EPC at a glance 

The School of Education, Professional, and Continuing Education (EPC) has a comprehensive and dynamic structure, where 23 programs across all colleges and schools at the university work collaboratively to support best practices in teaching, learning, and leading.   The major units within EPC include:

The Department of Educational Studies prepares teachers for work in elementary and middle schools.  EPC also works collaboratively with departments in the College of Liberal Studies and the College of Science and Health to prepare teachers in art education, music education, world language education, secondary education, physical education, and school health education.  EPC oversees several graduate programs including School Psychology, Reading, Professional Development, Physical Education, and Adapted Physical Education.

Professional Studies in Education also offers a number of certificate programs to support the ongoing growth of in-service teachers.

Continuing Education and Extension works to connect the university and the community, offering diverse programs to meet the needs of individuals of all ages.

Our commitment both on and off campus supports an investment in strong education programs that lead, collaborate, and innovate to meet 21st century learning environments. 

Historical Background

The goal of preparing teachers has been central to the mission of UW-La Crosse ever since this institution began as a Normal school with 176 students and 14 faculty members in 1909. Today, the School of Education's administrative offices and faculty offices are located in Morris Hall, which honors the memory of Thomas Morris, the Regent and State Senator whose efforts resulted in the selection of La Crosse as the site of Wisconsin's eighth Normal School. Students were immediately attracted to La Crosse's teacher preparation program as demonstrated by the fact that La Crosse was one of only two Normal Schools (Milwaukee was the other) to achieve an enrollment of more than 1,000 students prior to World War II. La Crosse and Milwaukee also shared the distinction of being the first Normal Schools to offer graduate classes in education.