Department Chair

Laurie Harmon Profile of Laurie Harmon Office hours
Associate Professor
2044 Health Science Center
lharmon@uwlax.edu
608.785.8213
Specialty areas:

My primary areas of research are social-psychological outcomes of nature-based recreation including how we come to know and get connected to places, technology and the outdoors, and the scholarship of teaching & learning.

Academic Department Associate

Janet Craig Profile of Janet Craig
Academic Department Associate
2038 Health Science Center
jcraig@uwlax.edu
608.785.8207

Department People

Tara Delong Profile of Tara Delong Office hours
Associate Lecturer
2041 Health Science Center
tdelong@uwlax.edu
608.785.8203
Specialty areas:

Mental Health, Health education, capacity building, group facilitation, trauma informed care, and cultural humility

Jon Evans Profile of Jon Evans
Associate Lecturer
2036 Health Science Center
jevans@uwlax.edu
608.785.8209
Laurie Harmon Profile of Laurie Harmon Office hours
Associate Professor
2044 Health Science Center
lharmon@uwlax.edu
608.785.8213
Specialty areas:

My primary areas of research are social-psychological outcomes of nature-based recreation including how we come to know and get connected to places, technology and the outdoors, and the scholarship of teaching & learning.

Namyun Kil Profile of Namyun Kil
Assistant Professor
2042 Health Science Center
nkil@uwlax.edu
608.785.8214
Specialty areas:

Evidence-based therapeutic interventions (e.g., nature and forest therapy, ecotherapy, mindfulness); Interactions between humans and the environment (e.g., place attachment, place meanings, community attachment); Health and well-being (e.g., behavioral, mental, emotional); Measurement and evaluation in therapeutic recreation; GIS applications to community integration/inclusion, health promotion, and recreation resource planning and management

Lindsey Kirschbaum Profile of Lindsey Kirschbaum
Associate Lecturer
2041 Health Science Center
lkirschbaum@uwlax.edu
608.785.8217
Specialty areas:

Developmental/Physical Disabilities, Sensory Integration, Assistive Technology/Adaptive Equipment, Sibling Support

Brian Kumm-Schaley Profile of Brian Kumm-Schaley
Assistant Professor
2049 Health Science Center
bkumm-schaley@uwlax.edu
608.785.8212
Specialty areas:

*     Leisure and personal experience

*     Affect and impersonal experience

*     Leisure and culture

*     Qualitative and postqualitative inquiry

*     Politics of leisure

*     Deleuze & Deleuzian approaches to leisure

Susan Murray Profile of Susan Murray
Faculty/Emeritus
smurray@uwlax.edu

Specialty areas: Pediatric practice in Child LIfe and Therapeutic Recreation; PLAY, journaling, sibling support, and bereavement support as psychosocial interventions; the scholarship of teaching and learning (SOTL)
Gretchen Newhouse Profile of Gretchen Newhouse
Associate Professor
2047 Health Science Center
gnewhouse@uwlax.edu
608.785.8209
Specialty areas:

constraints to outdoor recreation for individuals with larger bodies, experiential education, international travel, and career development

Daniel Plunkett Profile of Daniel Plunkett Office hours
Assistant Professor
2043 Health Science Center
dplunkett@uwlax.edu
608.785.8204
Specialty areas:

Outdoor recreation, tourism, place attachment, social media and recreation/tourism

Nancy Richeson Profile of Nancy Richeson
Associate Professor
2030 Health Science Center
nricheson@uwlax.edu
608.785.8205
Specialty areas: Non-drug approaches to care for older adults; Complementary and Alternative Approaches to Health Care; Evidence-Based Practice in Recreational Therapy
Lisa Savarese Profile of Lisa Savarese Office hours
Lecturer
2046 Health Science Center
lsavarese@uwlax.edu
608.785.8202
Specialty areas:

Adapted recreation and sports; leisure across the lifespan

RMTR Faculty Paddle Boarding & Kayaking at Fall Retreat

RMTR Faculty on paddle boards at summer retreat