Department Chair

Adrienne Loh  Profile of Adrienne Loh

Epc - Associate Dean (Interim)
335 Morris Hall
aloh@uwlax.edu
608.785.8275

Specialty areas:

Interim Associate Dean, School of Education (145 Graff Main Hall), Aug. 2017-present
Chair: Department of Educational Studies (335 Morris Hall), Sept. 2014-present
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry: Physical & Biophysical Chemistry, NMR Spectroscopy, Peptide & Protein Structure

Academic Department Associate

Department people

Gerardo Aponte-Safe  Profile of Gerardo Aponte-Safe  Meet with me  Office hours

Assistant Professor
240B Morris Hall
gaponte@uwlax.edu
608.785.5408

Specialty areas:

Global Education

Social Studies Education

Teacher Education

J. Scott Baker  Profile of J. Scott Baker  Office hours

Assistant Professor
185A Morris Hall
jbaker3@uwlax.edu
608.785.8131

Specialty areas:

  • Poetic Inquiry
  • Arts-Based Educational Research
  • Teacher Education
  • Teacher as Researcher
  • Multicultural Education
  • Educational Foundations
  • Social Justice and Educational Equity
  • Speech and Debate Education/Interscholastic Contests
Alyssa Boardman  Profile of Alyssa Boardman  Office hours

Assistant Professor
340A Morris Hall
aboardman@uwlax.edu
608.785.8149

Specialty areas:

Elementary Literacy

James Carlson  Profile of James Carlson

Associate Professor
160B Morris Hall
jcarlson@uwlax.edu
608.785.8140

Specialty areas:

Literacy Studies; Teacher Inquiry; Teacher Identity

Wen-Chiang Chen  Profile of Wen-Chiang Chen  Office hours

Associate Professor
365B Morris Hall
wchen@uwlax.edu
608.785.8144

Specialty areas:

K-8 Literacy, Teacher Education, Critical Literacy, Culturally Sustaining Pedagogy, & Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages.

Ann Epstein  Profile of Ann Epstein  Office hours

Associate Professor
340C Morris Hall
aepstein@uwlax.edu
608.785.8145

Specialty areas:

Early Childhood Education

Yuko Iwai  Profile of Yuko Iwai

Associate Professor
365A Morris Hall
yiwai@uwlax.edu
608.785.5407

Specialty areas:

literacy, culturally responsive teaching, multicultural children's literature, multicultural education, teacher education

Lema Kabashi  Profile of Lema Kabashi  Office hours

Associate Professor
300B Morris Hall
lkabashi@uwlax.edu
608.785.8143

Specialty areas:

 

  • Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD)
  • Video-Based Instruction
  • Single Subject Research Design

    • Multiple Baseline Design

      • Across Behaviors, Across Participants, Across Settings​

    • A-B- and A-B-A-B Design 

    • Parallel Design

  • Computer Skills  

    • Microsoft Word/Excel/Powerpoint​

  • Learning Management Systems

    • D2L, BlackBoard

  • Technology 

    • Animoto​, VoiceThread, EdPuzzle, Google Drive/Site, Populr, TodaysMeet, Padlet, Wix, Skype, Camtasia, Jing, Screencast, YouTube Channel, PowToon, Pear Deck, Glogster, iMovie

Valerie Krage  Profile of Valerie Krage  Office hours

Lecturer
340D Morris Hall
vkrage@uwlax.edu
608.785.8136

Heather Linville  Profile of Heather Linville  Office hours

Associate Professor
240C Morris Hall
hlinville@uwlax.edu
608.785.8326

Specialty areas:

Dr. Linville's main research areas are advocacy for English learners (ELs), critical language awareness, teacher education, standards, and curriculum design.

Heidi Masters  Profile of Heidi Masters

Assistant Professor
300E Morris Hall
hmasters@uwlax.edu
608.785.8129

Specialty areas:

Science Education

Deanna Maynard  Profile of Deanna Maynard  Meet with me  Office hours

Lecturer
300F Morris Hall
dmaynard@uwlax.edu
608.785.8138

Specialty areas:

Special Education - Behavior Disorders

Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports 

Early/Middle Childhood Literacy

MATT MCPARKER  Profile of MATT MCPARKER  Office hours

Assistant Professor
240D Morris Hall
mmcparker@uwlax.edu
608.785.8152

Specialty areas:

Social Studies Education

Multicultural Education

Mid-Level Education

Samantha Meister  Profile of Samantha Meister

Assistant Professor
185B Morris Hall
smeister@uwlax.edu
608.785.8657

Specialty areas:

Teacher Education

Cultural Competence Development

Reflective Journaling Practices

Novice Teacher Mentorship

Literacy Foundations and Teaching Methods

Narrative Inquiry

Lisa Pitot  Profile of Lisa Pitot  Office hours

Assistant Professor
300D Morris Hall
lpitot@uwlax.edu
608.785.8139

Specialty areas:

Science Methods, Science Literacy, and Science Communication. Place-based / Project-based learning, and using Socio-scientific Issues to teach Science. 

Leslie Rogers  Profile of Leslie Rogers  Meet with me  Office hours

Assistant Professor
325B Morris Hall
lrogers@uwlax.edu
608.785.8142

Specialty areas:

Dr. Rogers' research relates to practice-based professional development, SRSD (writing instruction), parent-teacher relationships, and effective school-home communication practices. Dr. Rogers guides MC-EA students during their middle-level fields and student teaching seminars and teaches special education courses. She is also the MC-EA Program Director and a faculty advisor for UWL's Collegiate Middle-Level Association (CMLA) and Eagles for the Kids student organizations.

Dawn Rouse  Profile of Dawn Rouse  Office hours

Assistant Professor
340B Morris Hall
drouse@uwlax.edu
608.785.5412

Specialty areas:

Early Childhood Education, Vygotsky, Social Cognition, Embodied Play, Reggio Emilia, Infant and Toddler Curriculum, R.I.E , Administration & Accreditation of Child Care Programs

Gary Willhite  Profile of Gary Willhite  Office hours

Associate Professor
320 Morris Hall
gwillhite@uwlax.edu
608.785.8130

Specialty areas:

Teacher Leadership, Supervision, English/Language Arts/Literacy

Carol Zehms  Profile of Carol Zehms  Office hours

Professor
300A Morris Hall
czehms@uwlax.edu
608.785.8135

Specialty areas:

Inclusive Education

Early Literacy & Assessment

Professional Dispositions

Special Education Law

Ashley Zehner  Profile of Ashley Zehner  Office hours

Lecturer
300C Morris Hall
azehner@uwlax.edu
608.785.5403

Specialty areas:

Special Education, Emotional Behavioral Disorders, Alternative Education, Positive Behavior Support, Multi-tiered Systems of Support