Biology

Expand page menu
Skip to page menu

Department Chair

Michael Abler Profile of Michael Abler
Associate Professor
3020 Cowley Hall
mabler@uwlax.edu
608.785.6962

Academic Department Associate

Mandy Wagner Profile of Mandy Wagner
Academic Department Associate
3005 Cowley Hall
mwagner@uwlax.edu
608.785.8238

Department people

Michael Abler Profile of Michael Abler
Associate Professor
3020 Cowley Hall
mabler@uwlax.edu
608.785.6962
Anita Baines Profile of Anita Baines
Associate Professor
4032 Cowley Hall
abaines@uwlax.edu
608.785.8239
Lee Baines Profile of Lee Baines
Lecturer
261 Murphy Library
lbaines@uwlax.edu
608.785.8244
Sierra Colavito Profile of Sierra Colavito
Assistant Professor
4031 Cowley Hall
scolavito@uwlax.edu
608.785.6998
Specialty areas:

Breast Cancer Cell Biology

Scott Cooper Profile of Scott Cooper
Professor
3022 Cowley Hall
scooper@uwlax.edu
608.785.6983
Specialty areas:

Effects of hibernation on blood clotting in 13-lined ground squirrels.

Faye Ellis Profile of Faye Ellis
Senior Lecturer
343 Cowley Hall
fellis@uwlax.edu
608.785.5066
Specialty areas:

Cellular and Molecular Biology

Jason Freund Profile of Jason Freund
Associate Lecturer
2036 Cowley Hall
jfreund@uwlax.edu
608.785.6455
Anne Galbraith Profile of Anne Galbraith
Associate Professor
3025 Cowley Hall
agalbraith@uwlax.edu
608.785.8246
Specialty areas:

Genetics, genetic disorders, genetics, moleular biology, genetics, baker's yeast, genetics

Daniel Gerber Profile of Daniel Gerber
Professor
2029 Cowley Hall
dgerber@uwlax.edu
608.785.6977
Gretchen Gerrish Profile of Gretchen Gerrish
Associate Professor
2034 Cowley Hall
ggerrish@uwlax.edu
608.785.8242
Rick Gillis Profile of Rick Gillis
Professor
3014 Cowley Hall
rgillis@uwlax.edu
608.785.8253
Specialty areas:

I am a broadly trained zoologist with an interest in the ecology of whole organisms, particularly amphibians and reptiles. A good deal of my time is also committed to the continuing development and maintenance of the Animal Biology and Human Anatomy & Physiology Laboratory web sites as well as the Department of Biology web site.

Kristin Greany Profile of Kristin Greany
Lecturer
0019 Health Science Center
kgreany@uwlax.edu
608.785.6544
Franklin Greene Profile of Franklin Greene
Laboratory Manager I
357 Cowley Hall
fgreene@uwlax.edu
608.785.6912
Kurt Grunwald Profile of Kurt Grunwald
Laboratory Manager I
350 Cowley Hall
kgrunwald@uwlax.edu
608.785.6458
Specialty areas: Equipment Manager and Radiation Safety Officer
William Haviland Profile of William Haviland
Associate Lecturer
3012 Cowley Hall
whaviland@uwlax.edu
608.785.6454
Tisha King-Heiden Profile of Tisha King-Heiden
Associate Professor
3028 Cowley Hall
tking-heiden@uwlax.edu
608.785.6463
Specialty areas: Reproductive physiology & toxicology; developmental toxicology
Barrett Klein Profile of Barrett Klein Office hours
Associate Professor
3021 Cowley Hall
bklein@uwlax.edu
608.785.6995
Specialty areas:

Animal Behavior, Entomology, Social Insect Biology, Sleep Biology, Scientific Visualization, Intersection of Entomology and Art, Cultural Entomology

Jennifer Klein Profile of Jennifer Klein
Associate Professor
3015 Cowley Hall
jklein@uwlax.edu
608.785.8251
Lisa Kobs Profile of Lisa Kobs
Lecturer
0021 Health Science Center
lkobs@uwlax.edu
608.785.6457
Megan Litster Profile of Megan Litster Office hours
Assistant Professor
3009 Cowley Hall
mlitster@uwlax.edu
608.785.8252
Specialty areas:

Biology Education

Sumei Liu Profile of Sumei Liu Office hours
Professor
0040 Health Science Center
sliu@uwlax.edu
608.785.6971
Specialty areas:

Gastrointestinal Physiology; Enteric Nervous System

Margaret Maher Profile of Margaret Maher
Professor
0024 Health Science Center
mmaher@uwlax.edu
608.785.6967
Specialty areas: Nutrition and Endocrinology
Markus Mika Profile of Markus Mika Office hours
Associate Lecturer
234 Cartwright Center
mmika@uwlax.edu
608.785.5270
Specialty areas:

Breeding ecology, phylogeography, and evolution in birds

Teresa Mika Profile of Teresa Mika
Intro Biology Coordinator
341 Cowley Hall
tmika@uwlax.edu
608.785.8249
Jennifer Miskowski Profile of Jennifer Miskowski
Professor
3018 Cowley Hall
jmiskowski@uwlax.edu
608.785.6456
Todd Osmundson Profile of Todd Osmundson
Associate Professor
3034 Cowley Hall
tosmundson@uwlax.edu
608.785.6975
Specialty areas: Biodiversity & conservation, Biogeography, Bioinformatics, DNA barcoding, Metagenomics, Molecular phylogenetics, Mycology, Population Genetics, Systematics
Elisabeth Paluch Profile of Elisabeth Paluch
Laboratory Manager I
343 Cowley Hall
epaluch@uwlax.edu
608.785.5071
Elizabeth Peitzman Profile of Elizabeth Peitzman Office hours
Assistant Professor
25 Health Science Center
epeitzman@uwlax.edu
608.785.6459
Renee Redman Profile of Renee Redman
Senior Lecturer
236 Cartwright Center
rredman@uwlax.edu
608.785.6963
Anton Sanderfoot Profile of Anton Sanderfoot Office hours
Associate Professor
4033 Cowley Hall
asanderfoot@uwlax.edu
608.785.8240
Specialty areas:

Plant cell biology, protein secretion, genetic screens, molecular biology, microscopy

Gregory Sandland Profile of Gregory Sandland
Professor
2032 Cowley Hall
gsandland@uwlax.edu
608.785.6982
Specialty areas:

Host-parasite interactions, life-history evolution, disease ecology, invasive species dynamics, mathematical biology

Christine Schwartz Profile of Christine Schwartz
Assistant Professor
0023 Health Science Center
cschwartz@uwlax.edu
608.785.6974
Specialty areas:

Neuroscience, Physiology, Hibernation biology

Bradley Seebach Profile of Bradley Seebach Office hours
Associate Professor
0042 Health Science Center
bseebach@uwlax.edu
608.785.6964
Specialty areas:

Neurophysiology, Human Anatomy & Physiology; advising Biomedical Science Concentrators

Eric Snively Profile of Eric Snively
Assistant Professor
3032 Cowley Hall
esnively@uwlax.edu
608.785.6978
Specialty areas:

Vertebrate functional anatomy and paleontology

Eric Strauss Profile of Eric Strauss
Professor
2033 Cowley Hall
estrauss@uwlax.edu
608.785.8262
Specialty areas:

Limnology, Ecosystem Ecology, Water Quality

Meredith Thomsen Profile of Meredith Thomsen
Professor
3026 Cowley Hall
mthomsen@uwlax.edu
608.785.8245
Specialty areas:

Plant ecology, invasive species, ecological restoration, habitat fragmentation

Thomas Volk Profile of Thomas Volk
Professor
3024 Cowley Hall
tvolk@uwlax.edu
608.785.6972
Specialty areas:

Mycology, Plant Pathology, especially Forest Pathology

Rebecca Werren Profile of Rebecca Werren
Associate Lecturer
233 Cartwright Center
rwerren@uwlax.edu
608.785.8250
Jaclyn Wisinski Profile of Jaclyn Wisinski
Assistant Professor
3031 Cowley Hall
jwisinski@uwlax.edu
608.785.6973
Amy Yu Profile of Amy Yu
Assistant Professor
2028 Cowley Hall
ayu@uwlax.edu
608.785.6988
Specialty areas:

Genetics (in Drosophila); Chronobiology; Genome instability and DNA repair

Emeritus Faculty & Academic Staff

NAME
EMAIL ADDRESS
YEARSPRINCIPAL AREAS OF INSTRUCTIONSTATUS
A. Glenn Brice 1988-2017 Human Physiology Retired
LaVerne Buldhaupt 1961-1996 Parasitology, Vertebrate Zoology Deceased
Robert Burns 1968-1998 Microbiology Retired
Thomas O. Claflin 1966-2001 Limnology, River Studies Retired
Jerry Davis
sivadjam@mhtc.net
1968-2002 Plant Biology, General Biology Retired
Richard A. Fletcher 1968-1994 Endocrinology, Human Anatomy & Physiology Retired
Richard T. Hartley 1950-1971 Embryology Deceased
John W. Held 1967-1997 Fisheries Biology, Vertebrate Zoology Retired
David Howard      1999-2015 Cell Biology Deceased
Rudy G. Koch 1980-1990 General Biology; Plant Taxonomy Deceased
Stuart McIlraith 1962-1995 Invertebrate Zoology, Human Biology Deceased
Rodney C. Mowbray 1972-2006 Developmental Biology, Radiation Biology Retired
Allen C. Nelson
list-olsleln@aol.com
1964-1996 Mycology Retired
Deon Nontelle
dnontelle@hargray.com
1973-2005 General Biology Retired
Richard P. Nord 1966-1999 General Biology Retired
James E. Parry
jeppwp@aol.com
1967-1998 Genetics, Vertebrate Zoology Retired
Ronald G. Rada
rrada@uwlax.edu
1975-1998 Limnology, River Studies Administration
Jean C. Ruhser
prairiegenes@gmail.com
1975-2001 General Biology, Ornithology Retired
Laura A. Schuh 1957-1983 Entomology Deceased
Grace M. Smith 1971-1996 Medical Technology Retired
Daniel Sutherland 1994-2006 Parasitology, Organismal Biology Deceased
Eileen G. Temte 1967-1994 General Biology Retired
Rob Tyser  1978 - 2015 Ecology and Ornithology Retired
Larraine M. Unbehaun
junbehaun@fflax.net
1969-1999 Cell Biology Retired
James H. Warner 1963-1996 Plant Ecology Deceased
A. Vincent Weber 1956-1989 Plant Morphology Retired
Thomas F. Weeks 1970-2001 Cell Biology, Radiation Biology Retired
Howard F. Young 1955-1984 Ornithology Deceased