Department Chair

John Grider  Profile of John Grider  Office hours

Professor
401A Wimberly Hall
jgrider@uwlax.edu
608.785.8361

Specialty areas:

Maritime history, Labor & Working-class history, Native American history, and history of the American West

Academic Department Associate

Shannon Suddeth  Profile of Shannon Suddeth  Office hours

Academic Department Associate
401 Wimberly Hall
ssuddeth@uwlax.edu
608.785.8350

Department people

Ariel Beaujot  Profile of Ariel Beaujot  Office hours

Professor
403A Wimberly Hall
abeaujot@uwlax.edu
608.785.6798

Specialty areas:

Public History, Community Engagement, Experiential Learning, World History, European History, Material Culture

Mark Chavalas  Profile of Mark Chavalas  Office hours

Professor
403D Wimberly Hall
mchavalas@uwlax.edu
608.785.8360

Specialty areas:

Ancient Near East, Classical, Biblical, archaeology

Penelope Hardy  Profile of Penelope Hardy  Office hours

Assistant Professor
403I Wimberly Hall
phardy@uwlax.edu
608.785.8347

Specialty areas:

History of science, technology, and medicine, especially technologies of ocean science. 

Gerald Iguchi  Profile of Gerald Iguchi

Associate Professor
403P Wimberly Hall
giguchi@uwlax.edu
608.785.8355

Specialty areas:

Japanese History, Asian History, and World History; Cultural Studies; Buddhism and other Religions

Shuma Iwai  Profile of Shuma Iwai

Lecturer
406E Wimberly Hall
siwai@uwlax.edu
608.785.8311

Specialty areas:

World History, Asian History, Asian American Studies, Religion, Intercultural Studies, Race and Media

Barbara Kooiman  Profile of Barbara Kooiman

Lecturer
403I Wimberly Hall
bkooiman@uwlax.edu
608.785.8358

Specialty areas:

My area of academic specialization is architectural history, historic preservation, cultural resources management and other aspects of public history such as museology and consulting. 

James Longhurst  Profile of James Longhurst  Office hours

Professor
403F Wimberly Hall
jlonghurst@uwlax.edu
608.785.8344

Specialty areas:

public policy, urban environmental history, transportation and bicycle history, and the social and cultural history of modern America

Víctor Macías-González  Profile of Víctor Macías-González  Office hours

Professor
403J Wimberly Hall
vmacias-gonzalez@uwlax.edu
608.785.8349

Specialty areas:

Latin American, Mexican, Latinx histories and history of gender and sexuality.  Focus on nineteenth-century Mexico, especially the Porfiriato (1876-1911). Interests include diplomacy, transnational migration, Mexican diaspora, consumption and material culture, masculinity, Latin@s in the Midwest, the homophile movement, and LGBTQ history of the Midwest.

OFFICE HOURS during COVID-19:   Please e-mail me and we can arrange a video conference.  I'm available generally to students in my classes during MWF 9.30-10:30 and 2:30-3:15. OTHER HOURS BY APPOINTMENT.

Heidi Morrison  Profile of Heidi Morrison

Associate Professor
403N Wimberly Hall
hmorrison@uwlax.edu
608.785.8345

Specialty areas:

Modern Middle East History

History of Childhood

Oral History

 

Gita Pai  Profile of Gita Pai

Associate Professor
403L Wimberly Hall
gpai@uwlax.edu
608.785.8352

Specialty areas:

regional and transnational history of South Asia; South Asian diaspora in the U.S.; religion and politics; material and visual culture; gender; anglophone South Asian literature

Hanadi Shatara  Profile of Hanadi Shatara  Office hours

Assistant Professor
403G Wimberly Hall
hshatara@uwlax.edu
608.785.8348

Specialty areas:

Social Studies Education

Global Education

Teacher Education

Kenneth Shonk  Profile of Kenneth Shonk  Office hours

Associate Professor
403C Wimberly Hall
kshonk@uwlax.edu
608.785.6560

Specialty areas:

Modern Ireland, History of Rock 'n' Roll, Social Studies Education, World History

Patricia Stovey  Profile of Patricia Stovey

Assistant Professor
403E Wimberly Hall
pstovey@uwlax.edu
608.785.8353

Specialty areas:

Regional Director, National History Day
Tiffany Trimmer  Profile of Tiffany Trimmer

Associate Professor
403B Wimberly Hall
ttrimmer@uwlax.edu
608.785.6799

Specialty areas:

World History, Migration History, How La Crosse Connects to World History, British Empire 19th-20th C., Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (Historical Contextualization Skills)

Executive Director, UWL Oral History Program

Jennifer Trost  Profile of Jennifer Trost  Office hours

Associate Professor
336A Wimberly Hall
jtrost@uwlax.edu
608.785.6627

Specialty areas:

History of Identity Theft and Impersonation; Swindling; History of Identification and Surveillance Policy; White-Collar Crime; Juvenile Justice Policy

Emeritus Faculty

Jean Helliesen

Jess Hollenback

Charles Lee

Gary Kuhn

Curtis Kang

Bruce Mouser

James Parker

William Pemberton

James Potts

Shelley Sinclair

Richard Snyder

Gregory P. Wegner

Martin Zanger