Skip to main content

Accessibility menu

Skip to main content Skip to footer

Department Chair

Kate Parker  Profile of Kate Parker

433A Wimberly Hall
kparker@uwlax.edu
608.785.8304

Specialty areas:

 

 

Associate Department Chair

Bryan Kopp  Profile of Bryan Kopp

426G Wimberly Hall
bkopp@uwlax.edu
608.785.6936

Specialty areas:

Cultural Studies/Critical Theory; Rhetorical Genre Studies; Professional Writing; Scholarship of Teaching & Learning

First-Year Writing Program Coordinator

Darci Thoune  Profile of Darci Thoune  Darci Thoune saysMeet with me

Professor
425L Wimberly Hall
dthoune@uwlax.edu
608.785.6921

Specialty areas:

Writing Program Administration, First-Year Writing, Composition Pedagogy, Feedback, Assessment, and Fat Studies.

Department people

Judith Becker  Profile of Judith Becker

Lecturer
426H Wimberly Hall
jbecker@uwlax.edu
608.785.6945

Specialty areas:

Composition, education, and TESOL. 

MS Education; MS TESOL 

Bradley Butterfield  Profile of Bradley Butterfield

Professor
431E Wimberly Hall
bbutterfield@uwlax.edu
608.785.8308

Specialty areas:

Western Literature from Enlightenment to Postmodern; Critical Theory; The Novel; The Art of Memoir

Virginia Crank  Profile of Virginia Crank

Professor
431B Wimberly Hall
vcrank@uwlax.edu
608.785.6933

Specialty areas:

Rhetoric and Writing Studies; Writing Pedagogy; First-year Writing; Writing Center

Susan Crutchfield  Profile of Susan Crutchfield

Associate Professor
425T Wimberly Hall
scrutchfield@uwlax.edu
608.785.6943

Specialty areas:

Film Studies and Film Theory; Literature by Women; African American Literature; Drama; Disability Studies; The Woman's Film and Feminist Film Theory

Kimberly DeFazio  Profile of Kimberly DeFazio

Associate Professor
426B Wimberly Hall
kdefazio@uwlax.edu
608.785.6939

Specialty areas:

Romanticism, 19th Century British Literature, Posthumanism, Materialism, Critical and Cultural Theory, and the City

Rebekah Fowler  Profile of Rebekah Fowler

Associate Professor
431C Wimberly Hall
rfowler@uwlax.edu
608.785.8300

Specialty areas:

Medieval Literature, Arthurian Literature and Lore, Medievalisms, History of the English Language, Early Modern Literature, Ethics and Emotions; Contemplative Practices and Compassion in Higher Education

Ryan Friesen  Profile of Ryan Friesen

Teaching Professor
425W Wimberly Hall
rfriesen@uwlax.edu
608.785.8307

Specialty areas:

College composition, Early Modern literature, comic books as social commentary, supernatural themes in literature, dreams as literary and cultural themes. 

Merideth Garcia  Profile of Merideth Garcia

Associate Professor
425K Wimberly Hall
mgarcia@uwlax.edu
608.785.6927

Specialty areas:

Digital Literacies, Fan Studies, English Teaching Methods, Young Adult Literature, Qualitative Research, Rhetoric & Composition

David Hart  Profile of David Hart

Professor
425V Wimberly Hall
dhart@uwlax.edu
608.785.8302

Specialty areas:

Ethnic American literature, immigration, postcolonial studies, Caribbean literature, world literatures, cultural studies, folklore, cultural memory, globalization, and critical theory.

Karen Hart  Profile of Karen Hart

Teaching Professor
425N Wimberly Hall
khart@uwlax.edu
608.785.6926

Specialty areas:

Fairy Tales, College Writing, Storytelling, Trickster Literature, Multi-Ethnic and Multi-Cultural Literature, German Literature, Improvisation in the College Classroom, Theory of Abjection and Eco-Criticism, Literary History of Psychological Discourses, Online Teaching

Sara Heaser  Profile of Sara Heaser

Associate Teaching Professor
425U Wimberly Hall
sheaser@uwlax.edu
608.785.8298

Specialty areas:

first-year writing; basic writing; first-year experience; co-requisite course design and curriculum; rhetoric and composition pedagogy; writing placement (multiple measures and direct self-placement); research methodology in composition studies

Thomas Jesse  Profile of Thomas Jesse

Associate Professor
425M Wimberly Hall
tjesse@uwlax.edu
608.785.6934

Specialty areas:

20 & 21c American Literature, Secondary English Education, Poetry and Poetics, Rhetorical Approaches to Literature

Haixia Lan  Profile of Haixia Lan  Haixia Lan saysMeet with me

Professor
Wimberly Hall
hlan@uwlax.edu
608.785.6935

Specialty areas:

Rhetoric and Composition

Comparative Rhetoric

Meagan Madigan  Profile of Meagan Madigan  Meagan Madigan saysMeet with me

Lecturer
425Q Wimberly Hall
mmadigan@uwlax.edu
608.785.6944

Specialty areas:

College Writing 110

Stephen Mann  Profile of Stephen Mann

Associate Professor
233 Lowe Center For The Arts
smann@uwlax.edu
608.785.6923

Specialty areas:

sociolinguistics; linguistic anthropology; American English dialects; language, gender, & sexuality; language attitudes & ideologies; folk dialectology

Christopher McCracken  Profile of Christopher McCracken  Christopher McCracken saysMeet with me

Assistant Professor
425Y Wimberly Hall
cmccracken@uwlax.edu
608.785.6940

Specialty areas:

Rhetoric of Science; Writing in the Disciplines; Genre Studies; Professional & Technical Writing

Jennifer Mohlenhoff-Baggett  Profile of Jennifer Mohlenhoff-Baggett

Teaching Professor
425J Wimberly Hall
jmohlenhoff-baggett@uwlax.edu
608.785.6931

Specialty areas:

Composition, dystopian literature, women writers, comparative literature, literature from Latin America and Argentina's Dirty War (1976-1983), creative/satiric writing

Luke Schaaf  Profile of Luke Schaaf  Luke Schaaf saysMeet with me

Associate Teaching Professor
431I Wimberly Hall
lschaaf@uwlax.edu
608.785.6948

Specialty areas:

Rhetoric & Composition, American Literature, Mythology

Lindsay Steiner  Profile of Lindsay Steiner  Lindsay Steiner saysMeet with me

Associate Professor
431G Wimberly Hall
lsteiner@uwlax.edu
608.785.6929

Specialty areas:

Professional & Technical Writing, Content Strategy/Writing, Usability & User Experience, Social Media Writing, Visual Rhetoric & Document Design, AI & Writing, Writing Technologies, Organizational & Nonprofit Writing, Grant Writing, Qualitative Research, Course-Embedded Community Engagement Projects, Internships, Career Readiness, and Collaborative Learning.

William Stobb  Profile of William Stobb

Professor
426E Wimberly Hall
wstobb@uwlax.edu
608.785.6924

Specialty areas:

Creative Writing

Olivia Stoltman  Profile of Olivia Stoltman  Olivia Stoltman saysMeet with me

Assistant Teaching Professor
425I Wimberly Hall
ostoltman@uwlax.edu
608.785.6941

Specialty areas:

First Year Composition, Cultural Studies, Multicultural Literature, Women's Literature, Trauma Literature

Kelly Sultzbach  Profile of Kelly Sultzbach

Professor
4108 Centennial Hall
ksultzbach@uwlax.edu
608.785.6930

Specialty areas:

20th Century British & American Literature, Environmental Literature, Environmental Justice, Ecocriticism, Animal Studies, Climate Literature, Questions of Place and Identity, Law and Literature

Robert Wilkie  Profile of Robert Wilkie

Associate Professor
Wimberly Hall
rwilkie@uwlax.edu
608.785.6920

Specialty areas:

Digital and Visual Cultural Theory; Rhetoric, Writing, and Technology; Contemporary Literature and Film.

Louise Zamparutti  Profile of Louise Zamparutti  Louise Zamparutti saysMeet with me

Associate Professor
426 Wimberly Hall
lzamparutti@uwlax.edu
608.785.6922

Specialty areas:

Writing and rhetoric, professional writing, technical writing, grant writing, rhetorical history, public memory, political discourse, visual rhetoric, new materialism, tactical technical communication

Lei Zhang  Profile of Lei Zhang

Associate Professor
425S Wimberly Hall
lzhang@uwlax.edu
608.785.6938

Specialty areas:

Rhetorical and Discourse Analysis, Comparative Rhetoric, Journalism, New Media Studies, 

 

 

Emeriti Faculty