Matthew Cashion profile photo

Matthew Cashion

Specialty area(s)

Creative Writing

Brief biography

I was born in North Wilkesboro, NC and grew up in St. Simons Island and Brunswick, GA; I've been enjoying La Crosse (kayaking, hiking, biking, snow-shoveling) since 2006.

Current courses at UWL

Creative Writing; Advanced Fiction-Writing Seminar; Writing for Stage & Screen; Forms of Fiction; Prose Style & Editing; Literary Production & Publication; Seriously Funny Literature; Humor and Horror: Literature of the American South.


B.A.: UNC Charlotte
MFA: University of Oregon

Research and publishing

LAST WORDS OF THE HOLY GHOST, short story collection; winner of the 2015 Katherine Anne Porter Prize (UNT PRESS 2015).
OUR 13th DIVORCE, a novel, (Livingston Press 2017).
HOW THE SUN SHINES ON NOISE, a novel (Livingston Press 2004).