Communication Studies

Expand page menu
Skip to page menu

Department Chair

Linda Dickmeyer Profile of Linda Dickmeyer
Professor
4210 Centennial Hall
ldickmeyer@uwlax.edu
608.785.6715
Specialty areas: Interpersonal Communication, Instructional Communication, Undergraduate Research

Academic Department Associate

Department people

Amber Jannusch Profile of Amber Jannusch
Lecturer
4229 Centennial Hall
ajannusch@uwlax.edu
608.785.6697
Specialty areas:

Interpersonal Communication, Persuasion, Argumentation, Public Speaking

Ayesha Patnaik Profile of Ayesha Patnaik
Lecturer
4228 Centennial Hall
apatnaik@uwlax.edu
608.785.6718
Specialty areas: CST 110 Communicating Effectively
Beth Boser Profile of Beth Boser Office hours
Assistant Professor
4225 Centennial Hall
bboser@uwlax.edu
608.785.6702
Specialty areas:

Media, Rhetoric, Advocacy, Gender

Charissa Niedzwiecki Profile of Charissa Niedzwiecki
Associate Professor
4215 Centennial Hall
cniedzwiecki@uwlax.edu
608.785.6712
Specialty areas:

Aging, Family, Health, Interpersonal

Dena Huisman Profile of Dena Huisman Office hours
Associate Professor
4214 Centennial Hall
dhuisman@uwlax.edu
608.785.8367
Specialty areas:

Communication and Identity, Grief and Social Support Communication, Family Communication

Daniel Modaff Profile of Daniel Modaff
Associate Professor
4221 Centennial Hall
dmodaff@uwlax.edu
608.785.6716
Specialty areas:

Organizational Communication

Evan Brody Profile of Evan Brody
Assistant Professor
4217 Centennial Hall
ebrody@uwlax.edu
608.785.8716
Specialty areas:

Media Studies; Cultural Studies; Queer Theory; LGBTQ Studies; Television Studies; Sports Studies; Qualitative Methods

Gregory Ormes Profile of Gregory Ormes
Assistant Professor
4213 Centennial Hall
gormes@uwlax.edu
608.785.8714
Specialty areas:

Organizational Communication

Heike Hunter Profile of Heike Hunter
Lecturer
4224 Centennial Hall
hhunter@uwlax.edu
608.785.6713
Specialty areas:

Communicating Effectively

Janna Dziak-Morken Profile of Janna Dziak-Morken
Lecturer
4207 Centennial Hall
jdziak-morken@uwlax.edu
608.785.6699
Specialty areas: Interpersonal Communication
Jennifer Butler Modaff Profile of Jennifer Butler Modaff Office hours
Associate Professor
4219 Centennial Hall
jbutlermodaff@uwlax.edu
608.785.6717
Specialty areas:

Organizational and Professional Communication

Joseph Van Oss Profile of Joseph Van Oss Office hours
Lecturer
4218 Centennial Hall
jvanoss@uwlax.edu
608.785.6709
Specialty areas:

Human communication, scientific and technical communication

Katherine Lavelle Profile of Katherine Lavelle Office hours
Assistant Professor
4209 Centennial Hall
klavelle@uwlax.edu
608.785.6698
Specialty areas:

Director of the Public Speaking Center (Murphy Learning Center), Advocacy & Communication Criticism, Communication and Sport, 

Linda Dickmeyer Profile of Linda Dickmeyer
Professor
4210 Centennial Hall
ldickmeyer@uwlax.edu
608.785.6715
Specialty areas: Interpersonal Communication, Instructional Communication, Undergraduate Research
Michael Tollefson Profile of Michael Tollefson
Associate Professor
4211 Centennial Hall
mtollefson2@uwlax.edu
608.785.6710
Specialty areas:

Persuasion, Argumentation, Undergraduate Research

Nicole Ploeger-Lyons Profile of Nicole Ploeger-Lyons Office hours
Assistant Professor
4227 Centennial Hall
nploeger-lyons@uwlax.edu
608.785.8713
Specialty areas:

Organizational Communication, Interpersonal Communication

Patricia Turner Profile of Patricia Turner
Associate Professor
203 Wing Technology Center
pturner@uwlax.edu
608.785.8369
Specialty areas:

Consumer Behavior, Digital Media Technologies, Media Dynamics, Audience Research

Ronda Leahy Profile of Ronda Leahy
Professor
4212 Centennial Hall
rleahy@uwlax.edu
608.785.6724
Specialty areas: Professional and Organizational Communication
Rick King Quale Profile of Rick King Quale
Associate Lecturer
4224 Centennial Hall
rkingquale@uwlax.edu
608.785.6705
Specialty areas:

Public Speaking, Small Group Communication, Organizational Communication

Scott Dickmeyer Profile of Scott Dickmeyer
Associate Professor
4207 Centennial Hall
sdickmeyer@uwlax.edu
608.785.8519
Specialty areas: Organizational Communication, Organizational Culture, Training & Development and Consulting
Sara Docan-Morgan Profile of Sara Docan-Morgan
Associate Professor
4229 Centennial Hall
sdocan-morgan@uwlax.edu
608.785.6711
Specialty areas:

interpersonal communication, family communication, Korean adoptees, race and culture

Terence Smith Profile of Terence Smith
Lecturer
4226 Centennial Hall
tsmith@uwlax.edu
608.785.8523
Specialty areas:

Public Speaking

Public Speaking Center

Media Literacy

Uttara Manohar Profile of Uttara Manohar Office hours
Assistant Professor
4208 Centennial Hall
umanohar@uwlax.edu
608.785.6703
Specialty areas:

Interpersonal communication, intercultural communication, discrimination and prejudice (based on race, ethnicity, nationality and gender)  

Wendi Bellar Profile of Wendi Bellar Office hours
Assistant Professor
4223 Centennial Hall
wbellar@uwlax.edu
608.785.8373
Specialty areas:

Media Studies, Mobile Communication, Digital Religion

Emeriti faculty

James Putz