Accessibility menu

Skip to main content Skip to footer

Associate Department Chair

Bradley Seebach  Profile of Bradley Seebach

0042 Health Science Center
bseebach@uwlax.edu
608.785.6964

Specialty areas:

Neurophysiology, Human Anatomy & Physiology; advising Biomedical Science Concentrators and Neuroscience students

Academic Department Associate

Lee Baines  Profile of Lee Baines

Associate Teaching Professor
261 Murphy Library
lbaines@uwlax.edu
608.785.8244

Cord Brundage  Profile of Cord Brundage

Assistant Professor
25 Health Science Center
cbrundage@uwlax.edu
608.785.6459

Specialty areas:

Veterinary medicine 

Animal physiology 

I am currently accepting M.S. and undergraduate research students.

Sierra Colavito  Profile of Sierra Colavito

Associate Professor
4031 Cowley Hall
scolavito@uwlax.edu
608.785.6998

Specialty areas:

Genetics of Breast Cancer Stem-like Cells

Please contact me if you have interest in graduate studies in my laboratory.

Scott Cooper  Profile of Scott Cooper

Professor
3022 Cowley Hall
scooper@uwlax.edu
608.785.6983

Specialty areas:

Effects of hibernation on blood clotting in 13-lined ground squirrels.

Faye Ellis  Profile of Faye Ellis

Teaching Professor
343 Cowley Hall
fellis@uwlax.edu
608.785.5066

Specialty areas:

Cellular and Molecular Biology

Jason Freund  Profile of Jason Freund

Assistant Teaching Professor
2036 Cowley Hall
jfreund@uwlax.edu
608.785.6455

Specialty areas:

Stream Ecology, Fisheries Ecology, Trout Stream Habitat Management, Interactions of Aquatic and Terrestrial Ecosystems

Anne Galbraith  Profile of Anne Galbraith

Associate Professor
3025 Cowley Hall
agalbraith@uwlax.edu
608.785.8246

Specialty areas:

Genetics, genetic disorders, genetics, molecular biology, genetics, baker's yeast, genetics, antimicrobials, genetics....

Kristin Greany  Profile of Kristin Greany

Associate Teaching Professor
0019 Health Science Center
kgreany@uwlax.edu
608.785.6544

Franklin Greene  Profile of Franklin Greene

Laboratory Supervisor
4037A Prairie Springs Science Center
fgreene@uwlax.edu
608.785.6912

Jaspreet Kaur  Profile of Jaspreet Kaur

Assistant Professor
Cowley Hall
jkaur@uwlax.edu

Specialty areas:

Plant ecology, Plant-microbial interactions, Conservation biology, Population genetics

Tisha King-Heiden  Profile of Tisha King-Heiden

Professor
3028 Cowley Hall
tking-heiden@uwlax.edu
608.785.6463

Specialty areas:

Reproductive physiology, reproductive toxicology, and developmental toxicology.  In my lab, we strive to bridge the gap between ecotoxicology (fish) and human health. We use small fish models (typically zebrafish and fathead minnows) to study the effects of embryonic exposure to various  environmental contaminants of emerging concern on development, behavior,  metamorphosis, cardiovascular health, immune response and reproductive health.  

Students interested in doing Undergraduate Independent Research or earning a MS degree should email me, especially if you hold marginalized identities within the field of environmental science.

Barrett Klein  Profile of Barrett Klein

Professor
3021 Cowley Hall
bklein@uwlax.edu
608.785.6995

Specialty areas:

Animal behavior, entomology, social insect biology, sleep biology, scientific visualization, intersection of entomology and art, cultural entomology (how insects affect human culture).

If you are a student interested in joining the Pupating Lab to conduct research as an undergraduate or in UWL's Master's program, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Jennifer Klein  Profile of Jennifer Klein

Professor
3015 Cowley Hall
jklein@uwlax.edu
608.785.8251

Specialty areas:

molecular biophysics, cell biology, molecular biology, biochemistry, mathematical biology, molecular ecology

 

Lisa Kobs  Profile of Lisa Kobs

Associate Teaching Professor
0021 Health Science Center
lkobs@uwlax.edu
608.785.6457

Sumei Liu  Profile of Sumei Liu

Professor
0040 Health Science Center
sliu@uwlax.edu
608.785.6971

Specialty areas:

Gastrointestinal Physiology; Enteric Nervous System

Margaret Maher  Profile of Margaret Maher

Professor
0024 Health Science Center
mmaher@uwlax.edu
608.785.6967

Specialty areas:

Nutrition and Endocrinology

Markus Mika  Profile of Markus Mika

Assistant Professor
234 Cartwright Center
mmika@uwlax.edu
608.785.5270

Specialty areas:

Breeding ecology, life history, phylogeography, and evolution in birds

Todd Osmundson  Profile of Todd Osmundson

Professor
3034 Cowley Hall
tosmundson@uwlax.edu
608.785.6975

Specialty areas:

Mycology (Fungal Biology), Biodiversity & conservation, Biogeography, Bioinformatics, DNA barcoding, Metagenomics, Phylogenetics, Population genetics, and Systematics. Please contact me if you have any interest in undergraduate or graduate (MS) research in these topics.

Elisabeth Paluch  Profile of Elisabeth Paluch

Laboratory Supervisor
343 Cowley Hall
epaluch@uwlax.edu
608.785.5071

Specialty areas:

Plant Ecology and Mycology.

Anton Sanderfoot  Profile of Anton Sanderfoot

Associate Professor
4033 Cowley Hall
asanderfoot@uwlax.edu
608.785.8240

Specialty areas:

Plant cell biology, protein secretion, genetic screens, molecular biology, microscopy

Please contact me if you have any interest in undergraduate or graduate (MS) research!

Also contact me with any questions about use of the Microscopes in the Howard Imaging Center on campus.

Gregory Sandland  Profile of Gregory Sandland

Professor
2032 Cowley Hall
gsandland@uwlax.edu
608.785.6982

Specialty areas:

Host-parasite interactions, life-history evolution, disease ecology, invasive species dynamics, mathematical biology, toxicology

Adam Schneider  Profile of Adam Schneider

Assistant Professor
2029 Cowley Hall
aschneider2@uwlax.edu
608.785.6977

Specialty areas:

Parasitic plants
Native Plants of Wisconsin
Plant taxonomy and systematics
Natural history collections
Citizen science (e.g. iNaturalist)

David Schumann  Profile of David Schumann

Assistant Professor
2034 Cowley Hall
dschumann@uwlax.edu
608.785.8242

Specialty areas:

Fisheries ecology and management, interactions among species, conservation biology, movement ecology. 

Contact me if you have any interest in undergraduate or graduate (MS) research in these fields!

Christine Schwartz  Profile of Christine Schwartz

Associate Professor
0023 Health Science Center
cschwartz@uwlax.edu
608.785.6974

Specialty areas:

Neuroscience, Physiology, Hibernation biology

Bradley Seebach  Profile of Bradley Seebach

Associate Professor
0042 Health Science Center
bseebach@uwlax.edu
608.785.6964

Specialty areas:

Neurophysiology, Human Anatomy & Physiology; advising Biomedical Science Concentrators and Neuroscience students

Eric Strauss  Profile of Eric Strauss

Professor
2033 Cowley Hall
estrauss@uwlax.edu
608.785.8262

Specialty areas:

Limnology, Stream and River Ecology, Water Quality

Ross Vander Vorste  Profile of Ross Vander Vorste

Assistant Professor
3032 Cowley Hall
rvandervorste@uwlax.edu
608.785.6978

Specialty areas:

aquatic invertebrates, freshwater ecology, disturbance ecology, community ecology, conservation biology

Jaclyn Wisinski  Profile of Jaclyn Wisinski

Associate Professor
3031 Cowley Hall
jwisinski@uwlax.edu
608.785.6973

Specialty areas:

Platelets prevent blood loss from the vasculature and changes in the abundance and/or function of platelet compromises their ability to execute that function. Too many (thrombocythemia) or too few (thrombocytopenia) circulating platelet increase risk of thrombosis and hemorrhage, respectively. The primary goal of my research is to understand what regulates platelet production by megakaryocytes.

Alder Yu  Profile of Alder Yu

Associate Professor
2028 Cowley Hall
ayu@uwlax.edu
608.785.6988

Specialty areas:

I study circadian rhythms and the health effects of disrupting these daily rhythms, using fruit flies as a model system.  I am particularly interested in the effect of circadian rhythm disruption on metabolism and DNA damage repair.  I am currently accepting M.S. and undergraduate research students.

Mary Zimmerman  Profile of Mary Zimmerman

Assistant Professor
3016 Cowley Hall
mzimmerman@uwlax.edu
608.785.8237

Specialty areas:

Cancer Biology; Mitochondrial Dysfunction

Emeritus Faculty & Academic Staff

NAME
EMAIL ADDRESS
YEARS PRINCIPAL AREAS OF INSTRUCTION STATUS
A. Glenn Brice 1988-2017 Human Physiology Retired
LaVerne Buldhaupt 1961-1996 Parasitology, Vertebrate Zoology Deceased
Robert Burns 1968-1998 Microbiology Retired
Thomas O Clafin 1966-2001 Limnology, River Studies Deceased
Jerry Davis
sivadjam@mhtc.net
1968-2002 Plant Biology, General Biology Retired
Richard A. Fletcher 1968-1994 Endocrinology, Human Anatomy & Physiology Retired
Daniel T. Gerber 1997-2022 Plant Biologist Retired
John E. Gillis 1984-2023 General Biology, Organismal, Ecology, Animal Biology Retired
Roger Haro 1996-2023 Ecology, Organismal, General Biology, Aquatic Inverts Administration
Richard T. Hartley 1950-1971 Embryology Deceased
John W. Held 1967-1997 Fisheries Biology, Vertebrate Zoology Deceased
Kerrie Hoar 1996-2016 Anatomy & Physiology Coordinator Retired
David Howard      1999-2015 Cell Biology Deceased
Rudy G. Koch 1980-1990 General Biology; Plant Taxonomy Deceased
Stuart McIlraith 1962-1995 Invertebrate Zoology, Human Biology Deceased
Rodney C. Mowbray 1972-2006 Developmental Biology, Radiation Biology Deceased
Allen C. Nelson 1964-1996 Mycology Deceased
Deon Nontelle
dnontelle@hargray.com
1973-2005 General Biology Retired
Richard P. Nord 1966-1999 General Biology Retired
James E. Parry
jeppwp@aol.com
1967-1998 Genetics, Vertebrate Zoology Retired
Ronald G. Rada
rrada@uwlax.edu
1975-1998 Limnology, River Studies Administration
Jean C. Ruhser
prairiegenes@gmail.com
1975-2001 General Biology, Ornithology Retired
Mark B. Sandheinrich 1988-2022 Biology, Microbiology, River Studies Retired
Laura A. Schuh 1957-1983 Entomology Deceased
Grace M. Smith 1971-1996 Medical Technology Retired
Daniel Sutherland 1994-2006 Parasitology, Organismal Biology Deceased
Eileen G. Temte 1967-1994 General Biology Retired
Rob Tyser  1978 - 2015 Ecology and Ornithology Retired
Larraine M. Unbehaun
junbehaun@fflax.net
1969-1999 Cell Biology Retired
Thomas Volk 1996-2022 Mycology Deceased
James H. Warner 1963-1996 Plant Ecology Deceased
A. Vincent Weber 1956-1989 Plant Morphology Retired
Thomas F. Weeks 1970-2001 Cell Biology, Radiation Biology Retired
Howard F. Young 1955-1984 Ornithology Deceased