The Department Microbiology has ten Microbiologists with full time commitments in the Microbiology curriculum and ten additional faculty with partial responsibilities in Microbiology instruction. The Microbiology faculty strive to ensure that students master the material necessary to become competent, practicing Microbiologists. Each is dedicated, helpful, and interested in the student's success and is committed to quality undergraduate education. Faculty are supported by three staff members that run the Microbiology prep room. The prep room staff, along with numerous student employees, ensure that each Microbiology laboratory is set up to allow students maximum hands-on experience in state-of-the-art techniques in Microbiology.

 

Department Chair

Michael Hoffman  Profile of Michael Hoffman

Professor
3023 Cowley Hall
mhoffman@uwlax.edu
608.785.6984

Specialty areas:

Virology

Chair, Department of Microbiology

Microbiology Graduate Programs Director

Paul Schweiger  Profile of Paul Schweiger

Assistant Professor
3036 Cowley Hall
pschweiger@uwlax.edu
608.785.8254

Specialty areas:

Microbial Metabolism and Physiology
Synthetic and Molecular Biology
Applied Microbiology
Biotechnology
Contact me if you have any interest in undergraduate or graduate (MS) research in these fields!

Clinical Laboratory Science (CLS) Director

Michael Lazzari  Profile of Michael Lazzari

Clinical Associate Prof
3003 Cowley Hall
mlazzari@uwlax.edu
608.785.6479

Specialty areas:

Clinical Laboratory Science advising

Academic Department Associate

Susan Hall  Profile of Susan Hall

Academic Department Associate
3002 Cowley Hall
shall@uwlax.edu
608.785.6960

Department faculty

Marisa Barbknecht  Profile of Marisa Barbknecht  Meet with me  Office hours

Senior Lecturer
235A Cartwright Center
mbarbknecht@uwlax.edu
608.785.6968

Specialty areas:

Introductory Microbiology Education

Fish Viruses

Bonnie Bratina  Profile of Bonnie Bratina

Associate Professor
3029 Cowley Hall
bbratina@uwlax.edu
608.785.6994

Specialty areas:

Microbial ecology, Aquatic microbiology, Biogeochemistry

Daniel Bretl  Profile of Daniel Bretl

Assistant Professor
3030 Cowley Hall
dbretl@uwlax.edu
608.785.6969

Specialty areas:

Bacterial Genetics; Cellular Signaling

Michael Hoffman  Profile of Michael Hoffman

Professor
3023 Cowley Hall
mhoffman@uwlax.edu
608.785.6984

Specialty areas:

Virology

Chair, Department of Microbiology

Kari Johnson  Profile of Kari Johnson

Clinical Assistant Prof
3013 Cowley Hall
kjohnson4@uwlax.edu
608.785.5264

Specialty areas:

Dept. Equity Liaison

Clinical Laboratory Science - academic advising; course instruction

Laboratory Management. 

 

Michael Lazzari  Profile of Michael Lazzari

Clinical Associate Prof
3003 Cowley Hall
mlazzari@uwlax.edu
608.785.6479

Specialty areas:

Clinical Laboratory Science advising

Xinhui Li  Profile of Xinhui Li

Associate Professor
3011 Cowley Hall
xli@uwlax.edu
608.785.8255

Specialty areas:

My research interests lie in the area of food microbiology, with the focus on antibiotic resistance in food chain and inactivation of foodborne viruses. I am currently accepting M.S. and undergraduate research students. 

William Schwan  Profile of William Schwan  Office hours

Professor
3027 Cowley Hall
wschwan@uwlax.edu
608.785.6980

Specialty areas:

Pathogenic bacteriology, drug discovery and preclinical testing, uropathogenic Escherichia coli virulence/gene regulation, Staphylococcus aureus virulence/gene regulation

Paul Schweiger  Profile of Paul Schweiger

Assistant Professor
3036 Cowley Hall
pschweiger@uwlax.edu
608.785.8254

Specialty areas:

Microbial Metabolism and Physiology
Synthetic and Molecular Biology
Applied Microbiology
Biotechnology
Contact me if you have any interest in undergraduate or graduate (MS) research in these fields!

Bernadette Taylor  Profile of Bernadette Taylor

Associate Professor
3004 Cowley Hall
btaylor@uwlax.edu
608.785.6990

Specialty areas:

Immunology
Peter Wilker  Profile of Peter Wilker

Associate Professor
3033 Cowley Hall
pwilker@uwlax.edu
608.785.8248

Specialty areas:

Immunology, influenza viruses

Department staff

Anne Mach  Profile of Anne Mach

Prep Room Supervisor
4017 Prairie Springs Science Center
amach@uwlax.edu
608.785.6451

Jessica Osborn  Profile of Jessica Osborn

Instructional Specialist
4013 Prairie Springs Science Center
josborn@uwlax.edu

Additional faculty

Scott Cooper  Profile of Scott Cooper

Professor
3022 Cowley Hall
scooper@uwlax.edu
608.785.6983

Specialty areas:

Effects of hibernation on blood clotting in 13-lined ground squirrels.

Anne Galbraith  Profile of Anne Galbraith

Associate Professor
3025 Cowley Hall
agalbraith@uwlax.edu
608.785.8246

Specialty areas:

Genetics, genetic disorders, genetics, molecular biology, genetics, baker's yeast, genetics

Rick Gillis  Profile of Rick Gillis

Professor
3014 Cowley Hall
rgillis@uwlax.edu
608.785.8253

Specialty areas:

I am a broadly trained zoologist and evolutionary ecologist with an interest in the ecology of whole organisms, particularly amphibians and reptiles. 

Roger Haro  Profile of Roger Haro

CSH - Associate Dean
105E Graff Main Hall
rharo@uwlax.edu
608.785.6970

Specialty areas:

Aquatic entomology, river ecology, mercury transport in freshwater food webs and the landscape ecology of watersheds, higher education analytics.

Mark Sandheinrich  Profile of Mark Sandheinrich

CSH - Dean
105 Graff Main Hall
msandheinrich@uwlax.edu
608.785.8218

Specialty areas:

Aquatic toxicology, fish ecology

Gregory Sandland  Profile of Gregory Sandland

Professor
2032 Cowley Hall
gsandland@uwlax.edu
608.785.6982

Specialty areas:

Host-parasite interactions, life-history evolution, disease ecology, invasive species dynamics, mathematical biology, toxicology

Eric Strauss  Profile of Eric Strauss

Professor
2033 Cowley Hall
estrauss@uwlax.edu
608.785.8262

Specialty areas:

Limnology, Ecosystem Ecology, Water Quality

Thomas Volk  Profile of Thomas Volk

Professor
3024 Cowley Hall
tvolk@uwlax.edu
608.785.6972

Specialty areas:

Mycology, Plant Pathology, especially Forest Pathology

 Adjunct and clinical faculty 
William A. Agger, M.D. 
Gundersen Lutheran Medical Foundation 
Mark Borchardt, Ph.D.
Marshfield Medical Research Foundation 
Mauri Saeger Brueggeman, M.Ed., MLS(ASCP)CM, Aspirus Wausau Hospital, Wausau, WI Steven Callister, Ph.D.
Gundersen Lutheran Medical Foundation
Jeffrey Christensen, Ph.D.
Marshfield Medical Research Foundation 
Jay Ellingson, Ph.D.
Food Safety & Quality Assurance, Kwik Trip, Inc.
Thomas Fritsche, M.D., Ph.D. 
Marshfield Medical Research Foundation 
Randall J. Hunt, Ph.D.
US Geological Survey
Dean Jobe, M.S.  
Gundersen Lutheran Medical Foundation
Todd Kowalski, M.D. 
Gundersen Lutheran Medical Foundation 
Becky A. Lasee, Ph.D.
Upper Midwest Environmental Science Center, USGS 
Steven D. Lovrich, Ph.D. 
Gundersen Lutheran Medical 
Foundation
Richard McLaughlin, Ph.D.
Gateway Technical College 
Jennifer K. Meece, Ph.D. 
Marshfield Medical Research & Education Foundation
Derek Moore, M.P.H. 
Marshfield Medical Research & Education Foundation 
Mary S. Morris, M.D. 
Allergy Associates/Franciscan Skemp Mayo Healthcare 
Darby Oldenburg, Ph.D. 
Gundersen Lutheran Medical Foundation
Doug White, M.D., Ph.D
Gundersen Lutheran Medical Foundation
Kurt Reed, M.D. 
Northwestern University
Don Salter, Ph.D.
Leuther Laboratories, LLC
Jeffrey S. Sartin, M.D. 
Gundersen Lutheran Medical Foundation 
Carl Shelly, D.Phil. 
Gundersen Lutheran Medical Foundation 
Mary E. Stemper, M.S. M.T.(ASCP)
Marshfield Laboratories 
Purnendu C. Vasavada, M.D. 
University of Wisconsin - River Falls
Catherine Wright, Ph.D.

 

Emeritus faculty 
Robert Burns, Ph.D.   S.N. Rajagopal, Ph.D. 
Diane Sewell, Ph.D. MLS(ASCP) CM   
Martin Venneman, Ph.D.   
Michael Winfrey, Ph.D.        Marc Rott, Ph.D.