Department Chair

Todd Weaver  Profile of Todd Weaver  Meet with me  Office hours

Professor
4020 Cowley Hall
tweaver@uwlax.edu
608.785.8269

Specialty areas:

Biochemistry

Molecular Biology

Structural Biology

Enzymology

 

Associate Chair

Aric Opdahl  Profile of Aric Opdahl

Professor
442 Cowley Hall
aopdahl@uwlax.edu
608.785.8274

Specialty areas:

Surface and Analytical Chemistry

Academic Department Associate

Department people

Keith Beyer  Profile of Keith Beyer  Office hours

Professor
443 Cowley Hall
kbeyer@uwlax.edu
608.785.8292

Specialty areas:

Physical and Atmospheric Chemistry

Basudeb Bhattacharyya  Profile of Basudeb Bhattacharyya

Associate Teaching Professor
4030 Cowley Hall
bbhattacharyya@uwlax.edu
608.785.5275

Specialty areas:

Biochemistry

Jeff Bryan  Profile of Jeff Bryan

Professor
441 Cowley Hall
jbryan@uwlax.edu
608.785.8271

Specialty areas:

Nuclear and Inorganic Chemistry

Curtis Czerwinski  Profile of Curtis Czerwinski

Professor
4014 Cowley Hall
cczerwinski@uwlax.edu
608.785.8701

Specialty areas:

Organometallic chemistry

Pre-medicine advisor

Katherine Friesen  Profile of Katherine Friesen

Associate Teaching Professor
4009 Cowley Hall
kfriesen@uwlax.edu
608.785.5277

Specialty areas:

CHM103 General Chemistry I Lab

CHM104 General Chemistry II Lecture and Lab

CHM301 Analytical Chemistry (Quantitative Chemistry) Lab

Kelly Gorres  Profile of Kelly Gorres

Associate Professor
4015 Cowley Hall
kgorres@uwlax.edu
608.785.5284

Specialty areas:

Biochemistry, Virology, Reactivation of Epstein-Barr virus

Daniel Grilley  Profile of Daniel Grilley

Associate Professor
4028 Cowley Hall
dgrilley@uwlax.edu
608.785.5278

Specialty areas:

Biochemistry, Biophysics, Molecular biology

Ben Haenni  Profile of Ben Haenni  Office hours

Lecturer
4024 Cowley Hall
bhaenni@uwlax.edu
608.785.5285

Specialty areas:

Organic Chemistry, Computational Chemistry, Physical Organic Chemistry

Matthew Hammers  Profile of Matthew Hammers  Office hours

Assistant Professor
4018 Cowley Hall
mhammers@uwlax.edu
608.785.5283

Specialty areas:

Chemical Biology, Organic Chemistry, Cell Culture/Microscopy, Targeted Drug Delivery

 

Janet Kirsch  Profile of Janet Kirsch  Office hours

Associate Professor
4025 Cowley Hall
jkirsch@uwlax.edu
608.785.8655

Specialty areas:

Physical, Computational, Inorganic, and General Chemistry

Adrienne Loh  Profile of Adrienne Loh

Interim EPC - Associate Dean
225 Morris Hall
aloh@uwlax.edu
608.785.8275

Specialty areas:

Interim Associate Dean, School of Education (145 Graff Main Hall), Aug. 2017-present
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry: Physical & Biophysical Chemistry, NMR Spectroscopy, Peptide & Protein Structure

John May  Profile of John May

Associate Professor
4007 Cowley Hall
jmay@uwlax.edu
608.785.5281

Specialty areas:

Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, Molecular Genetics and Physiology of Salmonella, Structural Biology

Aaron Monte  Profile of Aaron Monte  Office hours

Professor
4001 Cowley Hall
amonte@uwlax.edu
608.785.8260

Specialty areas:

Organic / Medicinal / Natural products chemistry, Psychopharmacology, Anti-infectives

Joshua Neukom  Profile of Joshua Neukom  Office hours

Associate Teaching Professor
4029 Cowley Hall
jneukom@uwlax.edu
608.785.8278

Specialty areas:

Organic Chemistry | Organometallic Chemistry | Physical Organic Chemistry | Synthesis | NMR Spectroscopy

Aric Opdahl  Profile of Aric Opdahl

Professor
442 Cowley Hall
aopdahl@uwlax.edu
608.785.8274

Specialty areas:

Surface and Analytical Chemistry

Kristofer Rolfhus  Profile of Kristofer Rolfhus  Office hours

Professor
4022 Cowley Hall
krolfhus@uwlax.edu
608.785.8289

Specialty areas:

Environmental and analytical chemistry

Heather Schenck  Profile of Heather Schenck

Professor
4027 Cowley Hall
hschenck@uwlax.edu
608.785.8288

Specialty areas:

Nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy; organic chemistry; organic chemistry pedagogy

Sujat Sen  Profile of Sujat Sen

Assistant Professor
4013 Cowley Hall
ssen@uwlax.edu
608.785.5286

Specialty areas:

Electrochemistry & Materials Science 

Amanda Spiewak  Profile of Amanda Spiewak  Meet with me  Office hours

Lecturer
231 Cartwright Center
aspiewak@uwlax.edu
608.785.8264

Specialty areas:

Organometallic Chemistry, Forensic Chemistry, General Chemistry

Valeria Stepanova  Profile of Valeria Stepanova  Office hours

Assistant Professor
4003 Cowley Hall
vstepanova@uwlax.edu
608.785.8267

Specialty areas:

Organometallic and Organophosphorus Chemistry

Asymmetric Synthesis and Catalysis

Synthesis of Biologically Important Small Molecules

 

Eugenia Turov  Profile of Eugenia Turov  Meet with me  Office hours

Associate Teaching Professor
4005 Cowley Hall
eturov@uwlax.edu
608.785.5282

Specialty areas:

General Chemistry

Todd Weaver  Profile of Todd Weaver  Meet with me  Office hours

Professor
4020 Cowley Hall
tweaver@uwlax.edu
608.785.8269

Specialty areas:

Biochemistry

Molecular Biology

Structural Biology

Enzymology