Due to COVID-19, our physical office is closed. However, all classes will be held online and instructors and staff are working remotely. We recommend email or Canvas to reach instructors and email or phone for departmental business.

Visit the University's COVID-19 Response page

Office closed

The SAA office in Morris Hall is closed, although our faculty and staff continue to work remotely.  Please email saa@uwlax.edu and you will receive a response within two business days.  Follow this site for any additional campus updates:  https://www.uwlax.edu/info/covid-19/.

Department Chair

Jörg Vianden  Profile of Jörg Vianden  Office hours

Professor
345E Morris Hall
jvianden@uwlax.edu
608.785.6870

Specialty areas:

College student persistence; Men and masculinities in higher education; Whiteness studies

Academic Department Associate

Tina Connelly  Profile of Tina Connelly  Office hours

Academic Department Associate
345 Morris Hall
tconnelly@uwlax.edu
608.785.6869

Specialty areas:

Office Management

Ed.D. Program Director

Becki Elkins  Profile of Becki Elkins  Office hours

Assistant Professor
345 Morris Hall
belkins@uwlax.edu
608.785.6489

Specialty areas:

Higher education organization and governance; higher education history; student affairs law and policy; assessment of student learning and program efficiency; social class identity; and college students in recovery.

M.S.Ed. Program Director

Tori Svoboda  Profile of Tori Svoboda  Meet with me  Office hours

Associate Professor
345 Morris Hall
tsvoboda@uwlax.edu
608.785.6759

Specialty areas:

intersections of gender, racial/ethnic, and social class identities; orientation, transition and retention programs; program assessment; budget management; supervision; social justice education

Faculty and Instructors

Adele Lozano  Profile of Adele Lozano

Assistant Professor
345 Morris Hall
alozano@uwlax.edu
608.785.6871

Specialty areas:

Latinx Student Leadership Development; Student Development; Student Retention

Becki Elkins  Profile of Becki Elkins  Office hours

Assistant Professor
345 Morris Hall
belkins@uwlax.edu
608.785.6489

Specialty areas:

Higher education organization and governance; higher education history; student affairs law and policy; assessment of student learning and program efficiency; social class identity; and college students in recovery.

Jörg Vianden  Profile of Jörg Vianden  Office hours

Professor
345E Morris Hall
jvianden@uwlax.edu
608.785.6870

Specialty areas:

College student persistence; Men and masculinities in higher education; Whiteness studies

Kerri Smith  Profile of Kerri Smith

Associate Lecturer
345 Morris Hall
ksmith2@uwlax.edu

Specialty areas:

Assessment, faculty and student affairs partnerships, living learning programs.

Kristen McKinney  Profile of Kristen McKinney

Associate Lecturer
345 Morris Hall
kmckinney@uwlax.edu

Specialty areas:

Student Affairs assessment, student development, student health and wellness, engaging students in assessment.

Larry Ringgenberg  Profile of Larry Ringgenberg  Office hours

Director of University Centers
3228 Student Union
lringgenberg@uwlax.edu
608.785.8882

Specialty areas:

University Centers, Student Development, organizational development.

Mary Vahala  Profile of Mary Vahala  Office hours

Associate Director, University Centers
3224 Student Union
mvahala@uwlax.edu
608.785.8888

Moira Ozias  Profile of Moira Ozias

Associate Lecturer
345A Morris Hall
mozias@uwlax.edu
608.785.6450

Specialty areas:

Race and Gender in Higher Education; Equity and Access in Higher Education; Student Experiences & Student Success; Student Services Administration

Nizam Arain  Profile of Nizam Arain  Office hours

Director of Equity & Affirm Action
131 Graff Main Hall
narain@uwlax.edu
608.785.8541

Specialty areas:

Title IX Coordinator
Equity, diversity & inclusion
Affirmative action
Discrimination
Civil rights
Legal issues

Paul Shepherd  Profile of Paul Shepherd

Associate Lecturer

pshepherd@uwlax.edu
608.785.8087

Specialty areas:

Student Engagement,  Basic Needs Security, Co-curricular Assessment, Shared Governance, Leadership Development, Administration in Higher Education, Persistence, Sociodemographic differences in student engagement, Community Development.

Tori Svoboda  Profile of Tori Svoboda  Meet with me  Office hours

Associate Professor
345 Morris Hall
tsvoboda@uwlax.edu
608.785.6759

Specialty areas:

intersections of gender, racial/ethnic, and social class identities; orientation, transition and retention programs; program assessment; budget management; supervision; social justice education

Graduate Assistants

Beck Hawkins  Profile of Beck Hawkins  Office hours

Student

hawkins6015@uwlax.edu