months of consecutive study. After successful completion of the program students will have earned:

  • A Master’s of Science (MS) in Biology from UWL (33 credits)
  • Certificate of Completion from the School of Anesthesia (26 credits)
  • A Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) from Viterbo University (22 credits)

The Doctor of Nursing Practice and Certificate of Completion are required to sit for the national board certification exam to be licensed as a Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA).

The School of Anesthesia is accredited by the Council on Accreditation (COA) of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs, a specialized accrediting body recognized by the Council on Higher Education Accreditation and the U.S. Department of Education.

For important details regarding the Nurse Anesthesia program as a whole, please visit the Mayo Clinic Health System - Franciscan Healthcare School of Anesthesia website.

For information about how to apply, click below.