Barbara A. Lange Memorial Award

A page within Community Health Annual Meetings

2023 Barbara A. Lange Memorial Award
in Health Education

Deadline for receipt of materials:
4 p.m. Central Time, Monday, September 18, 2023

Award Presentation:
October 5, 2023

Barbara A. Lange was an avid public health professional in Wisconsin for 26 years. She served in various responsibilities with the Bureau of Public Health, particularly focusing on health education and health promotion strategies. She was indefatigable in her efforts to promote the health and well-being of the citizenry by encouraging partnerships across the health-related professions. She served with numerous organizations and governing bodies, particularly the Wisconsin School Health Education Coalition, the Wisconsin Public Health Association, and the Wisconsin Health Education Network. She is remembered with respect and admiration by those who knew her.

Three Award Categories:

  1. Local Practitioner Award: Recognition of a deserving individual who focuses his/her responsibilities at a more local level in addressing all six award criteria.
  2. Regional/Statewide Practitioner Award: Recognition of a deserving individual who has a broader range of influence at the regional or statewide level in addressing all six award criteria.
  3. Special Organizational Award: Recognition of a deserving organization that has furthered the advancement of regional and/or statewide health education and health promotion in Wisconsin thereby advancing the overall population priority of prevention and health improvement through empirically-based strategies and partnerships. 

Six Award Criteria:
(Nominees for this award should exemplify the following attributes)

  • Demonstrates leadership and advocacy for health education and health promotion in Wisconsin.
  • Empowers and supports others to enhance health through educational strategies.
  • Demonstrates a commitment to health education and health promotion.
  • Offers a clearly-articulated vision for the health of the citizenry.
  • Advances the vision and priority of health enhancement through changes in health-related systems.
  • Advances overall the priority of prevention and health improvement.


  • Nominators are to submit support materials for a nominee in one category only.
  • Support materials must include: (Note: Support material should be no more than 10 pages.)
    • One letter of nomination (may be co-signed)
    • A minimum of three letters of support (there can be more than three)
    • Resume or vita for the nominee
    • Additional support material (e.g., as appropriate: news articles; significant publications)

Deadline date: 
All materials must be emailed OR postmarked by 4 p.m., September 18, 2023.

Gary D. Gilmore, M.P.H., Ph.D., MCHES
University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
418F Wimberly Hall, 1725 State St.
La Crosse, WI 54601


  • Gary D. Gilmore, M.P.H., Ph.D., MCHES, Chair
  • Christa Cupp, M.P.H., MCHES
  • Sheri Siemers, M.P.H., CHES


Gary D. Gilmore, M.P.H., Ph.D., MCHES or 608.785.8163

1995 Inaugural Award: Kenneth Baldwin, M.P.H.
1996 Award: Patrick Remington, M.D., M.P.H.
1997 Award: Norman E. McKonly, Jr.
1998 Award: Robert Jecklin, M.P.H.
1999 Award: Susan M. Uttech, M.S., CHES
2000 Award: Chet Bradley, M.S., CHES
2001 Award: Deborah L. Tackmann, M.E.P.D.
2002 Award: Janice M. Winters, RN, B.S.N., M.P.H.
2003 Award: Sheryl L. Gotts, M.S.
2004 Award: James M. Vergeront, M.D.
2005 Regional/Statewide Award: Mary L. Gothard, B.S., CHES
2005 Local Practitioner Award: Lori A. McMillan, M.F.A.
2006 Local Practitioner Award: John E. Mielke, M.D.
2006 Local Practitioner Award: Rebecca Meert, CHES
2007 Regional/Statewide Award: Jon Hisgen, M.S., CHES
2008 Regional/Statewide Award: Mary Pesik, RD, CD, CLE
2008 Local Practitioner Award: Francie A. Peardon
2009 Regional/Statewide Award: James Kazmierczak, D.V.M.
2009 Regional/Statewide Award: Reghan Walsh
2010 Local Practitioner Award: Paula J. Silha, B.S., CHES
2011 Regional/Statewide Award: Brenda L. Rooney, Ph.D., M.P.H.
2012 Regional/Statewide Award: Gary Hollander, Ph.D.
2013 Regional/Statewide Award: Linda A. Lee, M.S., M.P.H.
2013 Local Practitioner Award: Mary P. Rosecky, RN, B.S.N., CHES
2015 Regional/Statewide Award: Sherri Ohly, B.S.S.W.
2015 Regional/Statewide Award: Sheri Siemers, M.P.H., CHES
2015 Local Practitioner Award: Kate Noelke, M.P.H., CHES
2016 Joint Regional/Statewide Award: Millie Jones, M.P.H. and Michael Vaughn, M.S.-HSA
2016 Local Practitioner Award: Amy Olejniczak, M.S., M.P.H.
2017 Regional/Statewide Award: Vicki Huntington, B.A.
2017 Regional/Statewide Award: Nancy Sonnleitner, RHIT, CTR
2017 Regional/Statewide Award: Christy Vogt, M.P.H.
2018 Local Practitioner Award: Aaron Ruff, B.S., CHES
2019 Regional/Statewide Award: Catherine Sendelbach, M.S., CHES
2020 Regional/Statewide Award: Jessica Link Reeve, M.P.H., Dr.PH, MCHES
2020 Local Practitioner Award: Anne M. Kuski-Cirilli, CHES
2021 Local Practitioner Award: Rachel E. King, M.P.H., MCHES
2022 Special Organizational Award: Wisconsin Division of Public Health (honoring all staff members) accepting the Award for the Division was Paula Tran, State Health Officer and Administrator