English

Expand page menu
Skip to page menu

Department Chair

Natalie Eschenbaum Profile of Natalie Eschenbaum Office hours
Associate Professor
433A Wimberly Hall
neschenbaum@uwlax.edu
608.785.8660
Specialty areas:

Early Modern British Literature, including Shakespeare

Academic Department Associate

Cullen Oldenburg Profile of Cullen Oldenburg Office hours
Academic Department Associate
433 Wimberly Hall
coldenburg@uwlax.edu
608.785.8295

Department people

William Barillas Profile of William Barillas
Assistant Professor
425N Wimberly Hall
wbarillas@uwlax.edu
608.785.8305
Bradley Butterfield Profile of Bradley Butterfield
Professor
431E Wimberly Hall
bbutterfield@uwlax.edu
608.785.8308
Specialty areas: Western Literature from Enlightenment to Postmodern; Critical Theory; The Novel; The Art of Memoir
Matthew Cashion Profile of Matthew Cashion
Professor
425X Wimberly Hall
mcashion@uwlax.edu
608.785.8297
Specialty areas: Creative Writing
Carlton Clark Profile of Carlton Clark
Lecturer
426A Wimberly Hall
cclark@uwlax.edu
608.785.8296
Specialty areas: Rhetoric and Composition
Virginia Crank Profile of Virginia Crank Office hours
Professor
431B Wimberly Hall
vcrank@uwlax.edu
608.785.6933
Specialty areas:

rhetoric and composition studies; writing pedagogy; first-year writing; Writing Center

Susan Crutchfield Profile of Susan Crutchfield
Associate Professor
425T Wimberly Hall
scrutchfield@uwlax.edu
608.785.6943
Specialty areas: Film Studies and Film Theory, Disability Studies, The Woman's Film and Feminist Film Theory; Literature by Women, Adaptation Theory
Kimberly DeFazio Profile of Kimberly DeFazio Office hours
Associate Professor
426B Wimberly Hall
kdefazio@uwlax.edu
608.785.6939
Specialty areas:

Romanticism, 19th Century British Literature, the City, Posthumanism, Critical and Cultural Theory

Rebekah Fowler Profile of Rebekah Fowler
Assistant Professor
431C Wimberly Hall
rfowler@uwlax.edu
608.785.8300
Specialty areas:

Medieval Literature, Arthurian Literature and Lore, Medievalisms, History of the English Language, Early Modern Literature, Ethics and Emotions, Spatiality

Ryan Friesen Profile of Ryan Friesen
Senior Lecturer
425W Wimberly Hall
rfriesen@uwlax.edu
608.785.8307
Specialty areas: College composition, Early Modern literature, graphic literature as social commentary, supernatural themes in literature
Bruce Handtke Profile of Bruce Handtke
Senior Lecturer
431D Wimberly Hall
bhandtke@uwlax.edu
608.785.6937
Specialty areas: Composition Theory
David Hart Profile of David Hart
Associate Professor
425V Wimberly Hall
dhart@uwlax.edu
608.785.8302
Specialty areas:

Postcolonial Studies, Caribbean literature and culture, World Literatures, Cultural Studies, folklore, various British and American Lit, globalization and literature.

Karen Hart Profile of Karen Hart
Lecturer
426H Wimberly Hall
khart@uwlax.edu
608.785.6926
Sara Heaser Profile of Sara Heaser Office hours
Associate Lecturer
425U Wimberly Hall
sheaser@uwlax.edu
608.785.8298
Specialty areas:

first-year writing; basic writing; first-year experience; rhetoric and composition pedagogy

Lalita Hogan Profile of Lalita Hogan
Professor
425J Wimberly Hall
lhogan@uwlax.edu
608.785.6946
Specialty areas: Shakespeare, Rabindranath Tagore, Critical Theory, Cognitive Approaches to Literature, Emotion Studies, Indian Cinema, Indian Literature, Adaptation Studies, International Literature.
Thomas Jesse Profile of Thomas Jesse
Assistant Professor
425M Wimberly Hall
tjesse@uwlax.edu
608.785.6934
Specialty areas:

20/21c American Literature; Secondary English Education; Poetry and Poetics; Rhetorical Approaches to Literature

Heidi Jones Profile of Heidi Jones
Assistant Professor
431F Wimberly Hall
hjones@uwlax.edu
608.785.6922
Specialty areas:

English Education, Critical Literacy, Teacher Education, Sociocultural Theory, Critical Contexts of Education (Social Class)

Bryan Kopp Profile of Bryan Kopp
Assistant Professor
426G Wimberly Hall
bkopp@uwlax.edu
608.785.6936
Specialty areas:

Genre Studies; Writing in the Professions/Disciplines; Cultural Studies/Critical Theory; Scholarship of Teaching & Learning

Haixia Lan Profile of Haixia Lan
Professor
425R Wimberly Hall
hlan@uwlax.edu
608.785.6935
Stephen Mann Profile of Stephen Mann Office hours
Associate Professor
425P Wimberly Hall
smann@uwlax.edu
608.785.6923
Specialty areas:

sociolinguistics; linguistic anthropology; language, gender, & sexuality; language attitudes & ideologies; folk dialectology; English grammars

Christopher McCracken Profile of Christopher McCracken
Assistant Professor
425Y Wimberly Hall
cmccracken@uwlax.edu
608.785.6940
Specialty areas: Rhetoric of Science; Writing in the Disciplines; Genre Studies; Professional Writing
Marie Moeller Profile of Marie Moeller
Assistant Dean-Cls
431H Wimberly Hall
mmoeller@uwlax.edu
608.785.6928
Specialty areas: Professional and Technical Writing; Medical/Scientific Rhetorics; Feminist Rhetorics; Disability Studies; Grant Writing
Jennifer Mohlenhoff-Baggett Profile of Jennifer Mohlenhoff-Baggett
Lecturer
425O Wimberly Hall
jmohlenhoff-baggett@uwlax.edu
608.785.6931
Kathryn Parker Profile of Kathryn Parker Office hours
Assistant Professor
426C Wimberly Hall
kparker@uwlax.edu
608.785.8304
Specialty areas:

Restoration and Eighteenth-century European literature and culture; gender and sexuality studies

Luke Schaaf Profile of Luke Schaaf
Lecturer
431I Wimberly Hall
lschaaf@uwlax.edu
608.785.6948
Specialty areas: Rhetoric & Composition, American Literature, Mythology
Lindsay Steiner Profile of Lindsay Steiner Office hours
Assistant Professor
431G Wimberly Hall
lsteiner@uwlax.edu
608.785.6929
Specialty areas:

Professional & Technical Writing, Content Strategy/Writing, Visual Rhetoric & Document Design, Writing Technologies, Social Media, New Media, Organizational & Nonprofit Writing, Qualitative Research, Service Learning

William Stobb Profile of William Stobb Office hours
Associate Professor
426E Wimberly Hall
wstobb@uwlax.edu
608.785.6924
Specialty areas:

Creative Writing

Kelly Sultzbach Profile of Kelly Sultzbach
Associate Professor
426F Wimberly Hall
ksultzbach@uwlax.edu
608.785.6930
Specialty areas:

20th Century British Literature, Environmental Literature, Ecocriticism, Animal Studies, Questions of Place

Darci Thoune Profile of Darci Thoune Office hours
Associate Professor
425L Wimberly Hall
dthoune@uwlax.edu
608.785.6921
Specialty areas:

Writing Program Administration, First-Year Writing, Composition Pedagogy, Rhetorical Genre Studies, Feedback, Assessment, and Queer Theory.

Robert Wilkie Profile of Robert Wilkie Office hours
Associate Professor
426D Wimberly Hall
rwilkie@uwlax.edu
608.785.6920
Specialty areas:

Digital and Visual Culture; Cultural Theory; Contemporary Literature and Film; Rhetoric, Writing and Technology

Lei Zhang Profile of Lei Zhang
Assistant Professor
425S Wimberly Hall
lzhang@uwlax.edu
608.785.6938
Specialty areas: Journalism, New Media Studies, Rhetoric and International Relations, Discourse Analysis