Department Chair

Linda Dickmeyer  Profile of Linda Dickmeyer

Professor
4210 Centennial Hall
ldickmeyer@uwlax.edu
608.785.6715

Specialty areas:

Interpersonal Communication, Instructional Communication, Undergraduate Research

Academic Department Associate

Nhouchee Yang  Profile of Nhouchee Yang  Office hours

Academic Department Associate
4206 Centennial Hall
nyang2@uwlax.edu
608.785.8519

Specialty areas:

Office support, Art & Photography

Department people

Ashley Edwards  Profile of Ashley Edwards

Assistant Professor
4220 Centennial Hall
aedwards@uwlax.edu
608.785.6723

Specialty areas:

Interpersonal communication, social support, professional communication, computer-mediated communication, & culture

Ayesha Patnaik  Profile of Ayesha Patnaik

Lecturer
4228 Centennial Hall
apatnaik@uwlax.edu
608.785.6718

Specialty areas:

CST 110 Communicating Effectively
Beth Boser  Profile of Beth Boser

Assistant Professor
4225 Centennial Hall
bboser@uwlax.edu
608.785.6702

Specialty areas:

Media, Rhetoric, Advocacy, Gender

Dena Huisman  Profile of Dena Huisman  Office hours

Associate Professor
4214 Centennial Hall
dhuisman@uwlax.edu
608.785.8367

Specialty areas:

Communication and Identity, Grief and Social Support Communication, Family Communication

Daniel Modaff  Profile of Daniel Modaff  Office hours

Associate Professor
4221 Centennial Hall
dmodaff@uwlax.edu
608.785.6716

Specialty areas:

Organizational Communication

Evan Brody  Profile of Evan Brody  Office hours

Assistant Professor
4217 Centennial Hall
ebrody@uwlax.edu
608.785.8716

Specialty areas:

Media Studies; Cultural Studies; Queer Theory and LGBTQ Studies; Television Studies; Sports Studies; Qualitative Methods

Gregory Ormes  Profile of Gregory Ormes

Assistant Professor
4213 Centennial Hall
gormes@uwlax.edu
608.785.8714

Specialty areas:

Organizational and Professional Communication

Communication in Teams

Heike Hunter  Profile of Heike Hunter

Lecturer
4224 Centennial Hall
hhunter@uwlax.edu
608.785.6713

Specialty areas:

Communicating Effectively

Jennifer Butler Modaff  Profile of Jennifer Butler Modaff

Associate Professor
4219 Centennial Hall
jbutlermodaff@uwlax.edu
608.785.6717

Specialty areas:

Organizational and Professional Communication

Jessica Peterson  Profile of Jessica Peterson  Office hours

Associate Lecturer
4206 Centennial Hall
jpeterson@uwlax.edu
608.785.6697

Joseph Van Oss  Profile of Joseph Van Oss  Office hours

Lecturer
4218 Centennial Hall
jvanoss@uwlax.edu
608.785.6709

Specialty areas:

Human communication, scientific and technical communication

Katherine Lavelle  Profile of Katherine Lavelle

Associate Professor
4209 Centennial Hall
klavelle@uwlax.edu
608.785.6698

Specialty areas:

I teach in the area of Advocacy and Communication Criticism (now known as Public Communication and Advocacy)

Director of the Public Speaking Center

Communication and Sport

Linda Dickmeyer  Profile of Linda Dickmeyer

Professor
4210 Centennial Hall
ldickmeyer@uwlax.edu
608.785.6715

Specialty areas:

Interpersonal Communication, Instructional Communication, Undergraduate Research
Michael Tollefson  Profile of Michael Tollefson

Associate Professor
4211 Centennial Hall
mtollefson2@uwlax.edu
608.785.6710

Specialty areas:

Persuasion, Argumentation, Undergraduate Research

Nicole Ploeger-Lyons  Profile of Nicole Ploeger-Lyons  Office hours

Associate Professor
4227 Centennial Hall
nploeger-lyons@uwlax.edu
608.785.8713

Specialty areas:

Organizational Communication, Interpersonal Communication

Ronda Leahy  Profile of Ronda Leahy

Professor
4212 Centennial Hall
rleahy@uwlax.edu
608.785.6724

Specialty areas:

Professional and Organizational Communication

Rick King Quale  Profile of Rick King Quale

Associate Lecturer
4224 Centennial Hall
rkingquale@uwlax.edu
608.785.6705

Specialty areas:

Public Speaking, Small Group Communication, Organizational Communication

Scott Dickmeyer  Profile of Scott Dickmeyer

Associate Professor
4207 Centennial Hall
sdickmeyer@uwlax.edu
608.785.8519

Specialty areas:

Organizational Communication, Organizational Culture, Training & Development and Consulting
Sara Docan-Morgan  Profile of Sara Docan-Morgan

Associate Professor
4229 Centennial Hall
sdocan-morgan@uwlax.edu
608.785.6711

Specialty areas:

interpersonal communication, family communication, Korean adoptees, race and culture

Terence Smith  Profile of Terence Smith

Senior Lecturer
4226 Centennial Hall
tsmith@uwlax.edu
608.785.8523

Specialty areas:

Public Speaking

Public Speaking Center

Media Literacy

Uttara Manohar  Profile of Uttara Manohar  Office hours

Assistant Professor
4208 Centennial Hall
umanohar@uwlax.edu
608.785.6703

Specialty areas:

Interpersonal communication, intercultural communication, discrimination and prejudice, media representation and effects 

Wendi Bellar  Profile of Wendi Bellar

Assistant Professor
4223 Centennial Hall
wbellar@uwlax.edu
608.785.8373

Specialty areas:

Media Studies, Mobile Communication, Digital Religion

Emeriti faculty

  • Cheri Niedzwiecki
  • James Putz
  • Patricia Turner
  • Robert Eberle