Due to COVID-19, our physical office is closed. However, all classes will be held online and instructors and staff are working remotely. We recommend email or Canvas to reach instructors and email or phone for departmental business.

Visit the University's COVID-19 Response page

Program Director

Samuel Cocks  Profile of Samuel Cocks

Associate Professor
4112 Centennial Hall
scocks@uwlax.edu
608.785.8421

Specialty areas:

19th/20th Century Continental Philosophy, Asian Philosophy (esp. Chinese) & Environmental Philosophy

Faculty

Margaret Braun  Profile of Margaret Braun

Associate Lecturer
4104 Centennial Hall
mbraun2@uwlax.edu
608.785.5251

Specialty areas:

Camp Administration and Outdoor Program; Environmental Studies; Non-profit management; Leadership Development and Supervision; 

Richard Frost  Profile of Richard Frost  Office hours

Associate Lecturer
4104 Centennial Hall
rfrost@uwlax.edu
608.785.5245

Specialty areas:

I am an Environmental Historian with a particular interest in the history of the Driftless Area, the La Crosse River Marsh, and the Mississippi River. I am known around the area as "The Marsh Guy." I take my students on several field trips to the marsh and have developed a presentation called "A Pictorial History of the La Crosse River Marsh," which I give at UW-L every semester. I am also a former DNR naturalist and worked at Rock Island State Park in Wisconsin's famed Door County.

Margot Higgins  Profile of Margot Higgins

Associate Lecturer
4105 Centennial Hall
mhiggins@uwlax.edu
608.785.5249

Specialty areas:

political ecology, environmental history, environmental justice, national parks and wilderness, bicycle history and politics

Alysa Remsburg  Profile of Alysa Remsburg  Office hours

Lecturer
4106 Centennial Hall
aremsburg@uwlax.edu
608.785.5250

Specialty areas:

scholarship of teaching and learning, service learning, forest ecology, dragonfly and damselfly ecology, forest and riparian socio-ecological systems, conservation biology

Jan Wellik  Profile of Jan Wellik  Office hours

Associate Lecturer
4108 Centennial Hall
jwellik@uwlax.edu
608.785.5252

Specialty areas:

Nature Writing

Nature Art Journaling

Environmental Writing

News & Feature Writing

Nature Poetry

Environmental Education

Staff

Anna Meier  Profile of Anna Meier  Office hours

Academic Department Associate
4102 Centennial Hall
ameier@uwlax.edu
608.785.8424