Sociology

Expand page menu
Skip to page menu

Department Chair

Timothy Gongaware Profile of Timothy Gongaware Office hours
Professor
437M Wimberly Hall
tgongaware@uwlax.edu
608.785.6772
Specialty areas:

Social Movements, Collective Behavior, Leisure Groups, Identity (individual and collective), Qualitative Research

Academic Department Associate

Debra Holtschlag Profile of Debra Holtschlag
Academic Department Associate
435B Wimberly Hall
dholtschlag@uwlax.edu
608.785.8457

Sociology faculty

Nicholas Bakken Profile of Nicholas Bakken Office hours
Associate Professor
437F Wimberly Hall
nbakken@uwlax.edu
608.785.8665
Specialty areas:

Criminology, Criminal Justice, Criminal Desistance, Prisoner Reentry, Substance Use,  Programmatic Evaluation

Laurie Cooper Stoll Profile of Laurie Cooper Stoll Office hours
Associate Professor
437H Wimberly Hall
lcstoll@uwlax.edu
608.785.8664
Specialty areas:

Race, Class, Gender, Sexuality, Intersectionality, and Education

Enilda Delgado Profile of Enilda Delgado Office hours
Professor
437B Wimberly Hall
edelgado@uwlax.edu
608.785.6776
Specialty areas:

Demography, Social Stratification, Social Statistics and Quantitative Research Methods

Adam Driscoll Profile of Adam Driscoll Office hours
Assistant Professor
437J Wimberly Hall
adriscoll@uwlax.edu
608.785.6801
Specialty areas:

Environmental Sociology, Sociology of Food and Agriculture, The Environmental Impacts of Agriculture, Online Pedagogy

Timothy Gongaware Profile of Timothy Gongaware Office hours
Professor
437M Wimberly Hall
tgongaware@uwlax.edu
608.785.6772
Specialty areas:

Social Movements, Collective Behavior, Leisure Groups, Identity (individual and collective), Qualitative Research

Patricia Hart Profile of Patricia Hart
Associate Lecturer
436 Wimberly Hall
phart@uwlax.edu
608.785.6782
Lisa Kruse Profile of Lisa Kruse
Assistant Professor
437A Wimberly Hall
lkruse@uwlax.edu
608.785.6767
Peter Marina Profile of Peter Marina
Associate Professor
437K Wimberly Hall
pmarina@uwlax.edu
608.785.6770
Specialty areas:

Urban Ethnography, Criminology, Transgressive Sociology, Sociology of City Life, Hispanic immigration, Sociology of Religion, race and ethnicity, among other topics.

Carol Miller Profile of Carol Miller Office hours
Professor
437D Wimberly Hall
cmiller@uwlax.edu
608.785.6777
Specialty areas:

global issues, gender, policy, family, rural/urban communities

Dawn Norris Profile of Dawn Norris
Associate Professor
437C Wimberly Hall
dnorris@uwlax.edu
608.785.6771

Emeritus faculty in Sociology

James Anderson (1960-1988) (deceased)

Robert Bendiksen (1975-2003)

Phillip Berg (1972-1998)

Robert Bilby (1972-2004)

Jac Bulk (1978-2011) - jbulk@eagle.uwlax.edu

Gerry Cox (1998-2008) - cox.gerr@eagle.uwlax.edu

Al Gedicks (1985-2012) - agedicks@eagle.uwlax.edu

Joel Lazinger (1973-2002) - lazinger.joel@eagle.uwlax.edu

William Mackey (1968-1994) (deceased)

Nancy Mouser (1970-2002)

Joeseph Motivans (1964-1993) (deceased)

Dean Sheils (1972-1997) (deceased)

William Zollweg (1982-2015) wzollweg@eagle.uwlax.edu