Due to COVID-19, our physical office is closed. However, all classes will be held online and instructors and staff are working remotely. We recommend email or Canvas to reach instructors and email or phone for departmental business.

Visit the University's COVID-19 Response page

Department Chair

Jodi Vandenberg-Daves  Profile of Jodi Vandenberg-Daves

Professor
4302 Centennial Hall
jvandenberg-daves@uwlax.edu
608.785.8346

Specialty areas:

women's history, social and cultural history, history of motherhood, women's leadership

Academic Department Associate

Laura Garves  Profile of Laura Garves  Office hours

Academic Department Associate
4300 Centennial Hall
lgarves@uwlax.edu
608.785.8357

Department faculty

Andrea Hansen  Profile of Andrea Hansen

Director of Self-Sufficiency Prgm
4306 Centennial Hall
ahansen@uwlax.edu
608.785.8733

Mahruq Khan  Profile of Mahruq Khan

Associate Professor
4307 Centennial Hall
mkhan@uwlax.edu
608.785.8351

Specialty areas:

Sociology of Gender, LGBT Studies,  Gender & Work

Jodi Vandenberg-Daves  Profile of Jodi Vandenberg-Daves

Professor
4302 Centennial Hall
jvandenberg-daves@uwlax.edu
608.785.8346

Specialty areas:

women's history, social and cultural history, history of motherhood, women's leadership

Affiliated faculty - Art

Affiliated faculty - Communication Studies

Beth Boser  Profile of Beth Boser  Office hours

Assistant Professor
4225 Centennial Hall
bboser@uwlax.edu
608.785.6702

Specialty areas:

Public Communication and Advocacy, Media Studies, Gender and Feminism

Dena Huisman  Profile of Dena Huisman  Office hours

Associate Professor
4214 Centennial Hall
dhuisman@uwlax.edu
608.785.8367

Specialty areas:

Communication and Identity, Grief and Social Support Communication, Family Communication, Gender Communication

Sara Docan-Morgan  Profile of Sara Docan-Morgan

Professor
4229 Centennial Hall
sdocan-morgan@uwlax.edu
608.785.6711

Specialty areas:

interpersonal communication, family communication, Korean adoptees, race and culture

Affiliated faculty - Economics

Lisa Giddings  Profile of Lisa Giddings

Associate Professor
403X Wimberly Hall
lgiddings@uwlax.edu
608.785.5297

Specialty areas:

Labor Economics, Transition Economies, Sports Economics and Economics of the Family with a focus on Same-Sex Households

Michael Haupert  Profile of Michael Haupert

Professor
403V Wimberly Hall
mhaupert@uwlax.edu
608.785.6863

Specialty areas:

economic history, economics of sports and entertainment

Affiliated faculty - English

Susan Crutchfield  Profile of Susan Crutchfield  Office hours

Associate Professor
425T Wimberly Hall
scrutchfield@uwlax.edu
608.785.6943

Specialty areas:

Film Studies and Film Theory; Literature by Women; Drama; Disability Studies; The Woman's Film and Feminist Film Theory; Adaptation Theory

Lalita Hogan  Profile of Lalita Hogan  Office hours

Faculty/Emeritus

lhogan@uwlax.edu

Specialty areas:

Shakespeare, Rabindranath Tagore, Critical Theory, Cognitive Approaches to Literature, Emotion Studies, Indian Cinema, Indian Literature, Adaptation Studies, International Literature.

Kate Parker  Profile of Kate Parker

Associate Professor
426C Wimberly Hall
kparker@uwlax.edu
608.785.8304

Specialty areas:

Restoration and Eighteenth-century European literature and culture; gender and sexuality studies

I am also a co-editor (with Miriam Wallace) of a book series in eighteenth-century literature and culture, published by Bucknell University Press with Rutgers University Press.

Affiliated faculty - Health Education

Keely Rees  Profile of Keely Rees

Professor
217 Mitchell Hall
krees@uwlax.edu
608.785.8168

Specialty areas:

Women’s Health (pregnancy, exercise, maternal & child health, menstruation) Adolescent Health Behaviors; Health Policy and Advocacy; Motivational Interviewing, Grant Writing in Health and Human Services. 

Kate Noelke  Profile of Kate Noelke

Associate Lecturer
124 Mitchell Hall
knoelke2@uwlax.edu

Specialty areas:

Public Health and Community Health Education

Affiliated faculty - History

Mark Chavalas  Profile of Mark Chavalas  Office hours

Professor
403D Wimberly Hall
mchavalas@uwlax.edu
608.785.8360

Specialty areas:

Ancient Near East, Classical, Biblical, archaeology

Gita Pai  Profile of Gita Pai

Associate Professor
403L Wimberly Hall
gpai@uwlax.edu
608.785.8352

Specialty areas:

regional and transnational history of South Asia; South Asian diaspora in the U.S.; religion and politics; material and visual culture; gender; anglophone South Asian literature

Víctor Macías-González  Profile of Víctor Macías-González  Office hours

Professor
403J Wimberly Hall
vmacias-gonzalez@uwlax.edu
608.785.8349

Specialty areas:

Latin American, Mexican, Latinx histories and history of gender and sexuality.  Focus on nineteenth-century Mexico, especially the Porfiriato (1876-1911). Interests include diplomacy, transnational migration, Mexican diaspora, consumption and material culture, masculinity, Latin@s in the Midwest, the homophile movement, and LGBTQ history of the Midwest.

Heidi Morrison  Profile of Heidi Morrison

Associate Professor
403N Wimberly Hall
hmorrison@uwlax.edu
608.785.8345

Specialty areas:

Modern Middle East History

History of Childhood

Oral History

 

Affiliated faculty - Microbiology

Bonnie Bratina  Profile of Bonnie Bratina

Associate Professor
3029 Cowley Hall
bbratina@uwlax.edu
608.785.6994

Specialty areas:

Microbial ecology, Aquatic microbiology, Biogeochemistry

Affiliated faculty - Philosophy

Sheryl Tuttle Ross  Profile of Sheryl Tuttle Ross

Professor
4111 Centennial Hall
stuttleross@uwlax.edu
608.785.8427

Specialty areas:

Philosophy of Art, Philosophy and Film, Feminist Philosophy, Social and Political Philosophy, Ethics

Affiliated faculty - Political Science and Public Administration

Affiliated faculty - Pride Center

Willem Vanroosenbeek  Profile of Willem Vanroosenbeek

Director of LGBTQA Services
2214 Student Union
wvanroosenbeek@uwlax.edu
608.785.8887

Specialty areas:

Director of LGBTQA Services & Programs

Affiliated faculty - Psychology

Grace Deason  Profile of Grace Deason

Associate Professor
335B Graff Main Hall
gdeason@uwlax.edu
608.785.8442

Specialty areas:

Social Psychology (political psychology, gender)
Berna Gercek Swing  Profile of Berna Gercek Swing  Office hours

Assistant Professor
341A Graff Main Hall
bgercekswing@uwlax.edu
608.785.5236

Specialty areas:

Social and Cross-cultural Psychology (self-construal, honor/dignity and self-esteem)

Ryan McKelley  Profile of Ryan McKelley  Meet with me  Office hours

Professor
341D Graff Main Hall
rmckelley@uwlax.edu
608.785.6879

Specialty areas:

Clinical/counseling psychology; men and masculinities; health psychology (stress, resilience; biofeedback; sleep); behavior modification; group counseling

Betsy Morgan  Profile of Betsy Morgan

Provost and Vice Chancellor
227 Graff Main Hall
bmorgan@uwlax.edu
608.785.8042

Specialty areas:

Social and Gender Psychology (attitudes, gender socialization, psychology as a major)

Provosting stuff

Casey Tobin  Profile of Casey Tobin  Meet with me  Office hours

Associate Professor
341J Graff Main Hall
ctobin@uwlax.edu
608.785.6890

Specialty areas:

Clinical/counseling psychology; Child Abuse and Neglect; Sexuality (attitudes and experiences); Sexual Health; Sexual Abuse; Internship and Fieldwork experiences

Affiliated faculty - Sociology and Anthropology

Laurie Cooper Stoll  Profile of Laurie Cooper Stoll  Office hours

Professor
437H Wimberly Hall
lcstoll@uwlax.edu
608.785.8664

Specialty areas:

Social Inequalities in Education, Gendered Violence, and Fat Studies

Enilda Delgado  Profile of Enilda Delgado  Meet with me  Office hours

Professor
437B Wimberly Hall
edelgado@uwlax.edu
608.785.6776

Specialty areas:

Demography, Social Stratification, Social Statistics and Quantitative Research Methods

Carol Miller  Profile of Carol Miller  Office hours

Professor
437D Wimberly Hall
cmiller@uwlax.edu
608.785.6777

Specialty areas:

global issues, gender, policy, family, rural/urban communities

Elizabeth Peacock  Profile of Elizabeth Peacock  Office hours

Associate Professor
432B Wimberly Hall
epeacock@uwlax.edu
608.785.6780

Specialty areas:

Sociolinguistics, youth identity and belonging, Eastern Europe, postsocialist societies, global communication, diasporas and homelands

Justine Egner  Profile of Justine Egner  Office hours

Assistant Professor
437 Wimberly Hall
jegner@uwlax.edu
608.785.6781

Specialty areas:

 Disability; Medical Sociology, Health, & Illness; Gender & Sexualities; Intersectionality, Queer & Crip Theories; Technologies & Virtual Spaces.

Emeritus

Elise Denlinger, Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
Peg Doesch, Health Education
Deborah Hoskins, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
Judith Green, English
Sandi Krajewski, Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
James Parker, History
Bets Reedy, Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
Joan Yateman, English