Graduate faculty

Going further, doing more

Biology graduate faculty

Scott Cooper  Profile of Scott Cooper

Professor
3022 Cowley Hall
scooper@uwlax.edu
608.785.6983

Specialty areas:

Effects of hibernation on blood clotting in 13-lined ground squirrels.

Sierra Colavito  Profile of Sierra Colavito

Associate Professor
4031 Cowley Hall
scolavito@uwlax.edu
608.785.6998

Specialty areas:

Genetics of Breast Cancer Stem-like Cells

Please contact me if you have interest in graduate studies in my laboratory.

Anne Galbraith  Profile of Anne Galbraith

Associate Professor
3025 Cowley Hall
agalbraith@uwlax.edu
608.785.8246

Specialty areas:

Genetics, genetic disorders, genetics, molecular biology, genetics, baker's yeast, genetics

Rick Gillis  Profile of Rick Gillis

Professor
3014 Cowley Hall
rgillis@uwlax.edu
608.785.8253

Specialty areas:

I am a broadly trained zoologist and evolutionary ecologist with an interest in the ecology of whole organisms, particularly amphibians and reptiles. 

Roger Haro  Profile of Roger Haro

CSH - Associate Dean
105E Graff Main Hall
rharo@uwlax.edu
608.785.6970

Specialty areas:

Aquatic entomology, river ecology, mercury transport in freshwater food webs and the landscape ecology of watersheds, higher education analytics.

Tisha King-Heiden  Profile of Tisha King-Heiden

Professor
3028 Cowley Hall
tking-heiden@uwlax.edu
608.785.6463

Specialty areas:

Reproductive physiology & toxicology; developmental toxicology

Barrett Klein  Profile of Barrett Klein

Associate Professor
3021 Cowley Hall
bklein@uwlax.edu
608.785.6995

Specialty areas:

Animal Behavior, Entomology, Social Insect Biology, Sleep Biology, Scientific Visualization, Intersection of Entomology and Art, Cultural Entomology (how insects affect human culture)

Jennifer Klein  Profile of Jennifer Klein

Associate Professor
3015 Cowley Hall
jklein@uwlax.edu
608.785.8251

Specialty areas:

molecular biophysics, cell biology, molecular biology, biochemistry, mathematical biology

Megan Litster  Profile of Megan Litster  Office hours

Associate Professor
3009 Cowley Hall
mlitster@uwlax.edu
608.785.8252

Specialty areas:

Biology Education

Sumei Liu  Profile of Sumei Liu  Office hours

Professor
0040 Health Science Center
sliu@uwlax.edu
608.785.6971

Specialty areas:

Gastrointestinal Physiology; Enteric Nervous System

Margaret Maher  Profile of Margaret Maher

Professor
3016 Cowley Hall
mmaher@uwlax.edu
608.785.6967

Specialty areas:

Nutrition and Endocrinology
Todd Osmundson  Profile of Todd Osmundson  Office hours

Associate Professor
3034 Cowley Hall
tosmundson@uwlax.edu
608.785.6975

Specialty areas:

Mycology (Fungal Biology), Biodiversity & conservation, Biogeography, Bioinformatics, DNA barcoding, Metagenomics, Molecular phylogenetics, Population genetics, Systematics. Please contact me if you have any interest in undergraduate or graduate (MS) research in these topics.

Anton Sanderfoot  Profile of Anton Sanderfoot  Office hours

Associate Professor
4033 Cowley Hall
asanderfoot@uwlax.edu
608.785.8240

Specialty areas:

Plant cell biology, protein secretion, genetic screens, molecular biology, microscopy

Please contact me if you have any interest in undergraduate or graduate (MS) research!

Also contact me with any questions about use of the Microscopes in the Howard Imaging Center on campus.

Gregory Sandland  Profile of Gregory Sandland

Professor
2032 Cowley Hall
gsandland@uwlax.edu
608.785.6982

Specialty areas:

Host-parasite interactions, life-history evolution, disease ecology, invasive species dynamics, mathematical biology, toxicology

David Schumann  Profile of David Schumann  Office hours

Assistant Professor
2034 Cowley Hall
dschumann@uwlax.edu
608.785.8242

Specialty areas:

Fisheries ecology and management, interactions among species, conservation biology, movement ecology. 

Contact me if you have any interest in undergraduate or graduate (MS) research in these fields!

Christine Schwartz  Profile of Christine Schwartz

Assistant Professor
0023 Health Science Center
cschwartz@uwlax.edu
608.785.6974

Specialty areas:

Neuroscience, Physiology, Hibernation biology

Bradley Seebach  Profile of Bradley Seebach  Office hours

Associate Professor
0042 Health Science Center
bseebach@uwlax.edu
608.785.6964

Specialty areas:

Neurophysiology, Human Anatomy & Physiology; advising Biomedical Science Concentrators

Eric Strauss  Profile of Eric Strauss

Professor
2033 Cowley Hall
estrauss@uwlax.edu
608.785.8262

Specialty areas:

Limnology, Ecosystem Ecology, Water Quality

Meredith Thomsen  Profile of Meredith Thomsen

Professor
3026 Cowley Hall
mthomsen@uwlax.edu
608.785.8245

Specialty areas:

I direct graduate and undergraduate student research in plant ecology, invasive species, ecological restoration, and habitat fragmentation. I primarily work in local floodplain forest and sand prairie habitats. 

I welcome inquiries from students interested in starting a MS at UWL in fall 2020.

Ross Vander Vorste  Profile of Ross Vander Vorste  Office hours

Assistant Professor
3032 Cowley Hall
rvandervorste@uwlax.edu
608.785.6978

Specialty areas:

aquatic invertebrates, freshwater ecology, disturbance ecology, community ecology, conservation biology

Thomas Volk  Profile of Thomas Volk

Professor
3024 Cowley Hall
tvolk@uwlax.edu
608.785.6972

Specialty areas:

Mycology, Plant Pathology, especially Forest Pathology

Jaclyn Wisinski  Profile of Jaclyn Wisinski  Office hours

Assistant Professor
3031 Cowley Hall
jwisinski@uwlax.edu
608.785.6973

Specialty areas:

Platelets prevent blood loss from the vasculature and changes in the abundance and/or function of platelet compromises their ability to execute that function. Too many (thrombocythemia) or too few (thrombocytopenia) circulating platelet increase risk of thrombosis and hemorrhage, respectively. The primary goal of my research is to understand what regulates platelet production by megakaryocytes.

Alder Yu  Profile of Alder Yu

Assistant Professor
2028 Cowley Hall
ayu@uwlax.edu
608.785.6988

Specialty areas:

I study circadian rhythms and the health effects of disrupting these daily rhythms, using fruit flies as a model system.  I am particularly interested in the effect of circadian rhythm disruption on metabolism and DNA damage repair.  I am currently accepting M.S. and undergraduate research students.