Microbiology kudos

Lee Baines, Markus Mika, Linda Dickmeyer, Darci Thoune, Naghmeh Gheidi, Daniel Bretl, Kamilo Lara, Seth King, Brian Kumm-Schaley and Jane Brannan

Lee Baines and Markus Mika, both Biology; Linda Dickmeyer, Communication Studies; Darci Thoune, English; Naghmeh Gheidi, Exercise & Sport Science; Daniel Bretl, Microbiology; Kamilo Lara, Military Science, ROTC; Seth King, Physics; Brian Kumm-Schaley, Recreation Management & Therapeutic Recreation; and Jane Brannan, Veteran Services; received a UWL Challenge Coin at the Stole & Recognition Ceremony on Friday, May 6 in La Crosse, WI. Students presented a challenge coin to the staff or faculty member of their choosing in recognition of the impact the staff/faculty had on their academic career. Challenge Coins are an enduring military tradition. Military Commanders often give a coin to service members as a mark of camaraderie or to recognize hard work and excellence. They are intended to instill unit pride, improve esprit-de-corps, and serve as a reward for a job well done. A challenge coin signifies the person went above and beyond in their duties.

Submitted on: May 6

Lauren Carstensen, Allison Zank, Lillian Schulte, Amy Wescott, Xavier Brandon and William Schwan

Lauren Carstensen, Clinical Laboratory Science; Allison Zank, Clinical Microbiology; and Lillian Schulte, Amy Wescott, Xavier Brandon and William Schwan, all Microbiology; co-authored the article "Mutations of the brpR and brpS genes affect biofilm formation in Staphylococcus aureus" in World Journal of Clinical Infectious Diseases published on Tuesday, April 26 by Basihideng.

Submitted on: April 26

Kathleen Engelbrecht, Joshua Luedtke, Jeremy Mollinger, Andrew Wheaton, Robert Wolchak, John W. Foster and William Schwan

Kathleen Engelbrecht, Joshua Luedtke, Jeremy Mollinger, Andrew Wheaton, Robert Wolchak and William Schwan, all Microbiology; and John W. Foster, South Alabama College of Medicine; co-authored the article "Regulation of Escherichia coli fim gene transcription by GadE and other acid tolerance gene products" in Microbiology (Reading) published on March 15 by the Microbiology Society.

Submitted on: April 11

William Schwan

William Schwan, Microbiology, presented "BrpR/BrpS: a new biofilm regulating system in Staphylococcus aureus" at the University of Wisconsin-Madison Food Research Institute on March 22 online.

Submitted on: April 11

Xinhui Li

Xinhui Li, Microbiology, received the award for "Assessment of antibiotic resistance in fresh vegetables from farm to fork" from USDA-National Institute of Food and Agriculture. Dr. Li is a co-investigator on this two-year, $200,000, grant.

Submitted on: Feb. 24