Latin American Studies

Expand page menu
Skip to page menu

Directors, Latin American Studies

Omar Granados Profile of Omar Granados Office hours
Associate Professor
329B Graff Main Hall
ogranados@uwlax.edu
608.785.5243
Specialty areas:

Contemporary Latin American and Latino literature and cultural studies, Caribbean studies, film studies, migration studies and literary translation.

Associated Faculty

William Barillas Profile of William Barillas
Assistant Professor
425N Wimberly Hall
wbarillas@uwlax.edu
608.785.8305
Rose Brougham Profile of Rose Brougham Office hours
Assistant Professor
315E Graff Main Hall
rbrougham@uwlax.edu
608.785.5242
Specialty areas:

Spanish American poetry, Southern Cone, daughter-mother relationships, and performance poetry

Victoria Calmes Profile of Victoria Calmes
Associate Professor
311D Graff Main Hall
vcalmes@uwlax.edu
608.785.8328
Georges Cravins Profile of Georges Cravins
Professor
2015 Cowley Hall
gcravins@uwlax.edu
608.785.6674
Enilda Delgado Profile of Enilda Delgado Office hours
Professor
437B Wimberly Hall
edelgado@uwlax.edu
608.785.6776
Specialty areas:

Demography, Social Stratification, Social Statistics and Quantitative Research Methods

Christine Hippert Profile of Christine Hippert Office hours
Associate Professor
437L Wimberly Hall
chippert@uwlax.edu
608.785.6775
Specialty areas:

anthropology of food, medical anthropology, community development, gender/ethnic/racial identities, migration, Bolivia, Dominican Republic, Haiti

Eric Kraemer Profile of Eric Kraemer
Professor
4109 Centennial Hall
ekraemer@uwlax.edu
608.785.8423
Specialty areas: Philosophy of Mind, Theory of Knowledge, Philosophy of Science, Ethics, Medical Ethics
Darlene Lake Profile of Darlene Lake
Associate Professor
329C Graff Main Hall
dlake@uwlax.edu
608.785.8313
Heather Linville Profile of Heather Linville Office hours
Assistant Professor
240C Morris Hall
hlinville@uwlax.edu
608.785.8326
Specialty areas:

Dr. Linville's main research areas are advocacy for English learners (ELs), critical language awareness, culturally reponsive pedagogy, standards, and curriculum design.

Víctor Macías-González Profile of Víctor Macías-González Office hours
Professor
403J Wimberly Hall
vmacias-gonzalez@uwlax.edu
608.785.8349
Specialty areas:

Latin American, Mexican, Latina/o, and Gender and Sexuality, and Cultural history.  Focus on nineteenth-century Mexico, especially the Porfiriato (1876-1911). Interests include diplomacy, transnational migration, Mexican diaspora, consumption and material culture, masculinity, Latin@s in the Midwest, and the homophile movement.

Cecilia Manrique Profile of Cecilia Manrique
Professor
425H Wimberly Hall
cmanrique@uwlax.edu
608.785.6642
Specialty areas: Developing Areas (Asia, Africa, Latin America and the Middle East); Women and Politics; Immigration; Computer in the Political Science Classroom
Peter Marina Profile of Peter Marina
Associate Professor
437K Wimberly Hall
pmarina@uwlax.edu
608.785.6770
Specialty areas:

Urban Ethnography, Criminology, Transgressive Sociology, Sociology of City Life, Hispanic immigration, Sociology of Religion, race and ethnicity, among other topics.

Timothy McAndrews Profile of Timothy McAndrews
Professor
435A Wimberly Hall
tmcandrews@uwlax.edu
608.785.6774
Specialty areas: South American/Andean Archaeology, Rise of Complex Society, Sedentary Village-Based Adaptations

LASO Representatives