Department Chair

Leslie Rogers  Profile of Leslie Rogers  Meet with me  Office hours

Associate Professor
335B Morris Hall
lrogers@uwlax.edu
608.785.8142

Specialty areas:

Special Education

Middle Level (Grades 6-8) Professional Development Schools

The Self-Regulated Strategy Development model (Math & Writing Instruction) for Middle-Level Learners

School-Home Communication & Parent-Teacher Relationships

Supervision/Mentoring

Academic Department Associate

Department people

Gerardo Aponte-Safe  Profile of Gerardo Aponte-Safe  Meet with me  Office hours

Assistant Professor
240B Morris Hall
gaponte@uwlax.edu
608.785.5408

Specialty areas:

Global Education

Social Studies Education

Teacher Education

J. Scott Baker  Profile of J. Scott Baker  Office hours

Assistant Professor
185A Morris Hall
jbaker3@uwlax.edu
608.785.8131

Specialty areas:

  • Poetic Inquiry
  • Arts-Based Educational Research
  • Teacher Education
  • Multicultural Education
  • Educational Foundations
  • Social Justice and Educational Equity
  • Speech and Debate Education/Interscholastic Contests
James Carlson  Profile of James Carlson

Associate Professor
160B Morris Hall
jcarlson@uwlax.edu
608.785.8140

Specialty areas:

Literacy Studies; Teacher Inquiry; Teacher Identity

Wen-Chiang Chen  Profile of Wen-Chiang Chen  Office hours

Associate Professor
365B Morris Hall
wchen@uwlax.edu
608.785.8144

Specialty areas:

K-8 Literacy, Teacher Education, Critical Literacy, Culturally Sustaining Pedagogy, & Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages.

Ann Epstein  Profile of Ann Epstein  Office hours

Associate Professor
340C Morris Hall
aepstein@uwlax.edu
608.785.8145

Specialty areas:

Early Childhood Education, Montessori

Yuko Iwai  Profile of Yuko Iwai

Professor
365A Morris Hall
yiwai@uwlax.edu
608.785.5407

Specialty areas:

literacy, culturally responsive teaching, multicultural children's literature, multicultural education, teacher education

Lema Kabashi  Profile of Lema Kabashi  Office hours

Associate Professor
300B Morris Hall
lkabashi@uwlax.edu
608.785.8143

Specialty areas:

 

  • Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD)
  • Video-Based Instruction
  • Single Subject Research Design

    • Multiple Baseline Design

      • Across Behaviors, Across Participants, Across Settings​

    • A-B- and A-B-A-B Design 

    • Parallel Design

  • Computer Skills  

    • Microsoft Word/Excel/Powerpoint​

  • Learning Management Systems

    • D2L, BlackBoard

  • Technology 

    • Animoto​, VoiceThread, EdPuzzle, Google Drive/Site, Populr, TodaysMeet, Padlet, Wix, Skype, Camtasia, Jing, Screencast, YouTube Channel, PowToon, Pear Deck, Glogster, iMovie

Valerie Krage  Profile of Valerie Krage  Meet with me  Office hours

Lecturer
340A Morris Hall
vkrage@uwlax.edu
608.785.8136

Specialty areas:

Early childhood education, family engagement in education, impact of poverty on development and learning.

Heather Linville  Profile of Heather Linville  Office hours

Associate Professor
240C Morris Hall
hlinville@uwlax.edu
608.785.8326

Specialty areas:

Dr. Linville's main research areas are advocacy for English learners (ELs), language ideologies, teacher education, standards, and curriculum design.

Heidi Masters  Profile of Heidi Masters  Meet with me  Office hours

Assistant Professor
300E Morris Hall
hmasters@uwlax.edu
608.785.8129

Specialty areas:

Science Education

Deanna Maynard  Profile of Deanna Maynard  Meet with me  Office hours

Lecturer
300F Morris Hall
dmaynard@uwlax.edu
608.785.8138

Specialty areas:

Special Education - Behavior Disorders

Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports 

Early/Middle Childhood Literacy

Matt McParker  Profile of Matt McParker  Office hours

Assistant Professor
325B Morris Hall
mmcparker@uwlax.edu
608.785.8152

Specialty areas:

Social Studies Education

Multicultural Education

Mid-Level Education

Lisa Pitot  Profile of Lisa Pitot  Office hours

Assistant Professor
300D Morris Hall
lpitot@uwlax.edu
608.785.8139

Specialty areas:

Science Methods, Science Literacy, and Science Communication. Place-based / Project-based learning, and using Socio-scientific Issues to teach Science. 

Dawn Rouse  Profile of Dawn Rouse  Meet with me  Office hours

Assistant Professor
340B Morris Hall
drouse@uwlax.edu
608.785.5412

Specialty areas:

Early Childhood Education, Vygotsky, Social Cognition, Embodied Play, Reggio Emilia, Infant and Toddler Curriculum, R.I.E , Administration & Accreditation of Child Care Programs

Carol Zehms  Profile of Carol Zehms  Office hours

Professor
300A Morris Hall
czehms@uwlax.edu
608.785.8135

Specialty areas:

Inclusive Education

Early Literacy & Assessment

Professional Dispositions

Special Education Law

Ashley Zehner  Profile of Ashley Zehner  Office hours

Lecturer
300C Morris Hall
azehner@uwlax.edu
608.785.5403

Specialty areas:

Special Education, Emotional Behavioral Disorders, Alternative Education, Positive Behavior Support, Multi-tiered Systems of Support

Emeritus Members

  • Burt Altman, Professor, member 1965-1993
  • Barbara Chaney, Assistant Professor, member 1988-2009
  • Ralph Cozad, member 1975-1999
  • Barb Gander, Senior Lecturer, member 2003-2019
  • Kent Koppelman, Professor, member 1979-2007
  • Robert Krajewski, Professor, member 1989-2013
  • Robert Richardson, Associate Professor, member 1990-2009
  • Stuart Robertshaw, member 1974-1998
  • Joyce Shanks, Associate Professor, member 1990-2018
  • Greg Walsko, Associate Professor, member 1988-2013
  • Gary Willhite, Associate Professor, member 2008-2020