Director, Latin American and Latino Studies

Omar Granados  Profile of Omar Granados

Associate Professor
311B Graff Main Hall
ogranados@uwlax.edu
608.785.5243

Specialty areas:

Contemporary Latin American and Latino literature and cultural studies, Caribbean studies, film studies, migration studies and literary translation.

Associated Faculty

William Barillas  Profile of William Barillas  Office hours

Assistant Professor
425N Wimberly Hall
wbarillas@uwlax.edu
608.785.8305

Specialty areas:

American culture and literature; Midwestern culture and literature; Latino/Latina culture and literature; environmental literature; poetry and poetics; popular culture and music.

Jonathan Borja  Profile of Jonathan Borja  Office hours

Associate Professor
234 Center For The Arts
jborja@uwlax.edu
608.785.8410

Specialty areas:

Flute, Music History

Rose Brougham  Profile of Rose Brougham  Office hours

Associate Professor
315E Graff Main Hall
rbrougham@uwlax.edu
608.785.5242

Specialty areas:

Spanish American poetry, Southern Cone, daughter-mother relationships, and performance poetry

Victoria Calmes  Profile of Victoria Calmes  Office hours

Associate Professor
311D Graff Main Hall
vcalmes@uwlax.edu
608.785.8328

Specialty areas:

XX Century Peninsular Literature, Film Studies, 2nd Language Acquisition

Enilda Delgado  Profile of Enilda Delgado  Office hours

Professor
437B Wimberly Hall
edelgado@uwlax.edu
608.785.6776

Specialty areas:

Demography, Social Stratification, Social Statistics and Quantitative Research Methods

Timothy Gongaware  Profile of Timothy Gongaware  Office hours

Professor
437M Wimberly Hall
tgongaware@uwlax.edu
608.785.6772

Specialty areas:

Social Movements, Collective Behavior, Leisure Groups, Identity (individual and collective), Qualitative Research

David Hart  Profile of David Hart  Office hours

Professor
425V Wimberly Hall
dhart@uwlax.edu
608.785.8302

Specialty areas:

Postcolonial Studies, Caribbean literature and culture, World Literatures, Cultural Studies, folklore, various British and American Lit, globalization and literature.

Christine Hippert  Profile of Christine Hippert  Office hours

Professor
437L Wimberly Hall
chippert@uwlax.edu
608.785.6775

Specialty areas:

anthropology of food, medical anthropology, community development, the social construction and politics of gender/ethnic/racial/national identities, migration, Latin American and the Caribbean Studies, public health

Heather Linville  Profile of Heather Linville  Office hours

Associate Professor
240C Morris Hall
hlinville@uwlax.edu
608.785.8326

Specialty areas:

Dr. Linville's main research areas are advocacy for English learners (ELs), critical language awareness, teacher education, standards, and curriculum design.

Adele Lozano  Profile of Adele Lozano

Assistant Professor
345 Morris Hall
alozano@uwlax.edu
608.785.6871

Specialty areas:

Latinx Student Leadership Development; Student Development; Student Retention

Victor Macias-Gonzalez  Profile of Victor Macias-Gonzalez  Office hours

Professor
403J Wimberly Hall
vmacias-gonzalez@uwlax.edu
608.785.8349

Specialty areas:

Latin American, Mexican, Latinx histories and history of gender and sexuality.  Focus on nineteenth-century Mexico, especially the Porfiriato (1876-1911). Interests include diplomacy, transnational migration, Mexican diaspora, consumption and material culture, masculinity, Latin@s in the Midwest, and the homophile movement.

Peter Marina  Profile of Peter Marina  Office hours

Associate Professor
437K Wimberly Hall
pmarina@uwlax.edu
608.785.6770

Specialty areas:

Urban Ethnography, Cultural Criminology, Transgressive Sociology, Travel and Tourism, Sociology of the City, Hispanic Immigration, Sociology of Religion, Race and Ethnicity, among other topics.

Timothy McAndrews  Profile of Timothy McAndrews  Office hours

Professor
435A Wimberly Hall
tmcandrews@uwlax.edu
608.785.6774

Specialty areas:

South American/Andean Archaeology, Rise of Complex Society, Sedentary Village-Based Adaptations

Claire Mitchell  Profile of Claire Mitchell  Office hours

Assistant Professor
315F Graff Main Hall
cmitchell2@uwlax.edu
608.785.8321

Specialty areas:

Spanish, Applied Linguistics, World Language Pedagogy, Second Language Acquisition, Teaching and Learning of Culture, Virtual Reality in World Language Learning

Alessandro Quartiroli  Profile of Alessandro Quartiroli

Associate Professor
331G Graff Main Hall
aquartiroli@uwlax.edu
608.785.6897

Specialty areas:

Sport and Exercise Psychology & Counseling (professional, educational, and ethical issues in SEP; the psychology of physical activity and health behaviors, psycho-socio-cultural aspects related to sport and physical activity participation)

Jose Rubio-Zepeda  Profile of Jose Rubio-Zepeda  Office hours

Transfer Retention Specialist
1108 Centennial Hall
jrubiozepeda@uwlax.edu
608.785.8228

Specialty areas:

Academic and Financial Retention, Transnationalism and identity within the context of migration; globalization and its effects; African Diaspora in Central America and the Caribbean, especially in the Dominican Republic and Haiti; critical race theory; cultural studies; masculinity, class, gender

Megan Strom  Profile of Megan Strom

Assistant Professor
315I Graff Main Hall
mstrom@uwlax.edu
608.785.8320

Specialty areas:

Hispanic Linguistics, Critical Discourse Analysis, Social Semiotics, Spanish in the United States, Critical Media Studies

Latin American Student Organization (LASO) Representative