Department Chair

Laurie Harmon  Profile of Laurie Harmon  Office hours

Professor
2044 Health Science Center
lharmon@uwlax.edu
608.785.8213

Specialty areas:

My primary areas of research are social-psychological outcomes of nature-based recreation including how we come to know and get connected to places, technology and the outdoors, and the scholarship of teaching & learning.  I particularly enjoy the work I do using underwater remotely operated vehicles (ROVs) to get youth and adults connected to aquatic environments.

Academic Department Associate

Janet Craig  Profile of Janet Craig

Academic Department Associate
2038 Health Science Center
jcraig@uwlax.edu
608.785.8207

Department People

Tara Delong  Profile of Tara Delong

Rec Mgmt & Therapeutic Rec
Associate Teaching Professor
tdelong@uwlax.edu

Specialty areas:

Mental Health, Health education, capacity building, group facilitation, trauma informed care, and cultural humility

Katherine Evans  Profile of Katherine Evans

Rec Mgmt & Therapeutic Rec
Associate Professor
kevans@uwlax.edu

Laurie Harmon  Profile of Laurie Harmon

Rec Mgmt & Therapeutic Rec
Professor
lharmon@uwlax.edu

Specialty areas:

My primary areas of research are social-psychological outcomes of nature-based recreation including how we come to know and get connected to places, technology and the outdoors, and the scholarship of teaching & learning.  I particularly enjoy the work I do using underwater remotely operated vehicles (ROVs) to get youth and adults connected to aquatic environments.

Namyun Kil  Profile of Namyun Kil

Rec Mgmt & Therapeutic Rec
Assistant Professor
nkil@uwlax.edu

Lindsey Kirschbaum  Profile of Lindsey Kirschbaum

Rec Mgmt & Therapeutic Rec
Assistant Teaching Professor
lkirschbaum@uwlax.edu

Specialty areas:

Developmental/Physical Disabilities, Sensory Integration, Assistive Technology/Adaptive Equipment, Sibling Support

Brian Kumm-Schaley  Profile of Brian Kumm-Schaley

Rec Mgmt & Therapeutic Rec
Associate Professor
bkumm-schaley@uwlax.edu

Specialty areas:

*     Community Recreation and Social Belonging

*     Leisure and Culture

*     Theories of Affect

*     Qualitative and Postqualitative Inquiry

*     Deleuze & Deleuzian approaches to research and leisure

W. Thomas Means  Profile of W. Thomas Means

Rec Mgmt & Therapeutic Rec
Assistant Professor
wmeans@uwlax.edu

Specialty areas:

-Philosophy of Science, Paradigms, and Epistemological Anarchy

-Constructive Developmental Theory

-Meaning Making and Leisure

-Developmental Disability and Camp

Daniel Plunkett  Profile of Daniel Plunkett

Rec Mgmt & Therapeutic Rec
Associate Professor
dplunkett@uwlax.edu

Specialty areas:

Outdoor recreation, tourism, place attachment, social media use in recreation/tourism

Lisa Savarese  Profile of Lisa Savarese

Rec Mgmt & Therapeutic Rec
Associate Teaching Professor
lsavarese@uwlax.edu

Specialty areas:

Adapted sports and therapeutic recreation

Jennifer Taylor  Profile of Jennifer Taylor

Rec Mgmt & Therapeutic Rec
Assistant Professor
jtaylor@uwlax.edu

Daniel Widuch  Profile of Daniel Widuch

Rec Mgmt & Therapeutic Rec
Teaching Professor
dwiduch@uwlax.edu

RMTR Faculty Paddle Boarding & Kayaking at Fall Retreat

RMTR Faculty on paddle boards at summer retreat