Library department

A page within Murphy Library


As faculty in a student-centered teaching library, Library Department members strive to ensure that UWL students graduate as information literate citizens with the ability to recognize when information is needed, and with the ability to locate, evaluate, and use information effectively and ethically. We set Murphy Library’s curriculum for teaching, which encompasses all aspects of librarianship. We are responsible for managing information by selecting, organizing, providing access to, and preserving physical and online information resources, and we take responsibility for assisting and educating others in the effective utilization of such resources. We contribute to the growth and progress of the discipline of library and information science through scholarship, and we serve our colleagues, peers, and community through professional service activities.

Library Department Student Learning Outcomes (11/2/2018)


Pamela Cipkowski +

Michael Current

Laura Godden

Teri Holford +

Elizabeth Humrickhouse +

Amber Leibundgut-Peterson +

David Mindel (department chair)

Madan Mohan

Scott Pfitzinger

Chelsea Wyman-Green

     +  =  graduate faculty

Resources for Library Department Faculty

Murphy Library "Staff Web" Canvas Course

Library Department Bylaws 
(prior editions available on the Staff Web)

Statement on Shared Governance

Statement on Freedom of Expression

Library Department Faculty/Staff Emeriti

(years of service)

Paul B. Beck (1998 – 2021)

William T. Doering (1994 – 2020)

Stefan A. Smith (1997 – 2018)

Karen S. Lange (1979 – 2016)

Anita K. Evans (1987 – 2012)

Cristine L. Prucha (1984 – 2011)

Randall W. Hoelzen (1988 – 2010)

Charles H. Marx (1980 – 2005)

Sandra L. Sechrest (1976 – 2003)

Edwin L. Hill (1968 – 1998)

Dale C. Gresseth (1965 – 1990)

Orin W. Thompson (1967 – 1988)

Eugene Millich (1957 – 1987)

Herbert L. Searcy (1964 – 1981)

Roy N. Van Note (1964 – 1981)

Faculty Emeriti Librarians

(recognized prior to the establishment of the Library Department)

Catherine F. Crail (1937 – 1966)

Martha Olea Skaar (1919 – 1964)

Florence S. Wing (1909 – 1950)