Educational Studies

Expand page menu
Skip to page menu

Department Chair

Adrienne Loh Profile of Adrienne Loh
Epc - Associate Dean (Interim)
4016 Cowley Hall
aloh@uwlax.edu
608.785.8275
Specialty areas:

Interim Associate Dean, School of Education, Aug. 2017-present                                                                                                     

Chair: Department of Educational Studies, Sept. 2014-present

Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry: Physical & Biophysical Chemistry, NMR Spectroscopy, Peptide & Protein Structure

Academic Department Associate

Lisa Armstrong Profile of Lisa Armstrong
Academic Department Associate
335 Morris Hall
larmstrong@uwlax.edu
608.785.8151

Department people

J. Scott Baker Profile of J. Scott Baker Office hours
Assistant Professor
185A Morris Hall
jbaker3@uwlax.edu
608.785.8131
Specialty areas:
  • Multicultural Education
  • Arts-Based Undergraduate Research
  • Poetic Inquiry
  • Teacher Education
  • Educational Foundations
  • Curriculum Development
  • Social Change and Secondary Education
  • Speech & Debate Education/Interscholastic Contests
Alyssa Boardman Profile of Alyssa Boardman Office hours
Assistant Professor
340D Morris Hall
aboardman@uwlax.edu
608.785.8149
Specialty areas:

Elementary Literacy

James Carlson Profile of James Carlson
Assistant Professor
160B Morris Hall
jcarlson@uwlax.edu
608.785.8140
Specialty areas:

Literacy Studies; Teacher Inquiry; Teacher Identity

Wen-Chiang Chen Profile of Wen-Chiang Chen Office hours
Associate Professor
365B Morris Hall
wchen@uwlax.edu
608.785.8144
Specialty areas:

K-8 Literacy, Teacher Education, Critical Literacy, Culturally Sustaining Pedagogy, & Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages.

Ann Epstein Profile of Ann Epstein
Associate Professor
340C Morris Hall
aepstein@uwlax.edu
608.785.8145
Specialty areas: Early Childhood Education
Barbara Gander Profile of Barbara Gander
Senior Lecturer
340A Morris Hall
bgander@uwlax.edu
608.785.6894
Daniel Green Profile of Daniel Green
Lecturer
160D Morris Hall
dgreen@uwlax.edu
608.785.8658
Yuko Iwai Profile of Yuko Iwai
Associate Professor
365A Morris Hall
yiwai@uwlax.edu
608.785.5407
Lema Kabashi Profile of Lema Kabashi
Assistant Professor
300B Morris Hall
lkabashi@uwlax.edu
608.785.8143
Specialty areas: Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD), Single Subject Design, Video-Based Instruction
Heather Linville Profile of Heather Linville Office hours
Assistant Professor
240C Morris Hall
hlinville@uwlax.edu
608.785.8326
Specialty areas:

Dr. Linville's main research areas are advocacy for English learners (ELs), critical language awareness, culturally reponsive pedagogy, standards, and curriculum design.

Roi Kawai Profile of Roi Kawai Office hours
Assistant Professor
160C Morris Hall
rkawai@uwlax.edu
608.785.8146
Specialty areas:

Urban Education, Multicultural Education, Middle Level Education, Social Justice Education, Social Studies/Civic Education, Critical and Poststructural Race Theories, Sociocultural Theory, Education Ethnography, Grounded Theory

Heidi Masters Profile of Heidi Masters
Assistant Professor
300E Morris Hall
hmasters@uwlax.edu
608.785.8129
Specialty areas:

Science Education

Leslie Rogers Profile of Leslie Rogers Office hours
Assistant Professor
300C Morris Hall
lrogers@uwlax.edu
608.785.8142
Specialty areas:

High Incidence Special Education, Parent Engagement, Formative Assessments/Single Subject Design, Self-Regulation, and Strategy Instruction

Dawn Rouse Profile of Dawn Rouse
Assistant Professor
340B Morris Hall
drouse@uwlax.edu
608.785.5412
Specialty areas: Early Childhood Education, Vygotsky, Social Cognition, Embodied Play, Reggio Emilia, Infant and Toddler Curriculum, R.I.E Administration & Accreditation of Child Care Programs
Joyce Shanks Profile of Joyce Shanks
Associate Professor
185B Morris Hall
jshanks@uwlax.edu
608.785.8657
Specialty areas:

Curriculum, Pedagogy, Supervision

Gary Willhite Profile of Gary Willhite Office hours
Associate Professor
320 Morris Hall
gwillhite@uwlax.edu
608.785.8130
Specialty areas:

Teacher Leadership, Supervision, English/Language Arts/Literacy

Ann Yehle Profile of Ann Yehle
Assistant Professor
266 Morris Hall
ayehle@uwlax.edu
608.785.8139
Specialty areas: Middle School, Foundations, Educational Leadership
Carol Zehms Profile of Carol Zehms
Professor
300A Morris Hall
czehms@uwlax.edu
608.785.8135