Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Expand page menu
Skip to page menu

Department Chair

Jodi Vandenberg-Daves Profile of Jodi Vandenberg-Daves
Professor
4302 Centennial Hall
jvandenberg-daves@uwlax.edu
608.785.8346
Specialty areas: women's history, social and cultural history, history of motherhood, women's leadership

Academic Department Associate

Kathy Thoen Profile of Kathy Thoen
Academic Department Associate
4300 Centennial Hall
kthoen@uwlax.edu
608.785.8357
Specialty areas:

Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Department (7:45-11:45 a.m.)
4300 Centennial Hall
Phone: 608.785.8357
Email: kthoen@uwlax.edu

Ethnic and Racial Studies Department (12:30-4:30 p.m.)
224 Wimberly Hall
Phone: 608.785.8223
Email: kthoen@uwlax.edu

Department people

Andrea Hansen Profile of Andrea Hansen
Outreach Program Manager I
4306 Centennial Hall
ahansen@uwlax.edu
608.785.8733
Christina Haynes Profile of Christina Haynes
Assistant Professor
4305 Centennial Hall
chaynes@uwlax.edu
608.785.8356
Specialty areas: African American women, Black Feminist Thought, Academic Achievement, Feminist Geography
Deborah Hoskins Profile of Deborah Hoskins Office hours
Associate Professor
4307 Centennial Hall
dhoskins@uwlax.edu
608.785.8734
Specialty areas:

CATL Inclusive Excellence Coordinator. Research interests in African American and African American women's history; LGBTQ studies; diversity issues in higher education.

Mahruq Khan Profile of Mahruq Khan
Associate Professor
4310 Centennial Hall
mkhan@uwlax.edu
608.785.8351
Specialty areas:

Sociology of Religion, Sociology of Gender, Islamophobia, Muslim-American women, LGBT Studies, Human Rights, Gender & Work

Terry Lilley Profile of Terry Lilley
Assistant Professor
4304 Centennial Hall
tlilley@uwlax.edu
608.785.8737
Diana Moran Thundercloud Profile of Diana Moran Thundercloud
Lecturer
4308 Centennial Hall
dmoranthundercloud@uwlax.edu
608.785.8728
Jodi Vandenberg-Daves Profile of Jodi Vandenberg-Daves
Professor
4302 Centennial Hall
jvandenberg-daves@uwlax.edu
608.785.8346
Specialty areas: women's history, social and cultural history, history of motherhood, women's leadership

Affiliated faculty - Art

Jennifer Terpstra Profile of Jennifer Terpstra
Professor
113 Center For The Arts
jterpstra@uwlax.edu
608.785.8233
Specialty areas: Painting, Printmaking, Drawing

Affiliated faculty - Communication Studies

Charissa Niedzwiecki Profile of Charissa Niedzwiecki
Associate Professor
4215 Centennial Hall
cniedzwiecki@uwlax.edu
608.785.6712
Specialty areas: Family, Health, Interpersonal and Media
Dena Huisman Profile of Dena Huisman Office hours
Associate Professor
4214 Centennial Hall
dhuisman@uwlax.edu
608.785.8367
Specialty areas:

Communication and Identity, Grief and Social Support Communication, Family Communication

Affiliated faculty - Economics

Donna Anderson Profile of Donna Anderson Office hours
Professor
339C Wimberly Hall
danderson3@uwlax.edu
608.785.6864
Specialty areas:

Status of Women in the U.S. Economy; Environmental Economics; Business Sustainability; Title IX

Lisa Giddings Profile of Lisa Giddings
Associate Professor
403X Wimberly Hall
lgiddings@uwlax.edu
608.785.5297
Specialty areas:

Labor Economics, Transition Economies, Sports Economics and Economics of the Family with a focus on Same-Sex Households

Affiliated faculty - English

Susan Crutchfield Profile of Susan Crutchfield
Associate Professor
425T Wimberly Hall
scrutchfield@uwlax.edu
608.785.6943
Specialty areas: Film Studies and Film Theory, Disability Studies, The Woman's Film and Feminist Film Theory; Literature by Women, Adaptation Theory
Lalita Hogan Profile of Lalita Hogan
Professor
425J Wimberly Hall
lhogan@uwlax.edu
608.785.6946
Specialty areas: Shakespeare, Rabindranath Tagore, Critical Theory, Cognitive Approaches to Literature, Emotion Studies, Indian Cinema, Indian Literature, Adaptation Studies, International Literature.

Affiliated faculty - Health Education

Keely Rees Profile of Keely Rees
Professor
217 Mitchell Hall
krees@uwlax.edu
608.785.8168
Specialty areas: Women’s Health (pregnancy, exercise, maternal & child health) Adolescent Health Behaviors; Nutrition Education; Foundations of Health Education.
Marcie Wycoff-Horn Profile of Marcie Wycoff-Horn
Dean
145 Graff Main Hall
mwycoff-horn@uwlax.edu
608.785.6786

Affiliated faculty - History

Mark Chavalas Profile of Mark Chavalas Office hours
Professor
403D Wimberly Hall
mchavalas@uwlax.edu
608.785.8360
Specialty areas:

Ancient Near East, Classical, Biblical, archaeology:  

 

links:  CV:

https://www.uwlax.edu/uploadedFiles/Academics/Departments /History/ChavalasVITA.pdf

Article on Faith and History:

https://www.uwlax.edu/uploadedFiles/Academics/Departments /History/chavalasJETS.pdf

Marti Lybeck Profile of Marti Lybeck
Assistant Professor
403B Wimberly Hall
mlybeck@uwlax.edu
608.785.8347
Specialty areas: Gender and Sexuality, Modern Europe, 19th and 20th Century Germany
Gita Pai Profile of Gita Pai Office hours
Associate Professor
403L Wimberly Hall
gpai@uwlax.edu
608.785.8352
Specialty areas:

History of early modern to contemporary South Asia

Víctor Macías-González Profile of Víctor Macías-González Office hours
Professor
403J Wimberly Hall
vmacias-gonzalez@uwlax.edu
608.785.8349
Specialty areas:

Latin American, Mexican, Latina/o, and Gender and Sexuality, and Cultural history.  Focus on nineteenth-century Mexico, especially the Porfiriato (1876-1911). Interests include diplomacy, transnational migration, Mexican diaspora, consumption and material culture, masculinity, Latin@s in the Midwest, and the homophile movement.

Affiliated faculty - Microbiology

Bonnie Bratina Profile of Bonnie Bratina
Associate Professor
3029 Cowley Hall
bbratina@uwlax.edu
608.785.6994
Specialty areas:

Microbial ecology, Aquatic microbiology, Biogeochemistry

Affiliated faculty - Philosophy

Affiliated faculty - Political Science and Public Administration

Cecilia Manrique Profile of Cecilia Manrique
Professor
425H Wimberly Hall
cmanrique@uwlax.edu
608.785.6642
Specialty areas: Developing Areas (Asia, Africa, Latin America and the Middle East); Women and Politics; Immigration; Computer in the Political Science Classroom

Affiliated faculty - Psychology

Betsy Morgan Profile of Betsy Morgan
Provost and Vice Chancellor
227 Graff Main Hall
bmorgan@uwlax.edu
608.785.8042
Specialty areas:

Social and Gender Psychology (attitudes, gender socialization, psychology as a major)

Affiliated faculty - Sociology and Anthropology

Enilda Delgado Profile of Enilda Delgado Office hours
Professor
437B Wimberly Hall
edelgado@uwlax.edu
608.785.6776
Specialty areas:

Demography, Social Stratification, Social Statistics and Quantitative Research Methods

Carol Miller Profile of Carol Miller Office hours
Professor
437D Wimberly Hall
cmiller@uwlax.edu
608.785.6777
Specialty areas:

global issues, gender, policy, family, rural/urban communities

Emeritus

Elise Denlinger

Sandra “Sandi” Krajewski

Elizabeth “Bets” K. Reedy