The Office of Undergraduate Research & Creativity

243 Graff Main Hall, UW-La Crosse
1725 State Street  
La Crosse, WI 54601  
Phone: 608.785.8040  

Undergraduate Research & Creativity Staff Directory

Scott Cooper, Professor of Biology and Undergraduate Research Director 
Phone: 608.785.6983

Chandra Hawkins, Undergraduate Research & Internal Grants Coordinator 
Phone: 608.785.8040

Anna Hamer, Graduate Assistant 
Phone: 608.785.8040

Undergraduate Research and Creativity Committee

The Undergraduate Research and Creativity Committee consists of nine faculty members and up to two student representatives. Faculty members serve for up to three years. There shall be no more than four faculty members from any of the College of Business Administration, the College of Liberal Studies, or the College of Science and Health. Student members shall be selected from students who have received research funding from the committee in previous years. Students who submit research proposals during a given year shall not be members of the committee during that year. The committee elects its chairperson.

Duties and Responsibilities

According to the the faculty senate bylaw II, the duties and responsibilities of the Undergraduate Research and Creativity Committee include:

  1. Establishing evaluation procedures and criteria for funding undergraduate research and creativity proposals 
  2. Establishing procedures for applying for undergraduate research funds 
  3. Publicizing the availability of undergraduate research funds and the procedures for applying for those funds 
  4. Apportioning institutional funds for undergraduate research 
  5. Advising the consultant of student research and the Associate Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs in the solicitation of grant monies to support undergraduate research 
  6. Planning and conducting an annual Celebration of Student Research & Creativity, as well as other means of disseminating undergraduate research and creativity results 

2018-2019 URCC Members:

  • Leslie Rogers, Chair
  • Nicholas Bakken
  • Barbara Bennie
  • James Carlson
  • Gargi Chaudhuri
  • Song Chen, spring semester
  • Mary Hamman
  • William Stobb, fall semester
  • Todd Weaver
  • Jennifer Williams
  • Avery McLain, student representative appointed by Student Senate
  • Kimberly Ross, student representative appointed by Student Senate
  • Scott Cooper, ex-officio

URCC meeting minutes