Department Chair

Kenneth Shonk  Profile of Kenneth Shonk  Office hours

Professor
401A Wimberly Hall
kshonk@uwlax.edu
608.785.6560

Specialty areas:

Modern Ireland, Modern Europe, Fascism, History of Rock 'n' Roll, Social Studies Education, World History

Academic Department Associate

Department people

Ariel Beaujot  Profile of Ariel Beaujot  Office hours

Professor
403A Wimberly Hall
abeaujot@uwlax.edu
608.785.6798

Specialty areas:

Public History, Digital Humanities, Community Engagement, Experiential Learning, World History, European History, Material Culture

Mark Chavalas  Profile of Mark Chavalas  Office hours

Professor
403D Wimberly Hall
mchavalas@uwlax.edu
608.785.8360

Specialty areas:

Ancient Near East, Classical, Biblical, archaeology

John Grider  Profile of John Grider  Office hours

Professor
403H Wimberly Hall
jgrider@uwlax.edu
608.785.8361

Specialty areas:

Maritime history, Labor & Working-class history, Native American history, and history of the American West

Ben Hamburger  Profile of Ben Hamburger  Office hours

Lecturer
402 Wimberly Hall
bhamburger@uwlax.edu
608.785.8343

Specialty areas:

World History, History of the Cold War, 20th Century Middle East

Penelope Hardy  Profile of Penelope Hardy  Office hours

Assistant Professor
403I Wimberly Hall
phardy@uwlax.edu
608.785.8347

Specialty areas:

History of science, technology, and medicine, especially technologies of ocean science. 

Gerald Iguchi  Profile of Gerald Iguchi

Associate Professor
403P Wimberly Hall
giguchi@uwlax.edu
608.785.8355

Specialty areas:

Japanese History, Asian History, and World History; Cultural Studies; Buddhism and other Religions

James Longhurst  Profile of James Longhurst  Office hours

Professor
403F Wimberly Hall
jlonghurst@uwlax.edu
608.785.8344

Specialty areas:

Historian of urban and environmental policy, including transportation and bicycle history, and the social and cultural history of modern America

Víctor Macías-González  Profile of Víctor Macías-González  Office hours

Professor
403J Wimberly Hall
vmacias-gonzalez@uwlax.edu
608.785.8349

Specialty areas:

Latin American, Mexican, Latinx histories and history of gender and sexuality.  Latin Americanists study the history of nineteen different countries in the Americas, plus the Philippines, Spain, and the U.S.A.  I focus on nineteenth-century Mexico, especially the Porfiriato (1876-1911) and the U.S. Southwest. Research interests include diplomacy, transnational migration, Mexican diaspora, consumption and material culture, masculinity, Latin@s in the Midwest, the homophile movement, and LGBTQ history of the Midwest.    Service interests include development of outreach programs to increase Latino entry into higher education, graduate, and professional programs, as well as LGBTQ public history programs.

Heidi Morrison  Profile of Heidi Morrison

Associate Professor
403N Wimberly Hall
hmorrison@uwlax.edu
608.785.8345

Specialty areas:

Modern Middle East History

History of Childhood

Oral History

 

Gita Pai  Profile of Gita Pai  Office hours

Professor
403L Wimberly Hall
gpai@uwlax.edu
608.785.8352

Specialty areas:

regional and transnational history of South Asia; South Asian diaspora in the U.S.; religion and politics; material and visual culture; gender; anglophone South Asian literature; global studies

On research leave until fall 2023.

Hanadi Shatara  Profile of Hanadi Shatara  Office hours

Assistant Professor
403G Wimberly Hall
hshatara@uwlax.edu
608.785.8348

Specialty areas:

Social Studies Education

Global Education

Teacher Education

Kenneth Shonk  Profile of Kenneth Shonk  Office hours

Professor
401A Wimberly Hall
kshonk@uwlax.edu
608.785.6560

Specialty areas:

Modern Ireland, Modern Europe, Fascism, History of Rock 'n' Roll, Social Studies Education, World History

Patricia Stovey  Profile of Patricia Stovey

Assistant Professor
403E Wimberly Hall
pstovey@uwlax.edu
608.785.8353

Specialty areas:

Regional Director, National History Day
Tiffany Trimmer  Profile of Tiffany Trimmer  Office hours

Associate Professor
403B Wimberly Hall
ttrimmer@uwlax.edu
608.785.6799

Specialty areas:

World History, Migration History, How La Crosse Connects to World History, British Empire 19th-20th C., Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (Historical Contextualization Skills)

Executive Director, UWL Oral History Program

Jennifer Trost  Profile of Jennifer Trost  Office hours

Associate Professor
336A Wimberly Hall
jtrost@uwlax.edu
608.785.6627

Specialty areas:

History of Identity Theft and Impersonation; Swindling; History of Identification and Surveillance Policy; White-Collar Crime; Juvenile Legal Policy

Emeritus Faculty

Deborah Buffton

Jess Hollenback

Charles Lee

Gary Kuhn

James Parker

William Pemberton

James Potts

Shelley Sinclair

Richard Snyder

Gregory P. Wegner

Martin Zanger