Expand page menu
Skip to page menu

The Department of Microbiology at UW-La Crosse is a University of Wisconsin Center of Excellence!

We are the only independent microbiology department among the UW comprehensive universities. We offer four different curricular tracks in the undergraduate microbiology major, and two Master of Science (M.S.) concentrations. The Clinical Laboratory Science major is also housed in our department, and provides outstanding employment opportunities using the skills of microbiology and chemistry to make clinical diagnoses.

UWL Microbiology and Biology student selfie with Nobel Laureate speaker, Dr. Capecchi

Selfie of students with Nobel laureate Dr. Capecchi

Upcoming Events

Activation mechanisms of signaling enzymes tuning synaptic plasticity

Dr. Eric Underbakke, Dept of Biochemistry, Biophysics & Molecular Biology, Iowa State     Friday, April 13th, 3:30, 156 Cowley Hall




We prepare you for jobs

  • Food production/fermentation industries 
  • Food, dairy and water testing companies 
  • Hospital and Public health labs
  • Waste and wastewater treatment
  • Biotechnology companies
  • Medical diagnostic companies
  • Large pharmaceutical companies
  • Chemical companies 
  • Cosmetic companies
  • Research laboratories 
  • Environmental testing laboratories
  • Bioremediation companies
  • Forensics labs
  • Quality assurance in many industries
  • Technical writing or sales

A microbiology major is also excellent preparation for:

  • Medical school
  • Veterinary school
  • Pharmacy school
  • Dental school
  • Graduate school in the biological sciences
  • Law school (patent/ technology transfer law)
  • Slide image
  • Slide image
  • Slide image
3-Minute Thesis Competition

Grad students Anna Hilger and Jordan Recker were both chosen to participate in the 3 Minute Thesis competition on March 7th.  Anna Hilger was awarded the first runner-up prize.

Anna Hilger3 minute thesis logo