Accessibility menu

Skip to main content Skip to footer

Department Chair

Linda Dickmeyer  Profile of Linda Dickmeyer

4210 Centennial Hall
ldickmeyer@uwlax.edu
608.785.6715

Specialty areas:

Interpersonal Communication, Instructional Communication, Undergraduate Research

Associate Department Chair

Beth Boser  Profile of Beth Boser

4225 Centennial Hall
bboser@uwlax.edu
608.785.6702

Specialty areas:

Public Communication and Advocacy, Media Studies, Gender and Feminism

Academic Department Associate

Department people

Brandon Anderson  Profile of Brandon Anderson

Assistant Professor
4217 Centennial Hall
banderson3@uwlax.edu
608.785.8716

Specialty areas:

Public Communication & Advocacy, Dialogue & Deliberation, Social Movement Discourse, Communication & Leadership, Public Memory & the Nuclear Public Sphere. 

I am the Basic Course Director for the General Education CST 110 Communicating Effectively course. 

Irene Awino  Profile of Irene Awino

Assistant Professor
4206 Centennial Hall
iawino@uwlax.edu

Specialty areas:

Media Studies

Global Media and Technology

International Affairs/News

Africa - News, Entertainment, Sports

Gender and Development

Journalism in the Global South - Critical Perspectives

Reparations, Affirmative Action, Migration, Human Rights

Beth Boser  Profile of Beth Boser

Associate Professor
4225 Centennial Hall
bboser@uwlax.edu
608.785.6702

Specialty areas:

Public Communication and Advocacy, Media Studies, Gender and Feminism

Jennifer Butler Modaff  Profile of Jennifer Butler Modaff

Associate Professor
4219 Centennial Hall
jbutlermodaff@uwlax.edu
608.785.6717

Specialty areas:

Organizational and Professional Communication

Linda Dickmeyer  Profile of Linda Dickmeyer

Professor
4210 Centennial Hall
ldickmeyer@uwlax.edu
608.785.6715

Specialty areas:

Interpersonal Communication, Instructional Communication, Undergraduate Research

Scott Dickmeyer  Profile of Scott Dickmeyer

Associate Professor
4215 Centennial Hall
sdickmeyer@uwlax.edu
608.785.8519

Specialty areas:

Organizational Communication, Organizational Culture, Training & Development and Consulting
Sara Docan-Morgan  Profile of Sara Docan-Morgan

Professor
4229 Centennial Hall
sdocan-morgan@uwlax.edu
608.785.6711

Specialty areas:

interpersonal communication, family communication, Korean adoptees, race and culture

Ashley Edwards  Profile of Ashley Edwards  Meet with me

Associate Professor
4310 Centennial Hall
aedwards@uwlax.edu
608.785.6723

Specialty areas:

Interpersonal communication, inclusive pedagogy, social support, leadership & professional communication, computer-mediated communication, culture, and teaching in a multimodal environment 

Darlene Geiger  Profile of Darlene Geiger  Meet with me

Advising Manager
2131 Centennial Hall
dgeiger@uwlax.edu
608.785.8537

Specialty areas:

Interpersonal and group communication, conflict management, grant writing, strategic planning, and precollege through first year student success.

Rick King Quale  Profile of Rick King Quale  Meet with me

Assistant Teaching Professor
4207 Centennial Hall
rkingquale@uwlax.edu
608.785.6705

Specialty areas:

Public Speaking, Small Group Communication, Organizational Communication

Kate Lavelle  Profile of Kate Lavelle

Professor
4209 Centennial Hall
klavelle@uwlax.edu
608.785.6698

Specialty areas:

public communication & advocacy, communication & sport, mental health & athletes, rhetoric of the WNBA

Ronda Leahy  Profile of Ronda Leahy

Professor
4212 Centennial Hall
rleahy@uwlax.edu
608.785.6724

Specialty areas:

Professional and Organizational Communication

Weixu Lu  Profile of Weixu Lu  Meet with me

Assistant Professor
4208 Centennial Hall
wlu@uwlax.edu
608.785.6712

Specialty areas:

Social media, mobile media, digital media use in complex social environments.

UWL colleagues and students: Feel free to message me on MS Teams.
Student appointments: Please use my YouCanBook.Me page to book appointments with me.

Taylor Cole Miller  Profile of Taylor Cole Miller  Meet with me

Assistant Professor
4227 Centennial Hall
tmiller3@uwlax.edu
608.785.8713

Specialty areas:

Television, Broadcast History, Media Policy, Feminist and Queer Media Studies, Syndication 

Daniel Modaff  Profile of Daniel Modaff

Associate Professor
4221 Centennial Hall
dmodaff@uwlax.edu
608.785.6716

Specialty areas:

Organizational Communication

Gregory Ormes  Profile of Gregory Ormes

Associate Professor
4213 Centennial Hall
gormes@uwlax.edu
608.785.8714

Specialty areas:

Organizational and Professional Communication

Communication in Teams

Ayesha Patnaik  Profile of Ayesha Patnaik

Lecturer
4220 Centennial Hall
apatnaik@uwlax.edu
608.785.6718

Specialty areas:

CST 110 Communicating Effectively
Nick Raes  Profile of Nick Raes

Assistant Teaching Professor
4207 Centennial Hall
nraes@uwlax.edu

Jaclyn Reed  Profile of Jaclyn Reed

Lecturer
4206 Centennial Hall
jreed@uwlax.edu

Specialty areas:

Interpersonal communication, marital communication, family communication, relational uncertainty, and uncertainty management.

Terence Smith  Profile of Terence Smith

Teaching Professor
4206 Centennial Hall
tsmith@uwlax.edu
608.785.8523

Specialty areas:

Public Speaking

Public Speaking Center

Media Literacy

David Solie  Profile of David Solie

Associate Teaching Professor
202 Wing Technology Center
dsolie@uwlax.edu
608.785.6721

Michael Tollefson  Profile of Michael Tollefson

Associate Professor
4211 Centennial Hall
mtollefson2@uwlax.edu
608.785.6710

Specialty areas:

Persuasion, Argumentation, Undergraduate Research

Emeriti faculty

  • Cheri Niedzwiecki
  • James Putz
  • Patricia Turner
  • Robert Eberle