Title IX Teams

The University of Wisconsin La Crosse carries out the objectives of Title IX through a coordinated system of initiatives, programs, and services that collectively protect educational access, advance gender equity, and prevent and respond to sexual harassment, sexual violence, and gender discrimination.  In order to live out this objective and ensure compliance with Federal, State, Board of Regent, and University policies, the Office of Title IX and Compliance has identified and created three groups to assist:  Title IX Advisory Team, Title IX Compliance Team, and Title IX Investigative Team.  Each team and the members that make up the team are described below.

 

Title IX Coordinator

Deputy Title IX Coordinators

John Acardo  Profile of John Acardo

Chro & Human Resources Director
144 Graff Main Hall
jacardo@uwlax.edu

Charissa Jakusz  Profile of Charissa Jakusz

Assistant Dean of Students
149F Graff Main Hall
cjakusz@uwlax.edu

Kim Blum  Profile of Kim Blum

Athletics Director
126 Mitchell Hall
kblum@uwlax.edu

Kara Ostlund  Profile of Kara Ostlund

Dean of Students (Inst) (B)
149G Graff Main Hall
kostlund@uwlax.edu

Title IX Advisory Team

This team will address the safety needs of the UWL community as well as gather information and provide regular feedback on observations to the Director of Title IX and Compliance about the Title IX process, policies and practices, and the university’s efforts in its implementation of Title IX on its campus. 

Dany Thompson  Profile of Dany Thompson

Diversity & Inclusion
Director of Title IX & Compliance
dthompson@uwlax.edu

John Acardo  Profile of John Acardo

Human Resources
Chro & Human Resources Director
jacardo@uwlax.edu

Dina Zavala  Profile of Dina Zavala

Diversity & Inclusion
Assistant Vice Chancellor (Inst)
dzavala@uwlax.edu

Laura Garves  Profile of Laura Garves

Race/Gender/Sexuality Studies
Academic Department Associate
lgarves@uwlax.edu

Joining the Team Soon:

Faculty Senate Representative

Title IX Compliance Team

While Compliance with the law is everyone’s responsibility at the university, this team will have primary responsibility to ensure we are meeting federal, state, regent, and NCAA obligations as it relates to Title IX.

Additional Campus Partners Coming Soon:

Human Resources Rep
University Police Rep
Center for Transformative Justice Rep
Access Center Rep
Youth Programs 

Title IX Investigation Team

This team will ensure the consistent application of the policy and allows the University to respond promptly and equitably to eliminate misconduct, prevent its recurrence, and address its effects.  The Title IX Investigation team coordinates the review, investigation, and resolution of reports and ensures that all appropriate supportive measures are implemented.

Dany Thompson  Profile of Dany Thompson

Diversity & Inclusion
Director of Title IX & Compliance
dthompson@uwlax.edu

Alyssa Balboa  Profile of Alyssa Balboa

Human Resources
Human Resources Associate Director
abalboa@uwlax.edu

Charissa Jakusz  Profile of Charissa Jakusz

Student Life Office
Assistant Dean of Students
cjakusz@uwlax.edu