Department Chair

Academic Department Associate

Lynne Smith Profile of Lynne Smith Office hours (active)
Academic Department Associate
3005 Cowley Hall
lsmith@uwlax.edu

Department people

Sierra Colavito Profile of Sierra Colavito
Assistant Professor
4031 Cowley Hall
scolavito@uwlax.edu
608.785.6998
Specialty areas:

Breast Cancer Cell Biology

Scott Cooper Profile of Scott Cooper
Professor
3022 Cowley Hall
scooper@uwlax.edu
608.785.6983
Specialty areas:

Effects of hibernation on blood clotting in 13-lined ground squirrels.

Faye Ellis Profile of Faye Ellis
Senior Lecturer
343 Cowley Hall
fellis@uwlax.edu
608.785.5066
Specialty areas:

Cellular and Molecular Biology

Jason Freund Profile of Jason Freund Office hours
Associate Lecturer
2036 Cowley Hall
jfreund@uwlax.edu
608.785.6455
Specialty areas:

Stream Ecology, Fisheries Ecology, Trout Stream Habitat Management, Interactions of Aquatic and Terrestrial Ecosystems

Anne Galbraith Profile of Anne Galbraith
Associate Professor
3025 Cowley Hall
agalbraith@uwlax.edu
608.785.8246
Specialty areas:

Genetics, genetic disorders, genetics, molecular biology, genetics, baker's yeast, genetics

Rick Gillis Profile of Rick Gillis
Professor
3014 Cowley Hall
rgillis@uwlax.edu
608.785.8253
Specialty areas:

I am a broadly trained zoologist and evolutionary ecologist with an interest in the ecology of whole organisms, particularly amphibians and reptiles. 

Kurt Grunwald Profile of Kurt Grunwald
Laboratory Manager I
350 Cowley Hall
kgrunwald@uwlax.edu
608.785.6458
Specialty areas: Equipment Manager and Radiation Safety Officer
Tisha King-Heiden Profile of Tisha King-Heiden
Associate Professor
3028 Cowley Hall
tking-heiden@uwlax.edu
608.785.6463
Specialty areas: Reproductive physiology & toxicology; developmental toxicology
Barrett Klein Profile of Barrett Klein Office hours
Associate Professor
3021 Cowley Hall
bklein@uwlax.edu
608.785.6995
Specialty areas:

Animal Behavior, Entomology, Social Insect Biology, Sleep Biology, Scientific Visualization, Intersection of Entomology and Art, Cultural Entomology (how insects affect human culture)

Megan Litster Profile of Megan Litster Office hours
Assistant Professor
3009 Cowley Hall
mlitster@uwlax.edu
608.785.8252
Specialty areas:

Biology Education

Sumei Liu Profile of Sumei Liu Office hours
Professor
0040 Health Science Center
sliu@uwlax.edu
608.785.6971
Specialty areas:

Gastrointestinal Physiology; Enteric Nervous System

Margaret Maher Profile of Margaret Maher
Professor
3016 Cowley Hall
mmaher@uwlax.edu
608.785.6967
Specialty areas: Nutrition and Endocrinology
Markus Mika Profile of Markus Mika Office hours
Associate Lecturer
234 Cartwright Center
mmika@uwlax.edu
608.785.5270
Specialty areas:

Breeding ecology, life history, phylogeography, and evolution in birds

Todd Osmundson Profile of Todd Osmundson
Associate Professor
3034 Cowley Hall
tosmundson@uwlax.edu
608.785.6975
Specialty areas:

Biodiversity & conservation, Biogeography, Bioinformatics, DNA barcoding, Metagenomics, Molecular phylogenetics, Mycology (Fungal Biology), Population Genetics, Systematics

Elizabeth Peitzman Profile of Elizabeth Peitzman Office hours
Assistant Professor
25 Health Science Center
epeitzman@uwlax.edu
608.785.6459
Anton Sanderfoot Profile of Anton Sanderfoot Office hours
Associate Professor
4033 Cowley Hall
asanderfoot@uwlax.edu
608.785.8240
Specialty areas:

Plant cell biology, protein secretion, genetic screens, molecular biology, microscopy

Please contact me if you have any interest in undergraduate or graduate (MS) research!

Gregory Sandland Profile of Gregory Sandland
Professor
2032 Cowley Hall
gsandland@uwlax.edu
608.785.6982
Specialty areas:

Host-parasite interactions, life-history evolution, disease ecology, invasive species dynamics, mathematical biology

Christine Schwartz Profile of Christine Schwartz
Assistant Professor
0023 Health Science Center
cschwartz@uwlax.edu
608.785.6974
Specialty areas:

Neuroscience, Physiology, Hibernation biology

Bradley Seebach Profile of Bradley Seebach Office hours
Associate Professor
0042 Health Science Center
bseebach@uwlax.edu
608.785.6964
Specialty areas:

Neurophysiology, Human Anatomy & Physiology; advising Biomedical Science Concentrators

Eric Snively Profile of Eric Snively
Associate Professor
3032 Cowley Hall
esnively@uwlax.edu
608.785.6978
Specialty areas:

Vertebrate functional anatomy and paleontology

Eric Strauss Profile of Eric Strauss
Professor
2033 Cowley Hall
estrauss@uwlax.edu
608.785.8262
Specialty areas:

Limnology, Ecosystem Ecology, Water Quality

Meredith Thomsen Profile of Meredith Thomsen
Professor
3026 Cowley Hall
mthomsen@uwlax.edu
608.785.8245
Specialty areas:

I direct graduate student projects in plant ecology, invasive species, ecological restoration, and habitat fragmentation. I primarily work in local floodplain forest and sand prairie habitats. 

 

Thomas Volk Profile of Thomas Volk
Professor
3024 Cowley Hall
tvolk@uwlax.edu
608.785.6972
Specialty areas:

Mycology, Plant Pathology, especially Forest Pathology

Jaclyn Wisinski Profile of Jaclyn Wisinski Office hours
Assistant Professor
3031 Cowley Hall
jwisinski@uwlax.edu
608.785.6973
Specialty areas:

Platelets prevent blood loss from the vasculature and changes in the abundance and/or function of platelet compromises their ability to execute that function. Too many (thrombocythemia) or too few (thrombocytopenia) circulating platelet increase risk of thrombosis and hemorrhage, respectively. The primary goal of my research is to understand what regulates platelet production by megakaryocytes.

Amy Yu Profile of Amy Yu
Assistant Professor
2028 Cowley Hall
ayu@uwlax.edu
608.785.6988
Specialty areas:

Genetics (in Drosophila); Chronobiology; Genome instability and DNA repair

Emeritus Faculty & Academic Staff

NAME
EMAIL ADDRESS
YEARSPRINCIPAL AREAS OF INSTRUCTIONSTATUS
A. Glenn Brice 1988-2017 Human Physiology Retired
LaVerne Buldhaupt 1961-1996 Parasitology, Vertebrate Zoology Deceased
Robert Burns 1968-1998 Microbiology Retired
Thomas O. Claflin 1966-2001 Limnology, River Studies Retired
Jerry Davis
sivadjam@mhtc.net
1968-2002 Plant Biology, General Biology Retired
Richard A. Fletcher 1968-1994 Endocrinology, Human Anatomy & Physiology Retired
Richard T. Hartley 1950-1971 Embryology Deceased
John W. Held 1967-1997 Fisheries Biology, Vertebrate Zoology Retired
David Howard      1999-2015 Cell Biology Deceased
Rudy G. Koch 1980-1990 General Biology; Plant Taxonomy Deceased
Stuart McIlraith 1962-1995 Invertebrate Zoology, Human Biology Deceased
Rodney C. Mowbray 1972-2006 Developmental Biology, Radiation Biology Retired
Allen C. Nelson
list-olsleln@aol.com
1964-1996 Mycology Retired
Deon Nontelle
dnontelle@hargray.com
1973-2005 General Biology Retired
Richard P. Nord 1966-1999 General Biology Retired
James E. Parry
jeppwp@aol.com
1967-1998 Genetics, Vertebrate Zoology Retired
Ronald G. Rada
rrada@uwlax.edu
1975-1998 Limnology, River Studies Administration
Jean C. Ruhser
prairiegenes@gmail.com
1975-2001 General Biology, Ornithology Retired
Laura A. Schuh 1957-1983 Entomology Deceased
Grace M. Smith 1971-1996 Medical Technology Retired
Daniel Sutherland 1994-2006 Parasitology, Organismal Biology Deceased
Eileen G. Temte 1967-1994 General Biology Retired
Rob Tyser  1978 - 2015 Ecology and Ornithology Retired
Larraine M. Unbehaun
junbehaun@fflax.net
1969-1999 Cell Biology Retired
James H. Warner 1963-1996 Plant Ecology Deceased
A. Vincent Weber 1956-1989 Plant Morphology Retired
Thomas F. Weeks 1970-2001 Cell Biology, Radiation Biology Retired
Howard F. Young 1955-1984 Ornithology Deceased