Department Chair

Timothy Gongaware  Profile of Timothy Gongaware  Office hours

Professor
437M Wimberly Hall
tgongaware@uwlax.edu
608.785.6772

Specialty areas:

Social Movements, Collective Behavior, Leisure Groups, Identity (individual and collective), Qualitative Research

Academic Department Associate

Sociology faculty

Nicholas Bakken  Profile of Nicholas Bakken

Professor
437F Wimberly Hall
nbakken@uwlax.edu
608.785.8665

Specialty areas:

Criminology, Criminal Justice, Criminal Desistance, Prisoner Reentry, Substance Use and Health,  Programmatic Evaluation

Laurie Cooper Stoll  Profile of Laurie Cooper Stoll  Office hours

Professor
437H Wimberly Hall
lcstoll@uwlax.edu
608.785.8664

Specialty areas:

Social Inequalities in Education, Gendered Violence, and Fat Studies

Enilda Delgado  Profile of Enilda Delgado  Meet with me  Office hours

Professor
437B Wimberly Hall
edelgado@uwlax.edu
608.785.6776

Specialty areas:

Demography, Social Stratification, Social Statistics and Quantitative Research Methods

Adam Driscoll  Profile of Adam Driscoll  Office hours

Assistant Professor
437J Wimberly Hall
adriscoll@uwlax.edu
608.785.6801

Specialty areas:

Environmental Sociology, Sociology of Food and Agriculture, The Environmental Impacts of Agriculture, Online Pedagogy

Justine Egner  Profile of Justine Egner  Office hours

Assistant Professor
437 Wimberly Hall
jegner@uwlax.edu
608.785.6781

Specialty areas:

 Disability; Medical Sociology, Health, & Illness; Gender & Sexualities; Intersectionality, Queer & Crip Theories; Technologies & Virtual Spaces.

Shanna Felix  Profile of Shanna Felix  Meet with me  Office hours

Lecturer
437N Wimberly Hall
sfelix@uwlax.edu
608.785.6784

Specialty areas:

Criminal justice, criminology, victimology, queer criminology, and mixed methodology. 

Timothy Gongaware  Profile of Timothy Gongaware  Office hours

Professor
437M Wimberly Hall
tgongaware@uwlax.edu
608.785.6772

Specialty areas:

Social Movements, Collective Behavior, Leisure Groups, Identity (individual and collective), Qualitative Research

Lisa Kruse  Profile of Lisa Kruse

Associate Professor
437G Wimberly Hall
lkruse@uwlax.edu
608.785.6767

Specialty areas:

Criminology and Criminal Justice

Surveillance: sex offender registry, pretrial/post-adjudication surveillance, social media and other means of personal surveillance

Methods: qualitative methods, evaluation

Peter Marina  Profile of Peter Marina  Office hours

Associate Professor
437K Wimberly Hall
pmarina@uwlax.edu
608.785.6770

Specialty areas:

Urban Ethnography, Cultural Criminology, Transgressive Sociology, Travel and Tourism, Human Rights Policing, Sociology of the City, Hispanic Immigration, Sociology of Religion, Race and Ethnicity, among other topics.

Carol Miller  Profile of Carol Miller  Office hours

Professor
437D Wimberly Hall
cmiller@uwlax.edu
608.785.6777

Specialty areas:

global issues, gender, policy, family, rural/urban communities

Dawn Norris  Profile of Dawn Norris  Office hours

Associate Professor
437C Wimberly Hall
dnorris@uwlax.edu
608.785.6771

Specialty areas:

Identity (individual, role, stigmatized), Mental Health & Illness, Age/Generations, Work & Occupations, Scholarship of Teaching 

Emeritus faculty in Sociology

James Anderson (1960-1988) (deceased)

Robert Bendiksen (1975-2003)

Phillip Berg (1972-1998)

Robert Bilby (1972-2004)

Jac Bulk (1978-2011) - jbulk@eagle.uwlax.edu

Gerry Cox (1998-2008) - cox.gerr@eagle.uwlax.edu

Al Gedicks (1985-2012) - agedicks@eagle.uwlax.edu

Joel Lazinger (1973-2002) - lazinger.joel@eagle.uwlax.edu

William Mackey (1968-1994) (deceased)

Nancy Mouser (1970-2002)

Joeseph Motivans (1964-1993) (deceased)

Dean Sheils (1972-1997) (deceased)

William Zollweg (1982-2015) wzollweg@eagle.uwlax.edu