Due to COVID-19, our physical office is closed. However, all classes will be held online and instructors and staff are working remotely. We recommend email or Canvas to reach instructors and email or phone for departmental business.

Visit the University's COVID-19 Response page

Department Chair

Samuel Cocks  Profile of Samuel Cocks

Associate Professor
4112 Centennial Hall
scocks@uwlax.edu
608.785.8421

Specialty areas:

19th/20th Century Continental Philosophy, Asian Philosophy (esp. Chinese) & Environmental Philosophy

Department people

Samuel Cocks  Profile of Samuel Cocks

Associate Professor
4112 Centennial Hall
scocks@uwlax.edu
608.785.8421

Specialty areas:

19th/20th Century Continental Philosophy, Asian Philosophy (esp. Chinese) & Environmental Philosophy

Mary Krizan  Profile of Mary Krizan

Associate Professor
4110 Centennial Hall
mkrizan@uwlax.edu
608.785.8420

Specialty areas:

Research: Ancient Greek philosophy, especially Aristotle

Teaching: Ancient Greek and Roman Philosophy, Medieval Philosophy, Logic, Metaphysics (historical and contemporary), Philosophy of Language

Daniel Schneider  Profile of Daniel Schneider  Office hours

Associate Lecturer
4109 Centennial Hall
dschneider@uwlax.edu
608.785.8423

Specialty areas:

AOS: History of Philosophy (Early Modern/Ancient), Epistemology, Metaphysics

AOC: Ethics, Philosophy of Science

Sheryl Tuttle Ross  Profile of Sheryl Tuttle Ross

Professor
4111 Centennial Hall
stuttleross@uwlax.edu
608.785.8427

Specialty areas:

Philosophy of Art, Philosophy and Film, Feminist Philosophy, Social and Political Philosophy, Ethics

Anna Meier  Profile of Anna Meier  Office hours

Academic Department Associate
4102 Centennial Hall
ameier@uwlax.edu
608.785.8424

Emeriti

Name
Email Address
Years Principal Areas of Instruction Status
Ron Glass
rglass@eagle.uwlax.edu
 1968-2017  Introduction to Philosophy, History of Philosophy, Philosophy or Religion, Ethical Theory, Metaphysics  Retired
Sharon Scherwitz
sscherwitz@eagle.uwlax.edu
 1984-2017  American Philosophy, Feminism Philosophy, Multicultural Philosophy, Modern Philosophy  Retired