Department Chair

Jocelyn Newton  Profile of Jocelyn Newton  Meet with me

Professor
335A Graff Main Hall
jnewton@uwlax.edu
608.785.6889

Specialty areas:

School Psychology; Assessment; Early Childhood Assessment and Intervention; Child & Adolescent Psychopathology

Associate Chair

Bianca Basten  Profile of Bianca Basten  Office hours

Assistant Professor
349B Graff Main Hall
bbasten@uwlax.edu
608.785.6898

Academic Department Associate

Jane Fredrick  Profile of Jane Fredrick  Office hours

Academic Department Associate
335 Graff Main Hall
jfredrick@uwlax.edu
608.785.8440

School Psychology Program Assistant

Taylor Wirkus  Profile of Taylor Wirkus  Office hours

Administrative Assistant II
347 Graff Main Hall
twirkus2@uwlax.edu
608.785.8441

Full-Time Faculty

Bianca Basten  Profile of Bianca Basten  Office hours

Assistant Professor
349B Graff Main Hall
bbasten@uwlax.edu
608.785.6898

Specialty areas:

Cognitive Psychology (eyewitness memory; source memory)
Experimental design and statistics

Tracie Blumentritt  Profile of Tracie Blumentritt

Professor
341C Graff Main Hall
tblumentritt@uwlax.edu
608.785.6883

Specialty areas:

Developmental & Educational Psychology

Psychometrics

Behavior Genetics

Melanie Cary  Profile of Melanie Cary  Office hours

Associate Professor
335C Graff Main Hall
mcary@uwlax.edu
608.785.6884

Specialty areas:

Cognitive Psychology (strategy selection, problem solving, memory aids)

Grace Deason  Profile of Grace Deason

Associate Professor
335B Graff Main Hall
gdeason@uwlax.edu
608.785.8442

Specialty areas:

Social Psychology (political psychology, gender)
Robert Dixon  Profile of Robert Dixon  Meet with me

Associate Professor
331F Graff Main Hall
rdixon@uwlax.edu
608.785.6893

Specialty areas:

School Psychology, Response to Intervention (RtI), Multi-Tiered System of Supports (MTSS), Online Service Delivery

To arrange a meeting, please use the following link

     Psychology Office Hours (349A GMH): LINK

Berna Gercek Swing  Profile of Berna Gercek Swing  Office hours

Assistant Professor
341M Graff Main Hall
bgercekswing@uwlax.edu
608.785.5236

Specialty areas:

Social and Cross-cultural Psychology (self-construal, honor/dignity and self-esteem)

Eric Hiris  Profile of Eric Hiris  Office hours

Professor
341H Graff Main Hall
ehiris@uwlax.edu
608.785.6906

Specialty areas:

Cognition and Perception

Daniel Hyson  Profile of Daniel Hyson

Associate Professor
349A Graff Main Hall
dhyson@uwlax.edu
608.785.8444

Specialty areas:

Equity-Minded Teaching

School Psychology (especially Teacher-Student Relationships, Alternative Approaches to Working with Behaviorally Challenging Students, Systems-Level Data-Driven Decision Making)

Katherine Kortenkamp  Profile of Katherine Kortenkamp  Office hours

Associate Professor
341L Graff Main Hall
kkortenkamp@uwlax.edu
608.785.8445

Specialty areas:

Psychology of Environmental Issues

Research Methods & Statistics

Tesia Marshik  Profile of Tesia Marshik

Associate Professor
341G Graff Main Hall
tmarshik@uwlax.edu
608.785.8625

Specialty areas:

Developmental and Educational Psychology (motivation, self-regulation, and teacher-student relationships)

Ryan McKelley  Profile of Ryan McKelley  Meet with me  Office hours

Professor
341D Graff Main Hall
rmckelley@uwlax.edu
608.785.6879

Specialty areas:

Clinical/counseling psychology; men and masculinities; health psychology (stress, resilience; biofeedback; sleep); behavior modification; group counseling

Jocelyn Newton  Profile of Jocelyn Newton  Meet with me

Professor
335A Graff Main Hall
jnewton@uwlax.edu
608.785.6889

Specialty areas:

School Psychology; Assessment; Early Childhood Assessment and Intervention; Child & Adolescent Psychopathology

Alexander O'Brien  Profile of Alexander O'Brien  Office hours

Associate Professor
341P Graff Main Hall
aobrien@uwlax.edu
608.785.6886

Specialty areas:

Visual and auditory perception, Research methods, Teaching methods, Memory

Alessandro Quartiroli  Profile of Alessandro Quartiroli  Meet with me  Office hours

Professor
331G Graff Main Hall
aquartiroli@uwlax.edu
608.785.6897

Specialty areas:

Sport and Exercise Psychology & Counseling (professional, educational, and ethical issues in SEP; the psychology of physical activity and health behaviors, psycho-socio-cultural aspects related to sport and physical activity participation)

Ellen Rozek  Profile of Ellen Rozek  Office hours

Associate Professor
341E Graff Main Hall
erozek@uwlax.edu
608.785.6899

Specialty areas:

Cognitive Aging (Gerontology, Cognitive Psychology, Neuropsychology)

Ruth Schumacher-Martinez  Profile of Ruth Schumacher-Martinez

Assistant Professor
341K Graff Main Hall
rschumacher-martinez@uwlax.edu
608.785.6904

Specialty areas:

Racial Justice

Disability Justice

Neurodiversity 

Autism

Special Education Law

Crisis Intervention

Counseling Individuals with Disabilities 

Social-Emotional-Behavioral Regulation and Coping Skill Development 

Erica Srinivasan  Profile of Erica Srinivasan

Associate Professor
341B Graff Main Hall
esrinivasan@uwlax.edu
608.785.6882

Specialty areas:

Developmental Psychology, Gerontology and Thanatology (disenfranchised grief, ambiguous loss, aid-in-dying, Grief & COVID-19, end of life issues, writing tools for grief, intergenerational relationships, gerontology, dementia)

Jason Sumontha  Profile of Jason Sumontha  Meet with me  Office hours

Assistant Professor
331E Graff Main Hall
jsumontha@uwlax.edu
608.785.5239

Specialty areas:

Developmental and Community Psychology; sexual orientation and gender diversity; parenting; socialization; child development; LGBTQ+ families; family processes; resilience

Tanvi Thakkar  Profile of Tanvi Thakkar

Lecturer
331A Graff Main Hall
tthakkar@uwlax.edu
608.785.5235

Specialty areas:

Cochlear Implants; Psychoacoustics; Binaural Hearing

Casey Tobin  Profile of Casey Tobin  Meet with me  Office hours

Associate Professor
341J Graff Main Hall
ctobin@uwlax.edu
608.785.6890

Specialty areas:

Clinical/Counseling Psychology; Child Abuse and Neglect; Sexuality (attitudes and experiences); Sexual Health; Sexual Abuse; Internship and Fieldwork Experiences

Suthakaran Veerasamy  Profile of Suthakaran Veerasamy

Assistant Professor
331D Graff Main Hall
sveerasamy@uwlax.edu
608.785.6887

Specialty areas:

Counseling Psychology (racial identity, religious identity, multicultural education)

Kevin Zabel  Profile of Kevin Zabel  Office hours

Assistant Professor
341A Graff Main Hall
kzabel@uwlax.edu
608.785.6896

Specialty areas:

Social Psychology

Social Cognition

 

Part-Time Faculty

Patrick Barlow  Profile of Patrick Barlow

University Assessment Coordinator
227 Graff Main Hall
pbarlow@uwlax.edu
608.785.6867

Specialty areas:

Learning Outcomes Assessment, Positive Psychology, Test/Survey Construction and Analysis, Program Evaluation