University of Wisconsin-La Crosse | uwlax.edu
Skip to page menu

Our people

Department Chair

Natalie Eschenbaum Profile Office hours
Associate Professor
433A Wimberly Hall
neschenbaum@uwlax.edu
608.785.8660
Specialty areas:

Early Modern British Literature, including Shakespeare

Academic Department Associate

Cullen Oldenburg Profile Office hours
Academic Department Associate
433 Wimberly Hall
coldenburg@uwlax.edu
608.785.8295

Department people

William Barillas Profile
Assistant Professor
425N Wimberly Hall
wbarillas@uwlax.edu
608.785.8305
Bradley Butterfield Profile
Professor
431E Wimberly Hall
bbutterfield@uwlax.edu
608.785.8308
Specialty areas: Western Literature from Enlightenment to Postmodern; Critical Theory; The Novel; The Art of Memoir
Office hours: M/W 12:00-2:00
Matthew Cashion Profile
Professor
425X Wimberly Hall
mcashion@uwlax.edu
608.785.8297
Specialty areas: Creative Writing
Office hours: 10-11; 1-2 T-Th & by appt.
Carlton Clark Profile
Lecturer
426A Wimberly Hall
cclark@uwlax.edu
608.785.8296
Specialty areas: Rhetoric and Composition
Office hours: Mon-Thurs 1:00-2:00
Virginia Crank Profile Office hours
Professor
431B Wimberly Hall
vcrank@uwlax.edu
608.785.6933
Specialty areas:

rhetoric and composition studies; writing pedagogy; first-year writing; Writing Center

Susan Crutchfield Profile
Associate Professor
425T Wimberly Hall
scrutchfield@uwlax.edu
608.785.6943
Specialty areas: Film Studies and Film Theory, Disability Studies, The Woman's Film and Feminist Film Theory; Literature by Women, Adaptation Theory
Office hours: Spring 2016: MW 10:30-noon online and in 425T CWH; F 10:30-noon online only; T 2:25-3:25 online and in 425T CWH
Kimberly DeFazio Profile Office hours
Associate Professor
426B Wimberly Hall
kdefazio@uwlax.edu
608.785.6939
Specialty areas:

Romanticism, 19th Century British Literature, the City, Posthumanism, Critical and Cultural Theory

Ryan Friesen Profile
Senior Lecturer
425W Wimberly Hall
rfriesen@uwlax.edu
608.785.8307
Specialty areas: College composition, Early Modern literature, graphic literature as social commentary, supernatural themes in literature
Office hours: Fall 2015: Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday from 12:30 until 2:00 and Monday, Wednesday, and Friday from 9:50 until 10:50.
Rebekah Fowler Profile
Assistant Professor
431C Wimberly Hall
rfowler@uwlax.edu
608.785.8300
Specialty areas: Medieval Literature
Bruce Handtke Profile
Senior Lecturer
431D Wimberly Hall
bhandtke@uwlax.edu
608.785.6937
Specialty areas: Composition Theory
Office hours: MW 11:15-12, 2:15-3:30, Fri 11:15-12, TTH 1:30-3:30, 0r by appointment
David Hart Profile
Associate Professor
425V Wimberly Hall
dhart@uwlax.edu
608.785.8302
Specialty areas:

Postcolonial Studies, Caribbean literature and culture, World Literatures, Cultural Studies, folklore, various British and American Lit, globalization and literature.

Karen Hart Profile
Lecturer
426H Wimberly Hall
khart@uwlax.edu
608.785.6926
Sara Heaser Profile Office hours
Associate Lecturer
425U Wimberly Hall
sheaser@uwlax.edu
608.785.8298
Specialty areas:

first-year writing; basic writing; first-year experience; rhetoric and composition pedagogy

Lalita Hogan Profile
Professor
425J Wimberly Hall
lhogan@uwlax.edu
608.785.6946
Specialty areas: Shakespeare, Rabindranath Tagore, Critical Theory, Cognitive Approaches to Literature, Emotion Studies, Indian Cinema, Indian Literature, Adaptation Studies, International Literature.
Office hours: T. Th 10:00 to 11:00 and Wed. 5:30 to 6:30 Also by appointment
Thomas Jesse Profile
Assistant Professor
425M Wimberly Hall
tjesse@uwlax.edu
608.785.6934
Specialty areas:

20/21c American Literature; Secondary English Education; Poetry and Poetics; Rhetorical Approaches to Literature


Office hours:
  • MON 2:00-3:00PM
  • TUES 4:00-5:00PM
  • THUR 4:00-6:00PM

Additional meeting times can always be scheduled by making an appointment.

Heidi Jones Profile
Assistant Professor
431F Wimberly Hall
hjones@uwlax.edu
608.785.6922
Specialty areas:

English Education, Critical Literacy, Teacher Education, Sociocultural Theory, Critical Contexts of Education (Social Class)


Office hours:

Fall 2016: MF 8-9am; W 8-10:30am

Bryan Kopp Profile
Assistant Professor
426G Wimberly Hall
bkopp@uwlax.edu
608.785.6936
Specialty areas:

Genre Studies; Writing in the Professions/Disciplines; Cultural Studies/Critical Theory; Scholarship of Teaching & Learning

Joel Kopplin Profile
Associate Lecturer
425K Wimberly Hall
jkopplin@uwlax.edu
608.785.6927
Haixia Lan Profile
Professor
425R Wimberly Hall
hlan@uwlax.edu
608.785.6935
Stephen Mann Profile Office hours
Associate Professor
425P Wimberly Hall
smann@uwlax.edu
608.785.6923
Specialty areas:

sociolinguistics; linguistic anthropology; language, gender, & sexuality; language attitudes & ideologies; folk dialectology; English grammars

Christopher McCracken Profile
Assistant Professor
425Y Wimberly Hall
cmccracken@uwlax.edu
608.785.6940
Specialty areas: Rhetoric of Science; Writing in the Disciplines; Genre Studies; Professional Writing
Office hours: Mon & Wed: 1:00-2:00 / Tue & Thu: 4:00-5:00
Marie Moeller Profile
Assistant Dean-Cls
431H Wimberly Hall
mmoeller@uwlax.edu
608.785.6928
Specialty areas: Professional and Technical Writing; Medical/Scientific Rhetorics; Feminist Rhetorics; Disability Studies; Grant Writing
Office hours: Graff Main Hall 315A: M 11am-2:00pm, T 3pm-4pm, Th 8am-2pm; Morris Hall 235: M 8am-9am, 3:30pm-4:30pm, T 8am-2pm, W 8am-5pm, Th 2pm-5pm,
Jennifer Mohlenhoff-Baggett Profile
Lecturer
425O Wimberly Hall
jmohlenhoff-baggett@uwlax.edu
608.785.6931
Kathryn Parker Profile Office hours
Assistant Professor
426C Wimberly Hall
kparker@uwlax.edu
608.785.8304
Specialty areas:

Restoration and Eighteenth-century European literature and culture; gender and sexuality studies

Luke Schaaf Profile
Lecturer
431I Wimberly Hall
lschaaf@uwlax.edu
608.785.6948
Specialty areas: Rhetoric & Composition, American Literature, Mythology
Office hours: Tuesday & Thursday 1:00-2:00PM or by appointment
Lindsay Steiner Profile Office hours
Assistant Professor
431G Wimberly Hall
lsteiner@uwlax.edu
608.785.6929
Specialty areas:

Professional & Technical Writing, Content Strategy/Writing, Visual Rhetoric & Document Design, Writing Technologies, Social Media, New Media, Organizational & Nonprofit Writing, Qualitative Research, Service Learning

William Stobb Profile Office hours
Associate Professor
426E Wimberly Hall
wstobb@uwlax.edu
608.785.6924
Specialty areas:

Creative Writing

Kelly Sultzbach Profile
Associate Professor
426F Wimberly Hall
ksultzbach@uwlax.edu
608.785.6930
Specialty areas: 20th Century British Lit, Environmental Literature, Ecocriticism, Animal Studies, Questions of Place
Office hours: Summer 2016: By appointment
Darci Thoune Profile Office hours
Associate Professor
425L Wimberly Hall
dthoune@uwlax.edu
608.785.6921
Specialty areas:

Writing Program Administration, First-Year Writing, Composition Pedagogy, Rhetorical Genre Studies, Feedback, Assessment, and Queer Theory.

Robert Wilkie Profile Office hours
Associate Professor
426D Wimberly Hall
rwilkie@uwlax.edu
608.785.6920
Specialty areas:

Digital and Visual Culture; Cultural Theory; Contemporary Literature and Film; Rhetoric, Writing and Technology

Lei Zhang Profile
Assistant Professor
425S Wimberly Hall
lzhang@uwlax.edu
608.785.6938
Specialty areas: Journalism, New Media Studies, Rhetoric and International Relations, Discourse Analysis
Office hours: M. W. 11a.m.-12 p.m. T. Th. 1-2 p.m. or by appointment.