Department Chair

John Grider  Profile of John Grider  Office hours

Associate Professor
401A Wimberly Hall
jgrider@uwlax.edu
608.785.8361

Specialty areas:

Maritime history, Labor & Working-class history, Native American history, and history of the American West

Academic Department Associate

Department people

Ariel Beaujot  Profile of Ariel Beaujot

Associate Professor
403A Wimberly Hall
abeaujot@uwlax.edu
608.785.6798

Specialty areas:

Public History, World History, European History, British History, Fashion, Material Culture, Gender Studies

Deborah Buffton  Profile of Deborah Buffton  Office hours

Professor
403H Wimberly Hall
dbuffton@uwlax.edu
608.785.8359

Specialty areas:

Modern France, Modern China, effects of war on society, peace movements

Mark Chavalas  Profile of Mark Chavalas  Office hours

Professor
403D Wimberly Hall
mchavalas@uwlax.edu
608.785.8360

Specialty areas:

Ancient Near East, Classical, Biblical, archaeology

Gerald Iguchi  Profile of Gerald Iguchi

Assistant Professor
403P Wimberly Hall
giguchi@uwlax.edu
608.785.8355

Specialty areas:

Japanese History, Asian History, and World History; Cultural Studies; Buddhism and other Religions

James Longhurst  Profile of James Longhurst  Office hours

Associate Professor
403F Wimberly Hall
jlonghurst@uwlax.edu
608.785.8344

Specialty areas:

public policy, urban environmental history, transportation and bicycle history, and the social and cultural history of modern America

Víctor Macías-González  Profile of Víctor Macías-González

Professor
403J Wimberly Hall
vmacias-gonzalez@uwlax.edu
608.785.8349

Specialty areas:

Latin American, Mexican, Latina/o, and Gender and Sexuality, and Cultural history.  Focus on nineteenth-century Mexico, especially the Porfiriato (1876-1911). Interests include diplomacy, transnational migration, Mexican diaspora, consumption and material culture, masculinity, Latin@s in the Midwest, and the homophile movement.

Gita Pai  Profile of Gita Pai

Associate Professor
403L Wimberly Hall
gpai@uwlax.edu
608.785.8352

Specialty areas:

South Asian studies; British empire; Hinduism in south India and the diaspora; colonialism and modernity

Kenneth Shonk  Profile of Kenneth Shonk  Office hours

Associate Professor
403C Wimberly Hall
kshonk@uwlax.edu
608.785.6560

Specialty areas:

Modern Ireland, History of Rock 'n' Roll, Social Studies Education, World History

Patricia Stovey  Profile of Patricia Stovey

Assistant Professor
403E Wimberly Hall
pstovey@uwlax.edu
608.785.8353

Specialty areas:

Regional Director, National History Day
Tiffany Trimmer  Profile of Tiffany Trimmer

Assistant Professor
403B Wimberly Hall
ttrimmer@uwlax.edu
608.785.6799

Specialty areas:

World History, Migration History, How La Crosse Connects to World History, British Empire 19th-20th C., Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (Historical Contextualization Skills)

Executive Director, UWL Oral History Program

Jennifer Trost  Profile of Jennifer Trost  Office hours

Associate Professor
336A Wimberly Hall
jtrost@uwlax.edu
608.785.6627

Specialty areas:

History of Identity Theft and Impersonation; Swindling; History of Identification and Surveillance Policy; White-Collar Crime; Juvenile Justice Policy

Emeritus Faculty

Jean Helliesen

Jess Hollenback

Charles Lee

Gary Kuhn

Curtis Kang

Bruce Mouser

James Parker

William Pemberton

James Potts

Shelley Sinclair

Richard Snyder

Gregory P. Wegner

Martin Zanger