University of Wisconsin-La Crosse |


Surround yourself with distinction. Surround yourself with UW-La Crosse.

Expand page menu
Skip to page menu



Spring 2017 Public Lecture Series in Physics
April 27-28, 2017
Sarah Demers, Ph.D. 
Yale University

Fall 2017 Public Lecture Series in Physics
October 12-13, 2017
Sylvester James Gates Jr., Ph.D. 
University of Maryland
National Medal of Science Recipient

2017 Distinguished Lecture Series in Physics
October 26-27, 2017
Michael Kosterlitz, Ph.D.
Brown University
2016 Nobel Laureate in Physics

There are great opportunities available for incoming freshmen who are planning on a major in physics or physics/engineering.  View the scholarships.

Welcome to the UW-La Crosse Physics Department website!  This is the best place to find information about our degree programs, faculty, undergraduate research opportunities, student activities, and special announcements.  Check out the latest issue of our Department newsletter UWL Physics Now.

The Physics Department offers a bachelor of science degree in physics, and dual degree programs in physics/engineering and physics/physical therapy. In addition, the Department features physics degrees with emphasis in AstronomyOptics, or Computational Physics, as well as physics degrees with Business or Biomedical Concentrations. The program is designed to give students flexibility in their career choices, whether they are seeking employment in today's high-tech industries, or planning to pursue an advanced degree in a related field of study.  

The Physics Department is active in several areas of physics research.  Faculty members regularly publish articles in refereed journals and present papers at conferences in the areas of astrophysics, biophysics, nuclear physics, physics education, surface and materials physics, theoretical/computational physics, and quantum optics.  The Physics Department stands out in its emphasis on undergraduate research.  Students typically work with a faculty member on a research project in their specialty area.  This mode of instruction gives students hands-on learning opportunities which are very different from the traditional classroom experience.  The Physics Department has been highly successful in obtaining research grants and awards from many organizations, including the National Science Foundation and NASA.

The Department sponsors an active Physics ClubWomen in Physics Club, a chapter of the Society of Physics Students, and a chapter of Sigma Pi Sigma, the national physics honor society.  The Department also has a weekly seminar program in which faculty, students, and visitors from national labs, high-tech companies, and other universities give presentations. The seminars provide a time for faculty and students to socialize, to learn about exciting advances in physics and astronomy, and to learn about the many career opportunities in physics and engineering.

The Department has a ongoing history as a nationally recognized leader in physics education.   We have been highlighted by the American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT) as one of the most outstanding revitalized physics programs in the nation.  In addition, we have been selected by the American Institute of Physics (AIP) as a model department for providing graduates with career and educational advancement opportunities.  In 2013, The American Physical Society (APS) recognized our Department as a recipient of the Award for Improving Undergraduate Physics Education, one of only four such awards granted annually.  Based on the most recent numbers compiled by the APS, the UW-La Crosse Physics Department is ranked first in the nation in terms of the highest number of graduating physics majors from a bachelor's degree-only institution.

For further information or to schedule a Department visit, please contact the Physics Department Chair, Dr. Eric Barnes, at or by phone at 608.785.8437. We look forward to hearing from you!

Department of Physics
University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
1725 State Street  
2005 Cowley Hall 
La Crosse, WI 54601  
Office: 608.785.8429  /   Fax:  608.785.8403