Interim Associate Dean

Adrienne Loh  Profile of Adrienne Loh

Interim Associate Dean-Soe
225 Morris Hall
aloh@uwlax.edu
608.785.8275

Specialty areas:

Interim Associate Dean, School of Education (145 Graff Main Hall), Aug. 2017-present
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry: Physical & Biophysical Chemistry, NMR Spectroscopy, Peptide & Protein Structure

Office of the Dean Staff

Ashley Cree  Profile of Ashley Cree  Office hours

Acad Services & Cert Officer
275 Morris Hall
acree@uwlax.edu
608.785.8127

Specialty areas:

Teacher certification/licensing, academic policies and procedures, monitoring degree progress, probation and suspension, advising, and admission to School of Education programs.

Leah Davis  Profile of Leah Davis

Academic Services Administrative Assistant
235 Morris Hall
ldavis@uwlax.edu
608.785.8706

Office of Field Experience

Cindy Duley  Profile of Cindy Duley

Field Exp-Partnerships Specialist
263 Morris Hall
cduley@uwlax.edu
608.785.8736

Specialty areas:

Field Experience Coordinator and Partnership Specialist:

  • EA-A Majors (English, Science, Math, Social Studies)
  • EC-A Majors (PETE, School Health, Art, Music, Global Cultures and Languages)
  • Out-of-Area Student Teaching (Educators Abroad, Internships, Milwaukee Guest Student Teaching/Intern Program, Milwaukee Spanish Immersion Program, Arizona Student Teaching)
  • Out-of-Area Field Experiences (Arizona Cultural Teaching and Learning Experience, Milwaukee Urban Experiences)
  • School of Education Graduate Programs
Cheryl Russell  Profile of Cheryl Russell

Field Experience Administrative Assistant
274 Morris Hall
crussell@uwlax.edu
608.785.8126

Because of the interdisciplinary nature of educator preparation, educator preparation programs are formally housed in three different academic units at UWL. As such, faculty and instructional staff directly aligned with educator preparation and supporting these programs are also housed in a variety of units and departments (links lead to faculty profiles):

The term “SOE-affiliated faculty” is used to describe faculty and Instructional Academic Staff with teaching and/or student supervisory duties in programs that are approved to prepare students for licensure through Wisconsin’s Department of Public Instruction (DPI), and who are housed in units outside of the School of Education. These faculty undergo personnel review in a collaborative manner by their content unit Dean and the SOE Dean.

Faculty and Instructional Academic Staff housed in the Department of Educational Studies (DES) and the Institute for Professional Studies (IPSE) are considered to be “SOE faculty and staff”. These faculty undergo personnel review solely by the SOE Dean.

Expectations expanding section

All SOE and SOE-affiliated faculty and IAS are expected to be engaged in service and scholarly activities that inform and enhance the work they do with prospective teachers (in alignment with WI PI 34.014). Some additional work hours outside of the academic school year may be required in order to align duties with PK-12 school year. In particular, 

  • SoE affiliated faculty are expected to have preparation specifically related to their assignment, hold an advanced degree and demonstrate expertise in their assigned area of responsibility, be knowledgeable about the current elementary, middle, and/or secondary curriculum, Wisconsin academic standards, practices, requirements, technology, and administrative practices relevant to their program, and to incorporate current techniques that are relevant to the PK-12 setting into their teaching.
  • SoE affiliated faculty are hired in a role associated with preparing educators and are therefore expected to be engaged in scholarly activities that inform and enhance the work they do with prospective teachers.
  • SoE affiliated faculty are expected to participate in service and professional practice with PK-12 schools, professional organizations, and other education related endeavors at the local, state or national level that aligns with and informs PK-12 education and their work as teacher educators

College of Science & Health - Middle/High School Science Education

Jennifer Docktor  Profile of Jennifer Docktor

Physics
Professor
2015 Cowley Hall
jdocktor@uwlax.edu
608.785.8485

Specialty areas:

Physics Education

Megan Litster  Profile of Megan Litster

Biology
Associate Professor
3009 Cowley Hall
mlitster@uwlax.edu
608.785.8252

Specialty areas:

Biology Education

College of Science and Health - K-12 Physical, Adapted and School Health Education

Brock McMullen  Profile of Brock McMullen

Exercise & Sport Science
Assistant Professor
158 Mitchell Hall
bmcmullen@uwlax.edu
608.785.8167

Specialty areas:

Adapted Physical Education and Physical Education Teacher Preparation 

Thomas Mickschl  Profile of Thomas Mickschl

Strength Centers
Senior Administrative Specialist
27 Mitchell Hall
tmickschl@uwlax.edu
608.785.6515

Sarah Mosley  Profile of Sarah Mosley

Exercise & Sport Science
Lecturer
152 Mitchell Hall
smosley@uwlax.edu
608.785.6524

Specialty areas:

Teen Mental Health is a passion of mine.  

Sarah Pember  Profile of Sarah Pember

Health Ed & Health Promotion
Assistant Professor
418I Wimberly Hall
spember@uwlax.edu
608.785.6788

Specialty areas:

Qualitative Research in Health, Child and Adolescent Health, Eating Behavior, Scholarship of Teaching and Learning

Rafael Ramirez  Profile of Rafael Ramirez

Exercise & Sport Science
Associate Lecturer
222A Cartwright Center
rramirez@uwlax.edu
608.785.8170

Specialty areas:

Physical Education Pedagogy

Outdoor Education

Adventure Education

Debra Sazama  Profile of Debra Sazama

Exercise & Sport Science
Assistant Professor
131 Mitchell Hall
dsazama@uwlax.edu
608.785.8183

Specialty areas:

Physical Education Teacher Education and Preparation

Curriculum and Instruction

 

 

Jenna Starck  Profile of Jenna Starck

Exercise & Sport Science
Assistant Professor
223A Cartwright Center
jstarck@uwlax.edu
608.785.6535

Rachyl Stephenson  Profile of Rachyl Stephenson

Exercise & Sport Science
Assistant Professor
230 Cartwright Center
rstephenson@uwlax.edu
608.785.5475

Abigail Wagner  Profile of Abigail Wagner

Exercise & Sport Science
Lecturer
108 Mitchell Hall
awagner@uwlax.edu
608.785.8691

Specialty areas:

Adapted Physical Education

Pre-K and Elementary Physical Education

College of Science & Health - Middle/High School Math Education

Matthew Chedister  Profile of Matthew Chedister

Mathematics & Statistics
Associate Professor
1003 Cowley Hall
mchedister@uwlax.edu
608.785.6609

Specialty areas:

Mathematics Education and Geometry

Joshua Hertel  Profile of Joshua Hertel

Mathematics & Statistics
Associate Professor
1001 Cowley Hall
jhertel@uwlax.edu
608.785.8668

Specialty areas:

Teaching mathematics with technology, mathematics education history, teaching and learning of trigonometry, and the development of probabilistic reasoning.

Jennifer Kosiak  Profile of Jennifer Kosiak

Mathematics & Statistics
Professor
1004 Cowley Hall
jkosiak@uwlax.edu
608.785.8385

Specialty areas:

Mathematics Education

Jenni McCool  Profile of Jenni McCool

Mathematics & Statistics
Professor
1005 Cowley Hall
jmccool@uwlax.edu
608.785.8667

Specialty areas:

Mathematics Education

College of Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities - Middle/High School English Education

Merideth Garcia  Profile of Merideth Garcia

English
Assistant Professor
425K Wimberly Hall
mgarcia@uwlax.edu
608.785.6927

Specialty areas:

Digital Literacies, Fan Studies, Science, Technology & Society Studies (STS), Rhetoric & Composition, English Teaching Methods, Young Adult Literature, Qualitative Research

Thomas Jesse  Profile of Thomas Jesse

English
Associate Professor
425M Wimberly Hall
tjesse@uwlax.edu
608.785.6934

Specialty areas:

20 & 21c American Literature, Secondary English Education, Poetry and Poetics, Rhetorical Approaches to Literature

College of Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities - Middle/High School Social Studies Education

Hanadi Shatara  Profile of Hanadi Shatara  Meet with me

History
Assistant Professor
403G Wimberly Hall
hshatara@uwlax.edu
608.785.8348

Specialty areas:

Social Studies Education

Global Education

Teacher Education

Kenneth Shonk  Profile of Kenneth Shonk

History
Professor
401A Wimberly Hall
kshonk@uwlax.edu
608.785.6560

Specialty areas:

Modern Ireland, History of Rock 'n' Roll, Social Studies Education, World History

College of Art, Social Science and Humanities - K-12 Art Education

Lisa Lenarz  Profile of Lisa Lenarz  Meet with me

Art
Assistant Professor
202 Center For The Arts
llenarz@uwlax.edu
608.785.8235

Specialty areas:

Art Education

  • Interdisciplinary art (including integration with technology)
  • Culturally relevant art education
  • Inclusive practices in art education



 

College of Art, Social Science and Humanities - K-12 Music Education

Justin Davis  Profile of Justin Davis

Music
Assistant Professor
133 Center For The Arts
jdavis2@uwlax.edu
608.785.8413

Specialty areas:

Director of Instrumental Studies

Conductor: Wind Ensemble, Symphonic Orchestra

Coach: Chamber Music

Instructor: Applied Horn and Conducting  

Tammy Fisher  Profile of Tammy Fisher

Music
Associate Professor
242 Center For The Arts
tfisher@uwlax.edu
608.785.6725

Specialty areas:

Marching and Symphonic Bands, Instrumental Music Education, Conducting, Percussion Studies

Soojin Ritterling  Profile of Soojin Ritterling

Music
Professor
240 Center For The Arts
sritterling@uwlax.edu
608.785.8417

Specialty areas:

Music Education-General Music, Applied Voice, Korean Percussion Ensemble

College of Art, Social Science and Humanities - K-12 World Language Education

Claire Mitchell  Profile of Claire Mitchell

Global Cultures & Languages
Assistant Professor
315F Graff Main Hall
cmitchell2@uwlax.edu
608.785.8321

Specialty areas:

Spanish, Applied Linguistics, World Language Pedagogy, Second Language Acquisition, Teaching and Learning of Culture, Virtual Reality in World Language Learning

Kimberly Morris  Profile of Kimberly Morris

Global Cultures & Languages
Assistant Professor
315G Graff Main Hall
kmorris2@uwlax.edu
608.785.8323

Specialty areas:

Hispanic Linguistics, World Language Pedagogy, Pragmatics, Study Abroad, Curriculum Design, Computer-Assisted Language Learning, Teacher Preparation, Academic Literacy

Astrid Lorena Ochoa Campo  Profile of Astrid Lorena Ochoa Campo

Global Cultures & Languages
Assistant Professor
315D Graff Main Hall
aochoacampo@uwlax.edu
608.785.5247

Specialty areas:

Contemporary Latin American literature and culture; women writers; women, gender, and sexuality studies; Latinx studies; and World Languages Education

College of Art, Social Science and Humanities - School Psychology

Robert Dixon  Profile of Robert Dixon  Meet with me

Psychology
Associate Professor
349A Graff Main Hall
rdixon@uwlax.edu
608.785.6893

Specialty areas:

School Psychology, Response to Intervention (RtI), Multi-Tiered System of Supports (MTSS), Online Service Delivery

To arrange a meeting, please use the following link

     Psychology Office Hours (349A GMH): LINK

Daniel Hyson  Profile of Daniel Hyson

Psychology
Associate Professor
341N Graff Main Hall
dhyson@uwlax.edu
608.785.8444

Specialty areas:

Equity-Minded Teaching

School Psychology (especially Teacher-Student Relationships, Alternative Approaches to Working with Behaviorally Challenging Students, Systems-Level Data-Driven Decision Making)

Jocelyn Newton  Profile of Jocelyn Newton  Meet with me

Psychology
Professor
335A Graff Main Hall
jnewton@uwlax.edu
608.785.6889

Specialty areas:

School Psychology; Assessment; Early Childhood Assessment and Intervention; Child & Adolescent Psychopathology

School of Education - Department of Educational Studies

Gerardo Aponte-Safe  Profile of Gerardo Aponte-Safe  Meet with me

Educational Studies
Assistant Professor
240B Morris Hall
gaponte@uwlax.edu
608.785.5408

Specialty areas:

Global Education

Social Studies Education

Teacher Education

James Carlson  Profile of James Carlson

Educational Studies
Associate Professor
185B Morris Hall
jcarlson@uwlax.edu
608.785.8140

Specialty areas:

Literacy Studies; Teacher Inquiry; Teacher Identity

Wen-Chiang Chen  Profile of Wen-Chiang Chen

Educational Studies
Associate Professor
365B Morris Hall
wchen@uwlax.edu
608.785.8144

Specialty areas:

K-8 Literacy, Teacher Education, Critical Literacy, Culturally Sustaining Pedagogy, & Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages.

Ann Epstein  Profile of Ann Epstein

Educational Studies
Professor
340C Morris Hall
aepstein@uwlax.edu
608.785.8145

Specialty areas:

Early Childhood Education, Montessori

Yuko Iwai  Profile of Yuko Iwai

Educational Studies
Professor
365A Morris Hall
yiwai@uwlax.edu
608.785.5407

Specialty areas:

literacy, culturally responsive teaching, multicultural children's literature, multicultural education, teacher education

Lema Kabashi  Profile of Lema Kabashi

Educational Studies
Associate Professor
300B Morris Hall
lkabashi@uwlax.edu
608.785.8413

Specialty areas:

 

  • Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD)
  • Video-Based Instruction
  • Single Subject Research Design

    • Multiple Baseline Design

      • Across Behaviors, Across Participants, Across Settings​

    • A-B- and A-B-A-B Design 

    • Parallel Design

  • Computer Skills  

    • Microsoft Word/Excel/Powerpoint​

  • Learning Management Systems

    • D2L, BlackBoard

  • Technology 

    • Animoto​, VoiceThread, EdPuzzle, Google Drive/Site, Populr, TodaysMeet, Padlet, Wix, Skype, Camtasia, Jing, Screencast, YouTube Channel, PowToon, Pear Deck, Glogster, iMovie

Valerie Krage  Profile of Valerie Krage  Meet with me

Educational Studies
Lecturer
340A Morris Hall
vkrage@uwlax.edu
608.785.8136

Specialty areas:

Early childhood education, family engagement in education, impact of poverty on development and learning.

Heidi Masters  Profile of Heidi Masters  Meet with me

Educational Studies
Associate Professor
300E Morris Hall
hmasters@uwlax.edu
608.785.8129

Specialty areas:

Science Education

Deanna Maynard  Profile of Deanna Maynard  Meet with me

Educational Studies
Assistant Professor
185A Morris Hall
dmaynard@uwlax.edu
608.785.8138

Specialty areas:

Special Education - Behavior Disorders

Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports 

Early/Middle Childhood Literacy

Matt McParker  Profile of Matt McParker

Educational Studies
Assistant Professor
325B Morris Hall
mmcparker@uwlax.edu
608.785.8152

Specialty areas:

Social Studies Education

Multicultural Education

Mid-Level Education

Lisa Pitot  Profile of Lisa Pitot  Meet with me

Educational Studies
Assistant Professor
300A Morris Hall
lpitot@uwlax.edu
608.785.8139

Specialty areas:

Science Methods, Assessment, Science Literacy, and Science Communication. Place-based / Project-based learning, and using Socio-scientific Issues to teach Science. 

Leslie Rogers  Profile of Leslie Rogers  Meet with me

Educational Studies
Associate Professor
335B Morris Hall
lrogers@uwlax.edu
608.785.8142

Specialty areas:

Special Education

Middle Level (Grades 6-8) Professional Development Schools

The Self-Regulated Strategy Development model (Math & Writing Instruction) for Middle-Level Learners

School-Home Communication & Parent-Teacher Relationships

Supervision/Mentoring

Dawn Rouse  Profile of Dawn Rouse  Meet with me

Educational Studies
Assistant Professor
340B Morris Hall
drouse@uwlax.edu
608.785.5412

Specialty areas:

Early Childhood Education, Vygotsky, Social Cognition, Embodied Play, Reggio Emilia, Infant and Toddler Curriculum, R.I.E , Administration & Accreditation of Child Care Programs

Ashley Zehner  Profile of Ashley Zehner

Educational Studies
Lecturer
300C Morris Hall
azehner@uwlax.edu
608.785.5403

Specialty areas:

Special Education, Emotional Behavioral Disorders, Alternative Education, Positive Behavior Support, Multi-tiered Systems of Support

School fo Education - Professional Studies in Education

Bill Gillespie  Profile of Bill Gillespie

Inst For Prof Studies In Educ
Education Specialist
268 Morris Hall
bgillespie@uwlax.edu
608.785.5410

Specialty areas:

Pre-K-12 School Principal / Director of Instruction Leadership, Caring (The Ethic of Care) School Leadership, and Teacher Education through Professional Development

Alyssa Harlan  Profile of Alyssa Harlan

Inst For Prof Studies In Educ
Associate Lecturer
160A Morris Hall
aharlan@uwlax.edu
608.785.8136

Patricia Markos  Profile of Patricia Markos

Inst For Prof Studies In Educ
Instructional Program Manager III
267 Morris Hall
pmarkos@uwlax.edu
608.785.5087