Dates & deadlines

Unless otherwise noted, materials should be submitted to Graduate Education by 4:00 p.m. on the corresponding deadline. All times are listed in CDT.

FALL 2022

Friday, Aug 5 - THESIS, PAPER, & PROJECT 
Recommended initial submission date for documents requiring Graduate & Extended Learning approval (for August graduation). SAA Ed.D. students - check with your program about the deadline for dissertation submission. 

Friday, Aug 5 - PROFESSIONAL TRAVEL GRANT
Application submission deadline.

Wednesday, Aug 31 - GRADUATE EDUCATION SUMMIT
3310 Union, Networking 2:30-3 pm; Programming 3:00-4 pm

Thursday, Sep 9 - PROFESSIONAL TRAVEL GRANT
Application submission deadline.

Friday, Sep 16 - GRADUATE FACULTY MEMBERSHIP
Application deadline. Due in Dean's office.

Friday, Sep 30 - GRADUATE FACULTY MEMBERSHIP
Applications approved by Deans, due to Graduate Education.

Friday, Oct 7 - PROFESSIONAL TRAVEL GRANT
Application submission deadline.

Friday, Oct 21 - RESEARCH, SERVICE, AND EDUCATIONAL LEADERSHIP (RSEL) FULL GRANT
Application submission deadline.

Tuesday, Nov 8 - "SAY IT IN 6" SCHOLARSHIP COMPETITION
Entry submission deadline.

Thursday, Nov 8 - Wednesday, Nov 16 - "SAY IT IN 6 " SCHOLARSHIP COMPETITION
People's Choice voting open.

Monday, Nov 21 - "SAY IT IN 6" SCHOLARSHIP COMPETITION
Announcement of winners via Graduate Education website.

Friday, Dec 9 - PROFESSIONAL TRAVEL GRANT
Application submission deadline.

Friday, Dec 9 - THESIS, PAPER, & PROJECT 
Recommended initial submission date for documents requiring Graduate & Extended Learning approval (for December graduation). SAA Ed.D. students - check with your program about the deadline for dissertation submission.

 

SPRING & SUMMER 2023

Friday, Feb 10 - GRADUATE FACULTY MEMBERSHIP
Application deadline. Due in Dean's office.

Wednesday, Feb 15 - 3 MINUTE GRAD PROJECT
Information & Prep Session (virtual event) 4:30-5:30 pm

Friday, Feb 17 - RESEARCH, SERVICE, AND EDUCATIONAL LEADERSHIP (RSEL) FULL GRANT
Application submission deadline.

Friday, Feb 17 - GRADUATE STUDENT ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS
Faculty nominations due.

Friday, Feb 17 - ROSANDICH THESIS AND DISSERTATION AWARDS
Faculty nominations due.

Wednesday, Feb 22 - 3 MINUTE GRAD PROJECT
Applications due.

Friday, Feb 24 - GRADUATE FACULTY MEMBERSHIP
Application deadline. Due in Dean's office.

Friday, Mar 3 - PROFESSIONAL TRAVEL GRANT
Application submission deadline.

Wednesday, Mar 22 - 3 MINUTE GRAD PROJECT
Live competition (open to the public) 6:00 pm.

Friday, Apr 28 - THESIS, PAPER, & PROJECT 
Recommended initial submission date for documents requiring Graduate & Extended Learning approval (for May graduation). SAA Ed.D. students - check with your program about the deadline for dissertation submission.

Friday, Apr 28 - RESEARCH, SERVICE, AND EDUCATIONAL LEADERSHIP (RSEL) GRANT
Final report submission deadline (for May graduation).

Friday, May 5 - UWL RESEARCH & CREATIVITY SYMPOSIUM
Student Union 

Friday, Aug 4 - PROFESSIONAL TRAVEL GRANT
Application submission deadline.

Friday, Aug 4 -THESIS, PAPER, & PROJECT 
Recommended initial submission date for documents requiring Graduate & Extended Learning approval (for August graduation). SAA Ed.D. students - check with your program about the deadline for dissertation submission.

Graduate Council meets at 10 am on the first and third Fridays of each month while classes are in session.
Meetings are held in person at UWL in 325 Graff Main Hall.

FALL 2022

Meeting Dates

  • Friday, September 16, 2022
  • Friday, October 7, 2022
  • Friday, October 21, 2022
  • Friday, November 4, 2022
  • Friday, November 18, 2022
  • Friday, December 2, 2022
SPRING & SUMMER 2023

Meeting Dates

  • Friday, February 3, 2023
  • Friday, February 17, 2023
  • Friday, March 3, 2023
  • Friday, March 24, 2023 (off schedule mtg)
  • Friday, April 7, 2023
  • Friday, April 21, 2023
  • Friday, May 5, 2021

Meeting agenda items for the Graduate Council must be submitted to the
Dean of Graduate & Extended Learning, Meredith Thomsen (mthomsen@uwlax.edu), at least one week prior to the meeting

Research, Service, & Educational Leadership - Full Grant 

FALL 2022

Proposal submission deadline:
Friday, October 21, 2022 (by 4:00 pm)

SPRING & SUMMER 2023

Proposal submission deadline:
Friday, February 17, 2023 (by 4:00 pm)

RSEL Mini Grant proposals are accepted at any time with our online submission process.

Graduate Student Professional Travel Grant

FALL 2022

Application deadlines:

  • Friday, August 5, 2022 (expected decision date: mid-August)
  • Friday, September 9, 2022 (expected decision date: mid-September)
  • Friday, October 7, 2022 (expected decision date: mid-October)
  • Friday, December 9, 2022 (expected decision date: mid-December)
SPRING & SUMMER 2023

Application deadlines:

  • Friday, March 3, 2023 (expected decision date: mid-March)
  • Friday, August 5, 2023 (expected decision date: mid-August)

Applications received after a particular due date will be considered in the next funding cycle.