Department Chair

Natalie Eschenbaum  Profile of Natalie Eschenbaum  Office hours

Associate Professor
433A Wimberly Hall
neschenbaum@uwlax.edu
608.785.8660

Specialty areas:

Early Modern British Literature, including Shakespeare

Academic Department Associate

Cullen Oldenburg  Profile of Cullen Oldenburg  Office hours

Academic Department Associate
433 Wimberly Hall
coldenburg@uwlax.edu
608.785.8295

Department people

William Barillas  Profile of William Barillas  Office hours

Assistant Professor
425N Wimberly Hall
wbarillas@uwlax.edu
608.785.8305

Specialty areas:

American culture and literature; Midwestern culture and literature; Latino/Latina culture and literature; environmental literature; poetry and poetics; popular culture and music.

Bradley Butterfield  Profile of Bradley Butterfield  Office hours

Professor
431E Wimberly Hall
bbutterfield@uwlax.edu
608.785.8308

Specialty areas:

Western Literature from Enlightenment to Postmodern; Critical Theory; The Novel; The Art of Memoir

Matthew Cashion  Profile of Matthew Cashion

Professor
425X Wimberly Hall
mcashion@uwlax.edu
608.785.8297

Specialty areas:

Creative Writing

Carlton Clark  Profile of Carlton Clark

Lecturer
426A Wimberly Hall
cclark@uwlax.edu
608.785.8296

Specialty areas:

Rhetoric and Composition
Virginia Crank  Profile of Virginia Crank  Office hours

Professor
431B Wimberly Hall
vcrank@uwlax.edu
608.785.6933

Specialty areas:

Rhetoric and Writing Studies; Writing Pedagogy; First-year Writing; Writing Center

Susan Crutchfield  Profile of Susan Crutchfield  Office hours

Associate Professor
425T Wimberly Hall
scrutchfield@uwlax.edu
608.785.6943

Specialty areas:

Film Studies and Film Theory; Literature by Women; Drama; Disability Studies; The Woman's Film and Feminist Film Theory; Adaptation Theory

Kimberly Defazio  Profile of Kimberly Defazio  Office hours

Associate Professor
426B Wimberly Hall
kdefazio@uwlax.edu
608.785.6939

Specialty areas:

Romanticism, 19th Century British Literature, the City, Posthumanism, New Materialism, Critical and Cultural Theory

Kate Errthum  Profile of Kate Errthum  Office hours

Associate Lecturer
425Q Wimberly Hall
kerrthum@uwlax.edu
608.785.6944

Specialty areas:

First-Year Writing, Asian Diaspora Literature, African-American Literature, Narrative

Rebekah Fowler  Profile of Rebekah Fowler  Office hours

Associate Professor
431C Wimberly Hall
rfowler@uwlax.edu
608.785.8300

Specialty areas:

Medieval Literature, Arthurian Literature and Lore, Medievalisms, History of the English Language, Early Modern Literature, Ethics and Emotions

Ryan Friesen  Profile of Ryan Friesen  Office hours

Senior Lecturer
425W Wimberly Hall
rfriesen@uwlax.edu
608.785.8307

Specialty areas:

College composition, Early Modern literature, comic books as social commentary, supernatural themes in literature, dreams as literary and cultural themes. 

Merideth Garcia  Profile of Merideth Garcia  Office hours

Assistant Professor

mgarcia@uwlax.edu
608.785.6927

Specialty areas:

Digital Literacies, Fan Studies, Science, Technology & Society Studies (STS), Rhetoric & Composition, English Teaching Methods, Young Adult Literature, Qualitative Research

William Garcia  Profile of William Garcia  Office hours

Associate Lecturer
431F Wimberly Hall
wgarcia@uwlax.edu
608.785.6922

Specialty areas:

Composition, Adaptation, Drama.

Bruce Handtke  Profile of Bruce Handtke

Senior Lecturer
431D Wimberly Hall
bhandtke@uwlax.edu
608.785.6937

Specialty areas:

Composition Theory
David Hart  Profile of David Hart  Office hours

Professor
425V Wimberly Hall
dhart@uwlax.edu
608.785.8302

Specialty areas:

Postcolonial Studies, Caribbean literature and culture, World Literatures, Cultural Studies, folklore, various British and American Lit, globalization and literature.

Karen Hart  Profile of Karen Hart  Office hours

Senior Lecturer
426H Wimberly Hall
khart@uwlax.edu
608.785.6926

Specialty areas:

Fairy Tales, College Writing, Monster Literature, Storytelling, Trickster Literature, Multi-Ethnic Storytelling, German Literature, Improvisation in the College Classroom, Theory of Abjection and Eco-Criticism, Literary History of Psychological Discourses, Online Teaching

Sara Heaser  Profile of Sara Heaser  Office hours

Lecturer
425U Wimberly Hall
sheaser@uwlax.edu
608.785.8298

Specialty areas:

first-year writing; basic writing; first-year experience; co-requisite course design and curriculum; rhetoric and composition pedagogy; writing placement (multiple measures and direct self-placement); research methodology in composition studies

Lalita Hogan  Profile of Lalita Hogan  Office hours

Professor
425J Wimberly Hall
lhogan@uwlax.edu
608.785.6946

Specialty areas:

Shakespeare, Rabindranath Tagore, Critical Theory, Cognitive Approaches to Literature, Emotion Studies, Indian Cinema, Indian Literature, Adaptation Studies, International Literature.

Thomas Jesse  Profile of Thomas Jesse  Office hours

Assistant Professor
425M Wimberly Hall
tjesse@uwlax.edu
608.785.6934

Specialty areas:

20 & 21c American Literature, Secondary English Education, Poetry and Poetics, Rhetorical Approaches to Literature

Bryan Kopp  Profile of Bryan Kopp

Assistant Professor
426G Wimberly Hall
bkopp@uwlax.edu
608.785.6936

Specialty areas:

Genre Studies; Writing in the Professions/Disciplines; Cultural Studies/Critical Theory; Scholarship of Teaching & Learning

Meagan Madigan  Profile of Meagan Madigan  Office hours

Associate Lecturer
425Q Wimberly Hall
mmadigan@uwlax.edu
608.785.6944

Specialty areas:

College Writing 110

Stephen Mann  Profile of Stephen Mann  Office hours

Associate Professor
425P Wimberly Hall
smann@uwlax.edu
608.785.6923

Specialty areas:

sociolinguistics; linguistic anthropology; language, gender, & sexuality; language attitudes & ideologies; folk dialectology; English grammars

Christopher Mccracken  Profile of Christopher Mccracken  Office hours

Assistant Professor
425Y Wimberly Hall
cmccracken@uwlax.edu
608.785.6940

Specialty areas:

Rhetoric of Science; Writing in the Disciplines; Genre Studies; Professional & Technical Writing

Marie Moeller  Profile of Marie Moeller

CASSH-Associate Dean (Interim)
235 Morris Hall
mmoeller@uwlax.edu
608.785.8113

Specialty areas:

Professional and Technical Writing; Medical/Scientific Rhetorics and Writing; Feminist Rhetorics; Disability Studies; Grant Writing

Jennifer Mohlenhoff-Baggett  Profile of Jennifer Mohlenhoff-Baggett  Office hours

Lecturer
425O Wimberly Hall
jmohlenhoff-baggett@uwlax.edu
608.785.6931

Specialty areas:

Composition, dystopian literature, women writers, comparative literature, literature from Latin America and Argentina's Dirty War (1976-1983), creative/satiric writing

Kathryn Parker  Profile of Kathryn Parker  Office hours

Associate Professor
426C Wimberly Hall
kparker@uwlax.edu
608.785.8304

Specialty areas:

Restoration and Eighteenth-century European literature and culture; gender and sexuality studies

I am also a co-editor (with Miriam Wallace) of a book series in eighteenth-century literature and culture, published by Bucknell University Press. 

Luke Schaaf  Profile of Luke Schaaf  Office hours

Lecturer
431I Wimberly Hall
lschaaf@uwlax.edu
608.785.6948

Specialty areas:

Rhetoric & Composition, American Literature, Mythology

Lindsay Steiner  Profile of Lindsay Steiner  Office hours

Assistant Professor
431G Wimberly Hall
lsteiner@uwlax.edu
608.785.6929

Specialty areas:

Professional & Technical Writing, Content Strategy/Writing, Usability & User Experience, Social Media Writing, Visual Rhetoric & Document Design, Writing Technologies, Organizational & Nonprofit Writing, Grant Writing, Qualitative Research, Course-Embedded Community Engagement Projects, Internships, and Collaborative Learning.

William Stobb  Profile of William Stobb  Office hours

Associate Professor
426E Wimberly Hall
wstobb@uwlax.edu
608.785.6924

Specialty areas:

Creative Writing

Olivia Stoltman  Profile of Olivia Stoltman  Office hours

Associate Lecturer
425I Wimberly Hall
ostoltman@uwlax.edu

Specialty areas:

First Year Composition, Composition Pedagogy, Cultural Studies, Multicultural Literature

Kelly Sultzbach  Profile of Kelly Sultzbach

Associate Professor
426F Wimberly Hall
ksultzbach@uwlax.edu
608.785.6930

Specialty areas:

20th Century British & American Literature, Environmental Literature, Ecocriticism, Animal Studies, Questions of Place, and Law and Literature

Darci Thoune  Profile of Darci Thoune  Office hours

Associate Professor
425L Wimberly Hall
dthoune@uwlax.edu
608.785.6921

Specialty areas:

Writing Program Administration, First-Year Writing, Composition Pedagogy, Rhetorical Genre Studies, Feedback, Assessment, Queer Theory, and Fat Studies.

Robert Wilkie  Profile of Robert Wilkie  Office hours

Associate Professor
426D Wimberly Hall
rwilkie@uwlax.edu
608.785.6920

Specialty areas:

Digital and Visual Cultural Theory; Rhetoric, Writing, and Technology; Contemporary Literature and Film

Lei Zhang  Profile of Lei Zhang  Office hours

Assistant Professor
425S Wimberly Hall
lzhang@uwlax.edu
608.785.6938

Specialty areas:

Journalism, New Media Studies, Rhetoric and International Relations, Discourse Analysis, Affect Studies.