History

Surround yourself with tradition. Surround yourself with UW-La Crosse.

Expand page menu
Skip to page menu

Department Chair

John Grider Profile of John Grider
Associate Professor
401A Wimberly Hall
jgrider@uwlax.edu
608.785.8361
Specialty areas: Maritime history, Labor & Working-class history, Native American history, and history of the American West

Academic Department Associate

Deanna Wachter Profile of Deanna Wachter
Academic Department Associate
401B Wimberly Hall
dwachter@uwlax.edu
608.785.8350

Department people

Ariel Beaujot Profile of Ariel Beaujot Office hours
Associate Professor
403A Wimberly Hall
abeaujot@uwlax.edu
608.785.6798
Specialty areas:

Public History, World History, European History, British History, Fashion, Material Culture, Gender Studies

Deborah Buffton Profile of Deborah Buffton Office hours
Professor
403H Wimberly Hall
dbuffton@uwlax.edu
608.785.8359
Specialty areas:

Modern France, Modern China, effects of war on society, peace movements

Mark Chavalas Profile of Mark Chavalas Office hours
Professor
403D Wimberly Hall
mchavalas@uwlax.edu
608.785.8360
Specialty areas:

Ancient Near East, Classical, Biblical, archaeology:  

 

links:  CV:

https://www.uwlax.edu/uploadedFiles/Academics/Departments /History/ChavalasVITA.pdf

Article on Faith and History:

https://www.uwlax.edu/uploadedFiles/Academics/Departments /History/chavalasJETS.pdf

Jess Hollenback Profile of Jess Hollenback
Associate Professor
403G Wimberly Hall
jhollenback@uwlax.edu
608.785.8348
Specialty areas: History of religions (Comparative religions)
Gerald Iguchi Profile of Gerald Iguchi
Assistant Professor
403P Wimberly Hall
giguchi@uwlax.edu
608.785.8355
Specialty areas: Japanese History, Asian History, and World History; Cultural Studies; Buddhism and other Religions
Barbara Kooiman Profile of Barbara Kooiman
Lecturer
403N Wimberly Hall
bkooiman@uwlax.edu
608.785.8358
James Longhurst Profile of James Longhurst Office hours
Associate Professor
403F Wimberly Hall
jlonghurst@uwlax.edu
608.785.8344
Specialty areas:

public policy, urban environmental history, and the social and cultural history of modern America

Marti Lybeck Profile of Marti Lybeck
Assistant Professor
403B Wimberly Hall
mlybeck@uwlax.edu
608.785.8347
Specialty areas: Gender and Sexuality, Modern Europe, 19th and 20th Century Germany
Víctor Macías-González Profile of Víctor Macías-González Office hours
Professor
403J Wimberly Hall
vmacias-gonzalez@uwlax.edu
608.785.8349
Specialty areas:

Latin American, Mexican, Latina/o, and Gender and Sexuality, and Cultural history.  Focus on nineteenth-century Mexico, especially the Porfiriato (1876-1911). Interests include diplomacy, transnational migration, Mexican diaspora, consumption and material culture, masculinity, Latin@s in the Midwest, and the homophile movement.

Heidi Morrison Profile of Heidi Morrison
Associate Professor
403C Wimberly Hall
hmorrison@uwlax.edu
608.785.8345
Gita Pai Profile of Gita Pai Office hours
Associate Professor
403L Wimberly Hall
gpai@uwlax.edu
608.785.8352
Specialty areas:

History of early modern to contemporary South Asia

Kenneth Shonk Profile of Kenneth Shonk Office hours
Associate Professor
403C Wimberly Hall
kshonk@uwlax.edu
608.785.6560
Specialty areas:

Modern Ireland, History of Rock 'n' Roll, Social Studies Education, World History

Patricia Stovey Profile of Patricia Stovey
Assistant Professor
403E Wimberly Hall
pstovey@uwlax.edu
608.785.8353
Specialty areas: Regional Director, National History Day
Tiffany Trimmer Profile of Tiffany Trimmer Office hours
Assistant Professor
403K Wimberly Hall
ttrimmer@uwlax.edu
608.785.6799
Specialty areas:

World History, Migration History, How La Crosse connects to World History, British Empire 19th-20th C.

Jennifer Trost Profile of Jennifer Trost Office hours
Associate Professor
336A Wimberly Hall
jtrost@uwlax.edu
608.785.6627
Specialty areas:

History of Identity Theft and Impersonation; History of Identification and Surveillance Policy; White-Collar Crime; Juvenile Justice Policy

Julie Weiskopf Profile of Julie Weiskopf Office hours
Associate Professor
403I Wimberly Hall
jweiskopf@uwlax.edu
608.785.6476
Specialty areas:

Africa, colonial and postcolonial Tanzanian history, histories of resettlement, public health, and conservation.

Emeritus Faculty

Jean Helliesen

Charles Lee

Gary Kuhn

Curtis Kang

Bruce Mouser

James Parker

William Pemberton

James Potts

Richard Snyder

Gregory P. Wegner

Martin Zanger