University of Wisconsin-La Crosse | uwlax.edu

Womens Gender and Sexuality Studies

Expand page menu
Skip to page menu

Our people

Department Chair

Deborah Hoskins Profile
Associate Professor
4302 Centennial Hall
dhoskins@uwlax.edu
608.785.8734
Specialty areas: CATL Inclusive Excellence Coordinator. Research interests in African American and African American women's history; LGBTQ studies; diversity issues in higher education.
Office hours: Fall 2015: M-W 9- 10 AM, or by appointment; email is the best way to reach me,

Academic Department Associate

Kathy Thoen Profile
Academic Department Associate
4300 Centennial Hall
kthoen@uwlax.edu
608.785.8357
Office hours: WGSS (4300 Centennial) - 7:45 a.m. to 11:45 a.m. and ERS (224 Wimberly Hall) - 12:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Department people

Elise Denlinger Profile
Senior Lecturer
4308 Centennial Hall
edenlinger@uwlax.edu
608.785.8728
Office hours: Mondays and Wednesdays, 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m., and 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Andrea Hansen Profile
Outreach Program Manager I
4306 Centennial Hall
ahansen@uwlax.edu
608.785.8733
Christina Haynes Profile
Assistant Professor
4305 Centennial Hall
chaynes@uwlax.edu
608.785.8356
Specialty areas: African American women, Black Feminist Thought, Academic Achievement, Feminist Geography
Office hours: Monday: 11:00-12:00 and 1:00-2:00, Tuesday 12:30-1:30 and Thursday 12:30-1:30
Deborah Hoskins Profile
Associate Professor
4302 Centennial Hall
dhoskins@uwlax.edu
608.785.8734
Specialty areas: CATL Inclusive Excellence Coordinator. Research interests in African American and African American women's history; LGBTQ studies; diversity issues in higher education.
Office hours: Fall 2015: M-W 9- 10 AM, or by appointment; email is the best way to reach me,
Mahruq Khan Profile
Associate Professor
4310 Centennial Hall
mkhan@uwlax.edu
608.785.8351
Terry Lilley Profile
Assistant Professor
4304 Centennial Hall
tlilley@uwlax.edu
608.785.8737
Office hours: Tuesdays and Thursdays, 11 am to 1 pm
Jodi Vandenberg-Daves Profile
Professor
4307 Centennial Hall
jvandenberg-daves@uwlax.edu
608.785.8346
Specialty areas: women's history, social and cultural history, history of motherhood, women's leadership
Office hours: Mondays, 1:00-2:00, Wednesdays, 11:00-11:45 and by appointment

Affiliated faculty - Art

Jennifer Terpstra Profile
Professor
113 Center For The Arts
jterpstra@uwlax.edu
608.785.8233
Specialty areas: Painting, Printmaking, Drawing
Office hours: Mondays & Wednesdays 2:15-3:00, Tuesdays & Thursdays 8:25-9:25 and Tuesdays 2:30-3:00

Affiliated faculty - Communication Studies

Charissa Niedzwiecki Profile
Associate Professor
4215 Centennial Hall
cniedzwiecki@uwlax.edu
608.785.6712
Specialty areas: Family, Health, Interpersonal and Media
Dena Huisman Profile
Associate Professor
4214 Centennial Hall
dhuisman@uwlax.edu
608.785.8367
Specialty areas:

Communication and Identity, Grief Communication, Family Communication


Office hours:

Tuesdays 1-3; Thursdays 10-11; by appointment

Affiliated faculty - Economics

Donna Anderson Profile
Professor
339C Wimberly Hall
danderson3@uwlax.edu
608.785.6864
Specialty areas: Status of Women in the U.S. Economy; Environmental Economics; Business Sustainability; Title IX
Office hours: Wednesdays 9am-Noon and by appointment
Lisa Giddings Profile
Associate Professor
403X Wimberly Hall
lgiddings@uwlax.edu
608.785.5297
Specialty areas: Labor Economics, Transition Economies, Sports Economics and Economics of the Family with a focus on Same-Sex Households
Office hours: My office hours for the Fall Semesters are from 10:00 to 11:00 a.m. on Tuesdays and Thursdays and on Wednesdays from 9:30 to noon. I may have to reschedule the Wednesday office hours to Friday on occasion but will be very clear and let you know when this may be necessary. If these times are inconvenient for you, please call or leave me an email to make an appointment.

Affiliated faculty - English

Susan Crutchfield Profile
Associate Professor
425T Wimberly Hall
scrutchfield@uwlax.edu
608.785.6943
Specialty areas: Film Studies and Film Theory, Disability Studies, The Woman's Film and Feminist Film Theory; Literature by Women, Adaptation Theory
Office hours: Spring 2016: MW 10:30-noon online and in 425T CWH; F 10:30-noon online only; T 2:25-3:25 online and in 425T CWH
Lalita Hogan Profile
Professor
425J Wimberly Hall
lhogan@uwlax.edu
608.785.6946
Specialty areas: Shakespeare, Rabindranath Tagore, Critical Theory, Cognitive Approaches to Literature, Emotion Studies, Indian Cinema, Indian Literature, Adaptation Studies, International Literature.
Office hours: T. Th 10:00 to 11:00 and Wed. 5:30 to 6:30 Also by appointment

Affiliated faculty - Health Education

Keely Rees Profile
Professor
217 Mitchell Hall
krees@uwlax.edu
608.785.8168
Specialty areas: Women’s Health (pregnancy, exercise, maternal & child health) Adolescent Health Behaviors; Nutrition Education; Foundations of Health Education.
Marcie Wycoff-Horn Profile
Dean
145 Graff Main Hall
mwycoff-horn@uwlax.edu
608.785.6786

Affiliated faculty - History

Mark Chavalas Profile
Professor
403D Wimberly Hall
mchavalas@uwlax.edu
608.785.8360
Specialty areas:

Ancient Near East, Classical, Biblical, archaeology


Office hours:

Fall T-TH 9:25-10:50, 1:45-2:10, 3:45-4:30 and by appt.

Marti Lybeck Profile
Assistant Professor
403B Wimberly Hall
mlybeck@uwlax.edu
608.785.8347
Specialty areas: Gender and Sexuality, Modern Europe, 19th and 20th Century Germany
Office hours: Tuesday 1:30-3:30, Friday 9:30-10:30
Gita Pai Profile
Assistant Professor
403M Wimberly Hall
gpai@uwlax.edu
608.785.8352
Specialty areas:

History of early modern to contemporary South Asia


Office hours:

On leave until August 2017

Víctor Macías-González Profile
Professor
403J Wimberly Hall
vmacias-gonzalez@uwlax.edu
608.785.8349
Specialty areas:

Latin American, Mexican, Latina/o, and Gender and Sexuality History. Focus on nineteenth-century Mexico, especially the Porfiriato (1876-1911). Interests include diplomacy, transnational migration, Mexican communities abroad (London, Paris, Chicago), Mexican-British relations in the Victorian Age, consumption and material culture, masculinity, Latin@s in the Midwest, and the homophile movement.


Office hours:

Hours reserved for current students and advisees: Tuesdays, 2:15-3:30 PM; Wednesdays 10-11 AM, and Thursdays, 10-10:40 AM. Other hours by appointment.

Affiliated faculty - Microbiology

Bonnie Bratina Profile
Associate Professor
3029 Cowley Hall
bbratina@uwlax.edu
608.785.6994
Specialty areas: Microbial ecology, Aquatic microbiology, Biogeochemistry

Affiliated faculty - Philosophy

Sharon Scherwitz Profile
Assistant Professor
4109 Centennial Hall
sscherwitz@uwlax.edu
608.785.8425

Affiliated faculty - Political Science and Public Administration

Cecilia Manrique Profile
Professor
425H Wimberly Hall
cmanrique@uwlax.edu
608.785.6642
Specialty areas: Developing Areas (Asia, Africa, Latin America and the Middle East); Women and Politics; Immigration; Computer in the Political Science Classroom

Affiliated faculty - Pyschology

Betsy Morgan Profile
Provost and Vice Chancellor
227 Graff Main Hall
bmorgan@uwlax.edu
608.785.8042
Specialty areas: Social and Gender Psychology (attitudes, gender socialization, psychology as a major)

Affiliated faculty - Sociology and Anthropology

Enilda Delgado Profile
Professor
437B Wimberly Hall
edelgado@uwlax.edu
608.785.6776
Specialty areas: Demography, Social Stratification, Social Statistics and Quantitative Research Methods
Office hours: Spring 2016: Mondays and Wednesdays 10:00-11:00 a.m. and by appointment
Carol Miller Profile
Professor
437D Wimberly Hall
cmiller@uwlax.edu
608.785.6777
Specialty areas: global issues, gender, policy, family, rural/urban communities