Founded in 1921, Sigma Pi Sigma is a member honor society of the Association of College Honor Societies.  The society has some 75,000 historical members.  Election to Sigma Pi Sigma is a lifetime membership. 

The first induction ceremony of the UW-La Crosse Chapter of Sigma Pi Sigma was held on April 28, 1999.  Since then, 93 physics students have been inducted into this national honor society.

"Sigma Pi Sigma exists to honor outstanding scholarship in physics; to encourage interest in physics among students at all levels; to promote an attitude of service of its members towards their fellow students, colleagues, and the public; and to provide a fellowship of persons who have excelled in physics.  Sigma Pi Sigma's mission is not completed in the induction ceremony with the recognition of academic accomplishment.  In the four dimensions of Honor, Encouragement, Service, and Fellowship, the mission of Sigma Pi Sigma takes a longer view."
                                                                                                         (from the Sigma Pi Sigma website)

May 3, 2017 Inductees:

2017 SPS InducteesNicolle Dexter
Evan Dowling
Brandon Harris
Tobias Nelson
Rachel Schornak

(From left, front row) Tobias Nelson, Brandon Harris, Evan Dowling, Rachel Schornak, Nicolle Dexter)
(From left, middle row) Dr. T.A.K. Pillai, Dr. Shauna Sallmen, Dr. Seth King, Dr. Shelly Lesher, Dr. Taviare Hawkins, Dr. Jennifer Docktor, Dr. Roberto Salgado
(From left, back row ) Dr. Robert Ragan, Dr. Eric Barnes, Dr. Eric Gansen