Microbiology

Expand page menu
Skip to page menu

The Department Microbiology has ten Microbiologists with full time commitments in the Microbiology curriculum and ten additional faculty with partial responsibilities in Microbiology instruction. The Microbiology faculty strive to ensure that students master the material necessary to become competent, practicing Microbiologists. Each is dedicated, helpful, and interested in the student's success and is committed to quality undergraduate education. Faculty are supported by three staff members that run the Microbiology prep room. The prep room staff, along with numerous student employees, ensure that each Microbiology laboratory is set up to allow students maximum hands-on experience in state-of-the-art techniques in Microbiology.

 

Department Chair

Bernadette Taylor Profile of Bernadette Taylor
Associate Professor
3004 Cowley Hall
btaylor@uwlax.edu
608.785.6990
Specialty areas: Immunology

Academic Department Associate

Susan Hall Profile of Susan Hall
Academic Department Associate
3002 Cowley Hall
shall@uwlax.edu
608.785.6960

Department faculty

Suzanne Anglehart Profile of Suzanne Anglehart
Senior Lecturer
131 Wittich Hall
sanglehart@uwlax.edu
608.785.8247
Marisa Barbknecht Profile of Marisa Barbknecht
Lecturer
130 Wittich Hall
mbarbknecht@uwlax.edu
608.785.6968
Specialty areas:

Introductory Microbiology Education

Fish Viruses

Bonnie Bratina Profile of Bonnie Bratina
Associate Professor
3029 Cowley Hall
bbratina@uwlax.edu
608.785.6994
Specialty areas: Microbial ecology, Aquatic microbiology, Biogeochemistry
Michael Hoffman Profile of Michael Hoffman
Professor
3023 Cowley Hall
mhoffman@uwlax.edu
608.785.6984
Specialty areas:

Virology, Director of the Microbiology Master's Programs

Kari Johnson Profile of Kari Johnson
Clinical Assistant Prof
3013 Cowley Hall
kjohnson4@uwlax.edu
608.785.5264
Michael Lazzari Profile of Michael Lazzari
Director Clinical Lab Science
3003 Cowley Hall
mlazzari@uwlax.edu
608.785.6479
Specialty areas:

Clinical Laboratory Science advising

Xinhui Li Profile of Xinhui Li
Assistant Professor
3011 Cowley Hall
xli@uwlax.edu
608.785.8255
Specialty areas:

Food microbiology, Antibiotic resistance in food chain, Inactivation of foodborne viruses

Marc Rott Profile of Marc Rott
Associate Professor
3030 Cowley Hall
mrott@uwlax.edu
608.785.6965
William Schwan Profile of William Schwan Office hours
Professor
3027 Cowley Hall
wschwan@uwlax.edu
608.785.6980
Specialty areas:

Pathogenic bacteriology, drug discovery and preclinical testing, uropathogenic Escherichia coli virulence/gene regulation, Staphylococcus aureus virulence/gene regulation

Bernadette Taylor Profile of Bernadette Taylor
Associate Professor
3004 Cowley Hall
btaylor@uwlax.edu
608.785.6990
Specialty areas: Immunology
Peter Wilker Profile of Peter Wilker
Assistant Professor
3033 Cowley Hall
pwilker@uwlax.edu
608.785.8248
Specialty areas: Immunology, influenza viruses

Department staff

Anne Mach Profile of Anne Mach
Prep Room Supervisor
amach@uwlax.edu
608.785.6451
Specialty areas:

Science Education and Immunology

Rebecca Polanowski Profile of Rebecca Polanowski
Laboratory Manager I
304A Cowley Hall
rpolanowski@uwlax.edu
608.785.6960

Additional faculty

Michael Abler Profile of Michael Abler
Associate Professor
3020 Cowley Hall
mabler@uwlax.edu
608.785.6962
Scott Cooper Profile of Scott Cooper
Professor
3022 Cowley Hall
scooper@uwlax.edu
608.785.6983
Specialty areas:

Effects of hibernation on blood clotting in 13-lined ground squirrels.

Anne Galbraith Profile of Anne Galbraith
Associate Professor
3025 Cowley Hall
agalbraith@uwlax.edu
608.785.8246
Specialty areas:

Genetics, genetic disorders, genetics, moleular biology, genetics, baker's yeast, genetics

Rick Gillis Profile of Rick Gillis
Professor
3014 Cowley Hall
rgillis@uwlax.edu
608.785.8253
Specialty areas: I am a broadly trained zoologist with an interest in the ecology of whole organisms, particularly amphibians and reptiles. A good deal of my time is also committed to the continuing development and maintenance of the Animal Biology and Human Anatomy & Physiology Laboratory web sites as well as the Department of Biology web site.
Roger Haro Profile of Roger Haro
Associate Dean
105E Graff Main Hall
rharo@uwlax.edu
608.785.6970
Specialty areas:

Aquatic entomology, river ecology, mercury transport in freshwater foodwebs and the landscape ecology of watersheds, higher education analytics.

Mark Sandheinrich Profile of Mark Sandheinrich
Csh-Interim Dean
105 Graff Main Hall
msandheinrich@uwlax.edu
608.785.8261
Specialty areas:

Aquatic toxicology, fish ecology

Gregory Sandland Profile of Gregory Sandland
Professor
2032 Cowley Hall
gsandland@uwlax.edu
608.785.6982
Specialty areas:

Host-parasite interactions, life-history evolution, disease ecology, invasive species dynamics, mathematical biology

Eric Strauss Profile of Eric Strauss
Professor
2033 Cowley Hall
estrauss@uwlax.edu
608.785.8262
Specialty areas: Limnology, Ecosystem Ecology, Water Quality
Thomas Volk Profile of Thomas Volk
Professor
3024 Cowley Hall
tvolk@uwlax.edu
608.785.6972
Specialty areas:

Mycology, Plant Pathology, especially Forest Pathology

 Adjunct and clinical faculty 
William A. Agger, M.D. 
Gundersen Lutheran Medical Foundation 
Mark Borchardt, Ph.D.
Marshfield Medical Research Foundation 
Steven Callister, Ph.D.
Gundersen Lutheran Medical Foundation
Jeffrey Christensen, Ph.D.
Marshfield Medical Research Foundation 
Jay Ellingson, Ph.D.
Food Safety & Quality Assurance, Kwik Trip, Inc. 
Thomas Fritsche, M.D., Ph.D. 
Marshfield Medical Research Foundation 
Randall J. Hunt, Ph.D.
US Geological Survey
Dean Jobe, M.S.  
Gundersen Lutheran Medical Foundation
Todd Kowalski, M.D. 
Gundersen Lutheran Medical Foundation 
Becky A. Lasee, Ph.D.
Upper Midwest Environmental Science Center, USGS 
Steven D. Lovrich, Ph.D. 
Gundersen Lutheran Medical 
Foundation 
Richard McLaughlin, Ph.D.
Gateway Technical College 
Jennifer K. Meece, Ph.D. 
Marshfield Medical Research & Education Foundation
Derek Moore, M.P.H. 
Marshfield Medical Research & Education Foundation 
Mary S. Morris, M.D. 
Allergy Associates/Franciscan Skemp Mayo Healthcare 
Darby Oldenburg, Ph.D. 
Gundersen Lutheran Medical Foundation
Ruth A. Paur, M.S. 
Univ. of North Dakota School of Medicine & Health Sci. 
Kurt Reed, M.D. 
Northwestern University 
Don Salter, Ph.D.
Leuther Laboratories, LLC 
Jeffrey S. Sartin, M.D. 
Gundersen Lutheran Medical Foundation 
Carl Shelly, D.Phil. 
Gundersen Lutheran Medical Foundation 
Mary E. Stemper, M.S. M.T.(ASCP)
Marshfield Laboratories 
Purnendu C. Vasavada, M.D. 
University of Wisconsin - River Falls 
Doug White, M.D., Ph.D
Gundersen Lutheran Medical Foundation
Catherine Wright, Ph.D.  

 

Emeritus faculty 
Robert Burns, Ph.D.   S.N. Rajagopal, Ph.D. 
Diane Sewell, Ph.D. MLS(ASCP) CM   
Martin Venneman, Ph.D.   
Michael Winfrey, Ph.D.