Philosophy

Expand page menu
Skip to page menu

Department Chair

Samuel Cocks Profile of Samuel Cocks
Associate Professor
4112 Centennial Hall
scocks@uwlax.edu
608.785.8421
Specialty areas: 19th/20th Century Continental Philosophy, Asian Philosophy (esp. Chinese) & Environmental Philosophy

Academic Department Associate

Mary Conrad Profile of Mary Conrad
Academic Department Associate
4102 Centennial Hall
mconrad@uwlax.edu
608.785.8424
Specialty areas:

Philosophy and Environmental Studies Depts. (mornings)
4102 Centennial Hall
Phone: 608.785.8424
Email: mconrad@uwlax.edu

Faculty Senate (afternoons)
323 Graff Main Hall
Phone: 608.785.8018
Email: senate@uwlax.edu

Department people

Samuel Cocks Profile of Samuel Cocks
Associate Professor
4112 Centennial Hall
scocks@uwlax.edu
608.785.8421
Specialty areas: 19th/20th Century Continental Philosophy, Asian Philosophy (esp. Chinese) & Environmental Philosophy
Eric Kraemer Profile of Eric Kraemer
Professor
4109 Centennial Hall
ekraemer@uwlax.edu
608.785.8423
Specialty areas: Philosophy of Mind, Theory of Knowledge, Philosophy of Science, Ethics, Medical Ethics
Mary Krizan Profile of Mary Krizan Office hours
Assistant Professor
4110 Centennial Hall
mkrizan@uwlax.edu
608.785.8420
Specialty areas:

Ancient Greek Philosophy, Medieval Philosophy, Logic, Metaphysics (historical and contemporary)

Sheryl Tuttle Ross Profile of Sheryl Tuttle Ross
Professor
4111 Centennial Hall
stuttleross@uwlax.edu
608.785.8427
Specialty areas:

Philosophy of Art, Philosophy and Film, Feminist Philosophy, Social and Political Philosophy, Ethics

Emeriti

Name
Email Address
Years Principal Areas of Instruction Status
Ron Glass
rglass@eagle.uwlax.edu
 1968-2017  Introduction to Philosophy, History of Philosophy, Philosophy or Religion, Ethical Theory, Metaphysics  Retired
Sharon Scherwitz
sscherwitz@eagle.uwlax.edu
 1984-2017  American Philosophy, Feminism Philosophy, Multicultural Philosophy, Modern Philosophy  Retired